We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
US$556
US$517
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,163
US$893
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$873
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Samoa del Sur(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
228
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstilapiadutch ownerdutch pancakesnice bathroomhardwood floorsbreakfast was delicioushot showerstayed longerpacific coastmain buildingfresh fruitstayed for nightsdrake baytentswaterfalljunglenature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Rio Tico was a gem in the jungle. A ways down a dirt road, its well worth the trip to get there. Case, the owner, is so full of grace, assistance, and charm, its worth a visit just to talk with him. In a beautiful setting, with a lovely river that has natural water slides and soaking spots. The tent covered, screened in cabanas are very elegant. Breakfast is very nice as well. There is also another beautiful waterfall you can walk to and play in. Two restaurants in the area - go to the one closest to Rio Tico. Its a nice change from all the beach places (and much less expensive for a comparable place to stay), and is an easy drive to Drake Bay, which is worth the trip down to spend some time.

Room Tip: Go for the "tent, rather than a room in the main building. You feel like you're sleeping in the jungle, but very secure and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband, myself and another couple spent a week there and loved every minute of it. WOW is the only way to describe such a place. The only complaint I could even imagine is that we didn't stay long enough. There are no tv's, no bothersom telephones. (good luck getting signal). These are called tents but you can not say you are camping. These are rooms in the wild. PERFECT for the get away you need so badly. The views are great, connecting with nature is perfect, the streams, hiking and hospitality can't be beat. If you get the chance to stay here you will not be disappointed.

The only suggestion I have is to rent a car. You are quite a ways away from anything. Walking for anything other than pleasure is not an option. There are two restaurants in walking distance but you will need more.

The owners took great care of everything we requested and even made some great suggestions...like rent a car. Then they even helped us get the rental.

Although there is no "fitness center" you will not be in need of additional exercise. The tents are down hill and everything else is up hill. I give that fitness room a thumbs up. And just like the fitness center, the streams, waterfalls and beaches should be enough to be considered a "pool".

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyB772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Rio Tico Safari Lodge and we were not disappointed. The lodge is truly a hidden paradise! If you want to get away from it all and be one with nature, then this place is for you. No crowds, no annoying tourists. The tents are magnificent and are immaculately well kept and cleaner than most hotel rooms. We stayed in tent #2 which faced the stream, surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers. We awoke every morning and were lulled to sleep each night with the sounds of the stream and cicadas chirping all around us. We caught several glimpses of the blue morpho butterfly and one morning, Cees, the owner, brought one over to me in his hand when I was having breakfast before it flew away. Just lovely!

The owners of the lodge, Cees and Miranda, were extremely helpful in accommodating our stay there. Cees organized a few adventures for us (boat rides to Corcovado -- we saw all 4 species of monkeys along with frogs, scarlet macaws, anteater, sloths and dolphins -- wow! and Marino Ballena where dolphins literally swam right along the boat and jumped out of the water!). I strongly advise speaking to Cees and taking his suggestions as far as day trips, where to eat, what beaches to go to, etc. He will not steer you wrong in any matter.

On the food front -- the lodge serves breakfast each morning and - wow! The fresh, local fruit spread was amazing! You can have omelettes, pancakes too -- all made to your liking. The lodge also serves beverages, smoothies and healthy wraps should you desire that in the afternoon. There are also two local restaurants, one within walking distance from the lodge, and the food served in each is outstanding. Fresh fish, plantains and salads that are just delicious.

A couple of suggestions to travelers planning a stay here: Rent a car in San Jose for complete independence (you will need it if you want to explore as this area is semi-remote). And bring a headlamp. My husband and I are avid campers and in a place like this, far of the beaten track (what we loved!) it's smart to carry one on your person. But do not be dismayed - this is not your average tent where you will be "camping." These are high-end tents with electricity, lighting, fans and full, comfortable bathrooms with hot running water.

Everyone -- the owners, housekeeping, the local Costa Ricans -- were all so nice and very warm-hearted people. We were so sad to leave this awesome place and cannot wait to go back!

Thank you Cees and Miranda for all you did for us! We fell in love with your lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CortinoTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Spend 5 days in this place to finish our 3 week trip throught the country and by far this was the best. Beautiful place with nice spacious tentrooms with attached bathrooms. But the natural bathroom / pool in the river is even better to cool down after a nice hike or a day at one of the near beaches. The Dutch couple runing tihis lodge is very friendly, helpfull and has a lot of information about the surrounding and the rest of the country. Perfect place to crash for a while before exploring more of the country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertenIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Looking back to our stay in Costa Rica, Rio Tico lodge was the most special stay!
In the middle of the nature, between the sounds of a jungle, a Dutch coulpe runs this lodge.
They are friendly, helpfull and very hospitable.
There a a lot of things to do like watching Dolphins, visit an Indian reservation (Boruca) and visit Park Manuel Antonio.
It takes a few minutes by car to go to a very beautiful beach.
Close to the lodge, you can do a beautiful hike, also with small kids.
And my kids loved the natural pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenRozenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioTicoLodge, Propietario at Rio Tico Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Ellen,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Rio Tico Safari Lodge and that it felt as your home. We enjoyed very much having you here. Tell Thomas and Florian that Rik and Thijs miss them and hope that you´ll come back again.
Regards,
Cees & Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews