We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Remember with Love” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osa Clandestina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osa Clandestina
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
“A Place to Remember with Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Osa Peninsula is a special place for its people, waves, nature, and food. Osa Clandestina gave us a chance to enjoy all of these things in an utterly relaxed and welcoming environment. Hihghlights: M.A., Ana, Orion, the staff, the food, the animals, right hand point breaks, relaxed vibe, monkeys, butteflies, leafcutter ants, hummingbirds, Jesus lizards, pisotes, monkeys, toucans, more monkeys, great food, coffee, boards on hand to use, cookies on a rainy afternoon, the park right there... We'll be back!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris32761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

This place is incredible, by far the best beach & surf vacation I've ever been on. Didn't know much about the Osa Peninsula before booking the trip, but was blown away as soon as we arrived.

There are lush rainforests filled with wildlife, insane surf spots, isolated beaches, and all of it is relatively easy to get to. Maybe just as awesome is that Osa is far less populated than trendy touristy destinations like Tamarindo and Tulum. No Fanny-Pack packing sightseers with A-hole sunburns anywhere in sight here...

The rooms at Clandestina are choice. Big, super clean bungalows--with WiFi for the dudes and a mosquito canopy over the bed for the ladies. Huge deck overlooking the cape with a hammock to hang amongst the monkeys and macaws. Not kidding, there are beautiful pals overheard at all times, from the howler monkeys commuting through the Matapalo trees at sundown to the squawking parrots at sunup. Like sleeping in a tropical animal preserve.

Only the food here is much, much better. Very chill expat cook who goes by M.A. can get her feast on: we had some muy rico tuna steaks, obscenely fresh fruits and salads (don't forget the coconut water!), and some great Malbecs de Argentina. A couple shots of Guaro--the Tico's moonshine--is also a must.

I want to go back. Seriously. Right now.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed here for a week with friends and had one of the most amazing vacations. The bungalows are spacious and comfortable (beds have mosquito nets, always a plus in this part of the world). Everything is very clean and well-kept. And the beach is a five-minute or less walk away (I highly recommend surfing lessons from Pollo). The common area at the lodge is cozy and eating dinner at the large table was relaxing and fun. The food was incredible - MA is a master cook. Could not get enough of her longevity bread. Everything was fresh and healthful and delicious - just what you want after a day of surfing or sunbathing. At Osa Clandestina it feels like you're just staying at a friend's place. It's the kind of paradise you almost want to keep a secret, but too good to not recommend to everyone you know. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganlf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Amazing gem! Food is incredible, 5 minute walk to stunning beaches, and monkeys all around! Accommodations are simple, clean and all you need to enjoy the nature of costa rica. One of the prettiest places I have ever been. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

My boyfriend and I take a trip every year in February to get away from the brutal winter in NYC. This year we decided to go to Costa Rica and a friend suggested Osa Clandestina. Words can not describe how HAPPY I am that I took her advise. This place is AMAZING! The people, the vibe, the food, the ocean and the beauty of the rain forest makes it paradise.
We stayed in one of three cabins at the lodge. It was super roomy... two queen size beds (very comfortable) and it's own private bathroom with a balcony that had a hammock which I loved to sit in right around sunset. The room is $200 a night and that includes breakfast, lunch and dinner that's right ALL FOOD INCLUDED. This isn't just any food either. It's all fresh and all made by M.A. the lodge's manager/chef who is super chill and so cool. She makes her own lip balm that is a must to buy when you are there too. We had everything from chicken parmesan to fresh fish caught that day to her delicious bread which is baked daily. We spent our days hiking to nearby waterfalls, taking a dip in the fresh water pool (onsite), sitting out on the lawn watching the monkeys, or learning to surf. The beach is a 5 minute walk from the place. Nights were spent at the lodge hanging out with new friends we met, eating dinner all together and sipping wine. The flight here was easy. We flew in to San Jose then drove to another airport and took Nature airlines to Puerto Jimenez. The lodge came and picked us up. You can buy snacks if you want in town at the local store too. Oh and if you need a dentist Dr. Munuz is GREAT!!! My boyfriend had a tooth ache going down there that he fixed for nothing! M.A. knew him.
We stayed a week and it wasn't enough. This place is great for a romantic vacation, a surf trip with the boys or a GIRLS week which I plan on doing later on this year! I highly recommend it and tell M.A. I said hi!!
xoxo ML
PS- Martinez on Friday nights is fun. DJ Solice plays music that gets you dancing!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLSAYSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Clandestina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Clandestina

Property: Osa Clandestina
Address: Cabo Matapalo | Playa Pan Dulce, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge sits on a verdant hillside, only a five minute walk from the beach. This region is the epicenter of biodiversity on the planet, with more than 2% of the world's species in our backyard.We offer comfortable cabins with a casual elegance surrounded by lush gardens and a hundred acres of our private rainforest reserve. Easily explore uncrowded tropical beaches and winding forest trails, or simply relax in your cabin and wait for the monkeys and macaws to parade through the network of mango and other native fruit trees that front the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osa Clandestina Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing