We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
641
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstide poolsla guindazip linehowler monkeysbird watchingcosta ricalong hikenight hikeclassic cabinthe pacific oceansan josefer de lancehiking trailsguided hikeplunge poolsights and soundsan adventure
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is not the place for someone looking for 5 star accommodations. You are looking at a spacey cabin but with louvered doors and mosquito netting. Its cool enough (barely) to be comfortable at night but the sounds of the jungle being literally in your room is an experience. The private acreage with the secluded beaches and nature trails is the real attraction here and the food is good but not Michelin rated. The road to get there is an adventure in itself. You know the type of Costa Rica vacation you want, if this is down your alley it would be hard to top El Remanso

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank texsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at El Remanso for our honeymoon and felt like we were treated like royalty! The staff is so friendly and unbelievably helpful, and our guided hikes were extremely professional. We learned A LOT about the species and history of Costa Rica and also picked up some new skills (like how to rappel down a waterfall)! Three delicious meals a day are included in the room pricing as well. Despite being absolutely in the middle of the rainforest, they managed to make the lodge very very comfortable and luxurious. I definitely recommend it if you appreciate nature and/or active/physical vacations.

Room Tip: The La Guinda is pricey but worth the view!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiedandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at El Remanso with our 2 kids (8 and 10) 4 nights the 3rd week of march. We had a blast: the lodge is very comfortable, the activities fun and unusual, the staff very friendly. We saw so many animals at any given moment of the day. Danny and Adrianna do everything to make you feel at home. The menus are set menus, but the staff was very flexible with the cooking (when the kids asked for pasta...).
Great activities not to be missed: jungle hike, surfing, visit to the animals Sanctuary, hike to the beach (steep though) and swim in the lagoon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I spent 5 days with 3 friends at El Remanso lodge and we had the time of our lives. Their online description is pretty accurate. Simple, serene and off the grid. They are what they say they are. An eco lodge that offers a rain forest adventure. We enjoyed amazing meals (thank you Javier and Marlon), waterfall repelling, ziplines, kayaking, horseback riding, surfing, and fantastic guided hikes with Rinaldo and Gerardo. The guides know their stuff and are so passionate about what they do that you can't help but feel their excitement for nature! The atmosphere at El Remanso is much like family. They laugh, joke and help you when you need it. The staff made this trip an experience to remember and I can't wait to recommend them to others and hopefully travel back to the Osa soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My three friends and I just returned from a week on the Osa Peninsula at El Remanso lodge. The trip was absolutely amazing and far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the group cabin called Casa Osa, which I highly recommend if you are traveling with a group. It was comfortable, beautiful and offered us a great view of the rain forest canyon just off of our deck. We woke up each morning to howler monkeys (5 AM--be prepared :), birds and insects singing us awake in the jungle just outside our room.
The food at El Remanso is delicious. It is made fresh each day with lots of local fruits and vegetables. We were never hungry between meals and everything was healthy and tasted great. I highly recommend the seafood as it is often the catch of the day!
The tours the lodge offers were unforgettable. We loved the waterfall repelling with Gerardo and Chico and horseback riding on the beach with MIguel. We also loved all of the guided hikes with Rinaldo and Gerardo. We learned so much about the animals, birds and insects of the rain forest and left with a new appreciation of the conservation efforts happening in the country.
But what really sets El Remanso apart from other places I have stayed around the world, are the people. They were amazing (running out of adjectives) and we left feeling like family. Danny and Adriana the owners were gracious hosts and they bent over backwards to make sure that my friends and I were enjoying our stay. We have been planning this trip for a year and from the start Cindy and Gabby helped us every step of the way over email and then again when we got to Osa...down to the last detail! In the restaurant Javier and Marlon were kind, funny, welcoming and happy to see us and talk each day. They made every meal a pleasure. Ellie helped enormously with planning all of our busy days of activities. Last but certainly not least are Rinaldo and Gerardo, El Remanso's guides. The tours with them were incredible and their warm, kind personalities help you feel at ease whether you are hanging off of a 70 foot waterfall or staring at a poisonous snake 10 feet away!
We would come back in a heartbeat. But not only for the great food, the beautiful pristine setting, the animals, and the adventure. We would come back to see our friends at El Remanso.
Tips: Bring both a camera and a waterproof camera, a good pair of water shoes, and binoculars! You don't need insect repellant--it's amazing--no mosquitoes! Also, this place is not for everyone! You need to be ready to live very close to many animals and insects. This lodge is best suited if you want a pristine, quiet setting with no frills (ie: no ac, big pool, resort feel). What makes this place great is the people it attracts. It is a truly special, unique place and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildflowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews