We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We are newlyweds and we wanted a experience a non-sterile unconventional experience. We wisely chose the El Remanso Lodge. We wanted to go somewhere where we were away from cilivization, we could relax, and reduce our environmental footprint.
Both of us live stressful lives at work. We got the wildlife package stayed at the "La Gundia" lodge and we came with open expectations. The lodge is located in the middle of the jungle and away from cilivization. We could still access the internet when necessary but there were so many different activities that using it can seem superfluous.
We enjoyed professional and friendly staff who helped us feel welcomed and at ease at the lodge. The guides we always mindful of safety and keeping all the guests safe every activity we participated in including the zipline, horseback riding, trail walks, and waterfall rapelling. The guide uring the trail walks are very informative and take the time to point out the various fauna who inhabit the jungle.
They also seem to focus on making the lodge eco friendly by using local materials and supporting the community by using local products. The food was tasted fresh and delicious. The rooms were spacious and we did get the privacy that we wanted. The room we stayed in was lovely and provided a wonderful view of the ocean. The other guests at the lodge were also friendly and easy to talk to.

Since it was the beginning of the rainy season (May) it is advisable to bring and umbrella and enjoy the rain when it comes. It rained at most a couple of hours during the day or several hours during the evening. Bring a flashlight (they do provide one if you forget to bring one) if you do stay at the "La Gundia" lodge. After dinner it's dark and as you make your way back to the cabin there is an elevation change and you could potentionally trip over a rock or step on wildlife. This is an ecolodge so you will find lizards and birds hovering around the resturant or the occasional crawlie on the floor of the lodge. If you do want to take a bus from San Jose to the lodge... don't. Fly to the nearest town on the airline they suggest. The bus station at San Jose is spread out nightmare and confusing and the trip can be as long as eight hours...

This lodge is wonderful place for a couple to visit and to enjoy the activies.

Room Tip: The rooms are wonderful but since this is an ecolodge where will be bugs that will slip in under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
325
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just returned from a 6 day stay at El Remanso. All previous reviews with a 5/5 rating are entirely accurate. Outstanding location, luxurious accomodations (remember, you are in the middle of a rain forest), wonderful staff, great food and amazing animal/plant life. Plan to do as many activities as time allows. The owners, Adriana and Daniel, make you feel like family. Those that appreciate nature and are willing to expend a little energy will not be disappointed. Don't let the many comments about the steep path to the beach worry you. My wife and I, both 57, completed the trip every day and did fine. We are already saving for a trip back to El Remanso! Daniel and Adriana, thanks again for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: The La Guinda cabin has a bit more privacy and a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at El Remanso for 5 days in La Guinda cabin. It was the most amazing trip either of us have ever been on. We did the honeymoon package, which involves 5 activities (waterfall repelling, guided hikes, horseback riding, etc.), an amazing 60 minute massage, and a candle lit private dinner with champagne. All of these experiences were beyond our expectations, but what I was most surprised by were the accommodations. My wife and I were worried, being in a secluded rainforest with no electricity, that we would be roughing it in our cabin. But the el remanso staff and beautiful cabin design made our time there very comfortable. Not to mention every meal was perfect and much better than anything we ate the rest of our trip. The personal service was phenomenal, every staff member made sure you were at the right place at the right time for any scheduled activities. El remanso is the perfect place if you want to experience a rainforest paradise.

Room Tip: La guinda is the single deluxe cabin with the best view in the lodge. It is perfect for couples but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were celebrating our 10 yr Annivrsary and stayed for 7nights. It was everything in one; adventure, relaxation, and physically activities. The peaceful atmosphere coupled with the politeness, the experience, and the service of the staff made our trip an exceptional vacation. The food was amazing and I can't emphasize enough the care of the waiting staff. I would love to thank them because they made it all worth it. Thank you. I must add that even though the beach is not a swimming beach the tide pools make up for it. To enjoy the natural made jacuzzi on a secluded beach was amazing. We did get sun burned but it made for a wonderful memory and story when we returned home. I highly recommend El Remanso, and can see returning perhaps for my 15th, 20, or 25th yr Anniversary. We have recommended the resort to many and we know they would get the same r even better treatment. Oh, you do see animals and many. Something about paradise that brings on a peaceful state of mind.

Room Tip: Oceanview Casa Poniente room is great because all the action happens there but because the pool is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinpudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We loved El Remanso so much we had to go back. And 5 days was just about right to get fully relaxed (next time, I'm thinking 7 days). Everything about this place allows you to be either physically active or completely relaxed. The food, the accommodations and staff make this a great experience.

This place is great if you like hiking, bird- and monkey-watching, exploring nature, long walks on the beach, reading and resting. I own my own business and after the first day I didn't even think about it (that's nearly impossible).

The best part--NO karaoke and NO chuckleheads.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the lodge offer a chance to be fully immersed in nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent 6 nights at El Remanso for our delayed honeymoon. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience. I could repeat the entire previous review, it was just an amazing, most special adventure. The lodge and the grounds were beautiful, the owners Adriana and Daniel, wait staff, and activities staff were extremely warm, friendly and accommodating, and the activities were wonderful. Gerardo and Rinaldo were fabulous guides with an enormous wealth of knowledge and passion for the Osa Peninsula. The wildlife was amazing, even just sitting on our balcony we saw monkeys, toucans, scarlet macaws, and more.

We liked that there are not more than 30 guests, and that all of the staff knew us by name from the first night. Although there are no locks on the cabin doors, we could not have felt safer among our fellow travelers and the welcoming staff. We stayed in the La Guinda cabin, which was worth the splurge for a very special romantic, private retreat. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. We did a lot of planned activities, but also had time to relax as well as explore the deserted, pristine beach and hike on our own. We added on surfing lessons one day which was fantastic and definitely worth the money.

We were particularly impressed by the sustainability and green measures the lodge has taken, it was inspiring. Completely unplugging from technology for the week was delightfully refreshing. We would have been happy to stay another week, and I already miss the paradise we found at El Remanso, it was truly the vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: The La Guinda deluxe cabin was the perfect private honeymoon retreat. The view from the balcony was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had the great pleasure of being guest in January 2012. Four amazing days, wishing we had arranged to have stayed longer. From the moment we were greeted at the airport in Puerto Jimenez by Gabby's brilliant smile and warm welcome... we knew we were in good hands. Our driver was happy to share his knowledge about the surrounding country side and wild life on our drive to the Lodge. He also had wild life picture and information cards available for us to read. He went out of his way to stop enroute to point out monkeys, (which I am in love with), scarlet macaws, and various other species of birds.

Upon our arrival, Lovely Silvia greeted us with a refreshing ice tea and a complete briefing and short tour of the property while the staff delivered our bags to our cabin. Silvia talked at length about our options for daily activities and assured us we could change around our intinerary based on our interests. Very flexible. Silvia was always readily available to assist us on any matter. She was a great pleasure. The grounds were breath taking. Spotless, easy to get around, a garden in paradise. Amazing staff!!!

The dining was excellent, the food choices were excellent and plentiful. Sunset cocktails and appetizers daily. Great wine selection. The waiters and waitresses were excellent, anticipating your every request. Gathering around the bar at sunset was always much fun. The open air dining room was comfortably furnished, intimate, view to the ocean breath taking and candle light at dinner so relaxing and romantic. Tea, water and snacks are available all day. Coffee was of course costa rican, the best ever!! With fresh cream!!! I appreciated it being fresh all day long.

We arrived at our cabin after sunset. Much more than what I had expected. The pictures on line did not do it justice. It was softly lit and so romantic. Fresh flowers on our bed, and on the sink basin. Very Private and Intimate! The cabin was spotlessly clean. And kept this way each day. The king size bed and linens extremely comfortable. The entire cabin is screened in. Ceiling fans kept us cool. Napping in the hammock in the afternoon.The mosquito netting around our bed was never used. It was definately a romantic touch, Being in the jungle, the most we had was a few ants. No other critters. Enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle. Woke with the howler monkey's in the early morning. Coffee was available at 6:oo am!! Endless hot water in our open air shower. Upscale bathroom fixtures. Our front deck was perfect for morning coffee. Humming Birds, butterflies, wild life all around. An extra lovely touch... tea lights and matches replaced every day. We fell asleep at night in candle light.

The following day we met Gerardo for the long nature walk.Turns out Gerardo has a degree in Evironmental science Lasted 4 hours and within miinutes of meeting him we were captivated with his enthusiasm and knowledge of the forest we were walking through. A guide in the jungles of Costa Rica is a must because the animals are everywhere around you, blending into there environment, camoflaged and invisible to the untrained eye. The following day we were encouraged to go on the early morning bird walk, we were not disapointed. Gerardo found 4 different species of monkeys, Toucans, Parrots, mating pair of Scarlet Macaws in there nest feeding their young. Because he was the best guide ever he found a sleeping sloth curled up in a tree.
Next adventure was the waterfall repelling. This adventure follows a river and we repelled down 4 different waterfalls. Pay attention when Gerardo say's " I have something very beautiful to show you." The guides are very experienced and are comfortable taking anyone through this trip, safety first. We had a great time.
Next day was a horse back ride with a local operator. Through the jungle along a river ending up on the beach. Another great half day trip. The horses are halter trained, no bit. Loved this! Sure footed, gentle and clearly able to read your experience level. Our guide's experience and love of his environment was just another example of El Remanso providing the right person for the right adventure.

The last day was a free day. We hiked a well groomed trail to the beach. Beautiful tide pools. We saw no one else. The hike back up required a couple of stops to catch our breath but was well worth it. We hung out at the pool, enjoyed an amazing pina colada,napped in our hammock, and finished up with a night walk guided by Rinaldo. Again the jungle turns into a total different experience. Highly recommended. Rinaldo opened our eyes to the night life in the jungle. I was a little nervous about the night critters, but after a few minutes he had me captivated by his knowledge and love of what was around us. We enjoyed all of our tours tremendously.

The owners Adriana and Daniel checked in on us each night to see how things were going. They are sincerely warm and gracious hosts. Wanting very much to ensure your vacation experience is the very best it can be.
I had an interest in the power system and spent an hour with Daniel the resident power plant manager learning about life off the grid. Their commitment to the environment is present in all that they do.

The Osa peninsula is one of those places still left that is for the most part wild and undisturbed by man. El Remanso offers a unique environmentally responsible experience in a jungle environment unmatched anywhere else in Costa Rica. We had wanted to go to the Osa for many years. El Remanso was the perfect choice for our first experience there. There was internet access at the main lodge if you wanted to use it. We really loved disconnecting from all the technology and found great pleasure in natures sounds and none that was man created. I can not wait to go back. Thank you El Remanso !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
19.8 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Property: El Remanso Lodge
Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing