We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Go here if u want a non tourist Atmosphere . The staff all speak English so I had no need for my translation book . The food was the freshest food I've ever had . I went solo and never felt alone . I did the adventure package . And the staff was always very helpful and kind. They even surprised me on my bday with flowers on my bed and room and bday cake at dinner while the staff and other guest were singing happy bday to me. Im planning a return trip back next year.... All smiles here ;)..I stayed in the cabin and suite ! Clean and very cozy !

Room Tip: Suite overlooking the pool...2nd floor was amazing ....lots of room...very private .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatPrayTravel2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wildlife, beautiful views and a sense of escape.

This is an Eco-resort, but with the comforts I'm used to outside of the jungle. The rooms are cabins, with running water and electricity. The water comes from the mountain. It's clean to drink and tested twice a year. The water also provides electricity to the rooms via two hydroelectric engines.

The point is, you don't feel like you're making too large of an impact on the delicate ecosystem. And that's the star here. El Remanso has several trained ecologists who can take you on daily hikes. On two of them we saw monkeys (several species), a sloth, an armadillo, a white hawk, poison dart frogs, a pit viper, a coati, a tiger heron, and many other birds and butterflies.

The cabins are spread around the resort. Each has a view. Ours had a back porch, where we saw monkeys, toucans, and iguanas. Some of the rooms are a bit open to nature. It can be intimidating at first for some of us city folk, but you do get used to it.

There are three meals a day. They're all good, if not great. The ingredients are local, including the seafood, which is delicious. There's also a bar to provide drinks by the solar-powered pool or for a nitecap.

Things you will need: A flashlight, a water bottle, bug spray and itch cream. The mosquitos aren't too bad here, but can still be pests. The biggest pest problem, though, were all of the flies in the dining room at breakfast. Very annoying.

I loved this place. At the end of each day, I was exhausted from my adventures and discovery, many of which you don't need to leave the island for. The great thing is, despite the exhaustion, it was relaxing and completely took my mind off work.

I plan to visit again in the years to come.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay at El Remanso was fantastic! Amazing scenery and wildlife made this the highlight of our trip. If you are debating whether to travel that little bit further to go to the Osa Peninsular on your Cosa Rica trip - do it!

The best part of our stay was our guided wildlife walks with Gerardo- his knowledge and enthusiasm was amazing. Well worth the money to get the most out of the surroundings. Waterfall rapelling was also good fun. Not too scary for a beginner like me and still good fun for my more daring husband!

The accommodation is simple, in keeping with the environment, but beautiful, clean and well looked after. The food was also excellent - a relatively small selection of dishes but whet they do they do very well.

I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: La Guinda has an amazing view over the rainforest down to the ocean. You can't see any of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenhickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I cannot say enough about this location, the accommodations and most importantly the staff. When I say "the staff", I am including everyone from the drivers, to the manager; from the cleaning staff to the service in the restaurant; from the ecologist to the rappel guides...top notch, every single one of them!
Our family of 5 had the trip of a lifetime! Enjoyed the adventure package immensely with 3 of our children (15, 13 & 10). You must be in relatively good health to enjoy this location if you plan activities as the beach is a 25 min. hike from the lodge, something we did daily in between our excursions...well worth the effort, especially the tidal pools at low tide.
Our excursions included waterfall rappelling, canopy breakfast and tree rappelling, guided night hike, guided long day hikes, planting indigenous tress in the the forest, day trip to Gulfo Dulce to whale watch (humpback and her calf) & dolphin watch (bottlenose and spotted) with reef snorkeling...
The ecologists were top notch! Can't say enough about them, my kids received an incredible education, immersion learning at its best.
No review could be complete without mention of the incredible meals! Selection of fresh foods prepared on site, I can't even begin...origami linen napkins folded differently became the intrigue of the children as we dined every evening. I have children who are picky eaters and they ate everything, tried everything and enjoyed everything, including the spinach soup. Kudos to Silvia for an impromptu cooking lesson for my daughter.
Did I mention the staff addresses everyone in your party by first name from the moment you step out of the vehicle until the moment of departure? I can tell you it was very difficult to leave, even the howler monkeys who awaken you at dawn will be missed.
Top notch!
Exceeded all expectations.
Please note that there are strong riptides at the beach so no swimming but the pool is fantastic. The beach can be enjoyed for hikes and especially at low tide when the tide pools can be explored, they are ecosystem of their own. My son took pleasure in finding coconuts on the beach and breaking them open for us to share while sitting in the pools.
Educational talks at night are optional also on sustainability and turtle conservation...
Living off the grid, doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonetwigstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

El Remanso Lodge was a fantastic version of paradise. We were there by the end of November 2012 and had the time of our lives.

The location is outstanding. Literally in the middle of the forest with gorgeous views of the Pacific Ocean. Nothing to do with the commercial touristic resorts that one finds around the globe. It's unique. From bird watching to the cutest visit of spider monkeys, all right from your cabin. La Vainilla, in our case. For the adventurous this cabin is just a very exciting choice. The room is breathtaking. The shower, with views of the sunset makes it for one of those lifetime highlights. It doesn't have windows which makes you feel even more in the middle of the wilds. We were concerned about insects but didn't have a single bite. Not one!

The weather was great throughout the stay... with some soft rain in the late afternoons. It actually felt refreshing... so nothing to worry about.

We were in active mode and wanted to make the most out of the trip. We did the Zip-Line with the breakfast in a tree from which you climb down (right now it's a short ride but they will probably expand it at some point. Still a delightful way of starting the day), the Waterfall Rappelling (it was so much fun... muscle intense too), the Kayaking through the mangroves (totally worth it, even though it's hard on the arms and back), the dolphins watching (unfortunately by that time the whales weren't approaching the surface as much, but still a beautiful tour... the Golfo Dulce is astonishing. We saw bottle-nosed and spotted dolphins. With more luck you'll see whales!!!), the morning bird watching tour was another jewel (the guide is really savvy and makes it remarkable) and the night hike (that helps you get comfortable with all those unknown night forest sounds).
It was all part of the honeymoon package, that we strongly recommend if you are interested in many of the activities available. It also included a couples massage that was the ideal ending to the Península Osa experience. The masseuse was such a pro.. Definitely in good hands.
We weren't able to do the horseback riding. If you are interested in this excursion, book it from day 1. Walkies are involved in the arrangements and communication can be tricky up there.

Oh, no phone signal available in the Remanso area. Only internet at the front desk. It makes it for an extraordinary reset. Otherwise, it never happens fully.

On our own we hiked through the beach, specially when the tide is low, the natural pools by the rocks allow for a really pleasant moment.
And the hike down the river spotting snakes is another 5-star itinerary. Check the waterfalls right at the upper side. Won't be disappointed.

Don't want to forget to mention how delicious the food was. Every single day, extremely consistent.

A memorable experience requires the human factor and at El Remanso they excel on that front. Every single person that works there has a common denominator, they are lovely, helpful and willing to make the stay personalized and a big success. We'll never forget the 4 days we spent there. It's not necessarily cheap but it's worth every single dollar. We could go back once a year and still have a phenomenal time (and our philosophy is to keep wondering around seeking for new places in each continent, so it's this worth it).

We'll hopefully see you soon, Remanso family! Can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea_Sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had 4 nights at El Remanso at the end of a 3 week holiday in Costa Rica and it was a wonderful end to our stay. We were also a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and this suited us brilliantly as it was both relaxing as well as having plenty to do when we wanted.

It was a fabulous flight from San Jose to the Osa Peninsula on a 19 seater plane with perfect views, followed by an extremely warm welcome at the Lodge. We would endorse all the excellent reviews already written; the rooms are very simply and naturally furnished, but very comfortable (almost no mosquitoes), beautiful situation with a view down to the Pacific, an amazing beach with very interesting rock pools you can wallow in as well as investigate for marine life (no swimming here, though as there is a riptide) a small but very welcome swimming pool to cool off in, outstanding guides who really know their stuff and were so enthusiastic (nothing was ever too much trouble - all the staff were unerringly welcoming), good food and fascinating bird and wildlife. We were also impressed by the ethos of sustainability which included their thoughtful involvement in the local community. We loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We had the Garden View Cabins by the pool which we initially thought might be a bit noisy as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We -a family of 4 with two teenagers- had pretty high expectations of this lodge before our visit. And to be honest: they really exceeded our expectations in many ways.

All the comments that you read on Tripadvisor are absolutely true: beautiful natural rooms (stayed in the classic cabins), fantastic brandnew swimming pool, very very good food, nice tours, professional staff, perfect beach, tucans in abundance, ...

But what we appreciated and enjoyed the most, is the overall positive atmosphere in the lodge: all staff members (and the owners) are kind, attentive and they are really interested in their guests and in the wildlife that they observe during their stay. There is a very positive and personal vibe all around which is hard to describe. It makes you feel a part of a 'El Remanso' family. You feel that no one is acting, it gives you just the right feeling. This is how a small lodge should operate. It has a limited number of rooms (12 we guess), which definitely helps to create that personal and warm feeling.

We did the following activities during our four days stay:

1. Dolphin and whale tour: saw a whale with baby, lots of dolphins and the guide took us to the mangroves to see crocodiles. Really enjoyable.
2. Horse back tour: we have few experience with horses but loved the tour very much. Although there are some pretty tough passages (steep down and steep up) but the landscape (through the jungle and ending upon the beach) is wonderful. The guide was very dedicated.
3. Long ridge trail: interesting tour to see the biodiversity of the region, very good guides.
4. Night hike: absolutely recommended: saw very close a huge boa constrictor, fer de lance snakes, tarantula, ...
5. Waterfall rappelling: although a pleasant and refreshing activity, this was probably a bit too less challenging for the four of us, only the last two waterfalls gave us real thrills. The guide told us that they were thinking of giving the chance to do the last waterfall twice, and this would be a good idea for the future in our opinion.

It is true that there are few bugs in this area. It can happen that there are a couple of ants in the room, but overall, this is the rainforest.

This is a place which is hard to leave. Although not cheap, it is worth every penny !
We cannot recommend this place enough. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoKa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.2 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
173 reviews
8.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: £93 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing