We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise if you are reasonably fit!”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The El Remanso "Ecolodge" is a bit off the beaten track. We travelled around Costa Rica for three weeks and chose to use a variety of transport. We arrived by private transfer from Cosinga Lodge near Uvita. Check out Ride CR we booked on-line with our phone and it saved 100$ US.El Remanso has an office and courtesy suite near the Pto Jimenes airport. The Lodge had pre-booked 4wd transport to take us on the 45 min drive to the Lodge. The accommodation, food, pool and service was excellent. Wildlife abounds, we were particularly enthralled by the Macaws in the Almond tree right outside our room. The beach, (bathing not advised) is a 20 min trek downwards, there are less demanding trails you can use alone but going on the organised treks ensures that you miss very little of the wildlife as the guides are very knowledgeable. Relatively expensive but good value for money. We flew back to San Jose from Pto Jimenez a very easy journey. Nature Air and Sansa's check in and booking office is next door to El Remanso courtesy suite. The runway is across the street!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the Pool. Quiet with fantastic view over the forest to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daygo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at El Remanso for our final 3 days of our two week Costa Rica vacation. The Osa Peninsula is a very unique and remote area of the country. The opportunities to see wildlife[ especially birds and monkeys] are abundant. El Remanso is a "ecolodge" and that is stressed throughout your stay. The property is beautiful and the facilities are very comfortable. The lodge offers a variety of activities from guided hikes to more adventurous activities such as waterfall rappelling that you can choose upon your arrival.We did several guided hikes and the early morning bird tour. The guides were outstanding. We also took the 20/25 minute beach trail[ longer coming back] to the ocean and experienced the tidepools which are wonderful. All meals are included and everyone was outstanding. Every staff we dealt with was great. The rooms are nice[ no air conditioning] and you need to keep your windows open to stay cool at night. This is a place that allows you to get close to nature.[ no tv or internet] Thus, you will encounter all kinds of wildlife, including snakes, that could unsettle you if your not aware. It took us about a half day to get use to that but once we did we experienced a stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank creagh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything about our week at El Remanso Lodge was perfect. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The guides were superb. The owners are super environmentally conscious. The food was fresh and delicious. Theaccommodations were very comfortable. What a gorgeous piece of paradise!

Room Tip: I would get one of the free-standing cabins away from the pool area if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We flew from San Jose to Puerto Jimenez, landed and stopped by the cemetery. Met by the resort’s rep, loaded our and other guests luggage in the back of the resort’s vehicle and off we set for a 40min drive along unmade roads to the resort. On our arrival we were taken to the restaurant/lounge area, where we met with a welcome drink. We were fully informed of the resort’s facilities and possible dangers while walking on the nature trials, mainly snakes. After that we were shown to our apartment, the ‘Bejamar’ and settled in. Our apartment was next to the pool although foliage created a barrier between us and about 20/30 feet from the restaurant/bar/lounge area. The apartment's room was large with a double bed, storage rack and table & chairs. The en-suite was open-air with a surrounding wall about 6ft high. Outside were two chairs on the decking & a hammock. Although it was very hot & humid here there was no air-con just an over head fan. The idea of the resort was that it was environmentally friendly, so it was also requested that no hairdryers be used due to the energy drain on the generators. There was also no telephone or general internet access here, which meant guests had to talk to each other at meals & not spend their time looking at their smart phones.
All meals were included here, all freshly cooked to order, no buffet style eating. All the meals were delightful, the chefs did a wonderful job. Next to the restaurant was the lounge area where you could sit, relax and look over the rainforest. Apart from the roof it was all open air, though there were shades ready for bad weather.
The walk down to the beach was good, coming back up not so, mainly due to the heat & humidity. At least there were a couple of stopping points on the way. If you kept your eyes open you could spot various wildlife, monkeys, macaws, leaf cutter ants and other insects. Never saw any snakes even when I walked up a couple of streams up to the waterfalls.
The first day we were there we decided to relax during the afternoon in our room, well the hammock, trouble was noise from the restaurant/kitchen area, not that the staff were making noise, it just echoed. We spoke to the manager who said she’d see what she could do, and she did. The next morning we were moved to the apartment next to ours, ‘La Marea’. That doesn’t seem much, but with the extra foliage it created a sound buffer and we had a better view. Any way the noise from the macaws in the morning beat anything else, even the howling monkeys.
We didn’t do any excursions here as it was the end of our holiday and it was nice to have a couple of days of relaxation, though walking to the beach & back again was enough. Used the pool several times a day, nice to cool down in especially after the walk from the beach in the middle of the day.
Overall an excellent stay, wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant/kitchen will be quieter during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

One of the best places i have ever been (and I've been to a lot). The rainforest is amazing, the noises are enchanting. The lodge is beautifully done, overlooking the pacifc so you can walk down to a deserted wild beach. I echo what other reviewers have said: go to Osa and stay here - you won't be disappointed.

We stayed for three nights but I wish it had been a bit longer, it's so relaxing 4 or 5 nights would have been great. We saw toucans and scarlet macaws; iguanas, spider monkeys and coatis; and a strange rodent thing like a short fat Dachshund. The trails in the forest are excellent allowing you to wander on your own and enjoy the wildlife. There are places to sit and enjoy the forest views too.

We had a classic cabin which was lovely: large bed, hammock, deck with recliners and a good shower with lots of soft towels. The bed was a little hard for me as I have a painful hip but I am sure most people would be fine (my husband slept like a log). I put the pads from the recliners on my side of the bed and was very cosy! The food is good and the restaurant deck is ideal for reading whilst keeping an eye out for macaws etc.

Listening to the howler monkeys in the distance and all the birds, reptiles and insects early in the morning is simply magical.

Note: the luggage allowance for Nature Air is actually 18kg (not the 12kg reported in some places). It is very hot and humid in the Osa Peninsula so pack light clothes. There is an airport tax at Tambor airstrip, which we weren't expecting - $2.25 per person, both in and out.

Room Tip: Go for a classic cabin - private, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epicerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My time at El Remanso was very enjoyable. I went to Costa Rica to get lost in the forest and this property provides the opportunity to do exactly that. My brother and I are around 30 and love to hike and roam, we're not really guided tour type of people, we love to do our own thing and be quiet and observe the wildlife. The staff at El Remanso were perfect, not forcing anything on us, allowing us the space to enjoy their lodge for what it was. We were travelling with our parents who enjoy a bit of the luxery however, and El Remanso was the perfect balance to satisfy everyone in the party. The staff is friendly and authentic, I genuinely connected with 2 of them and the others were so nice as well, if there had been more time I'm sure I would know them all well. Thank you Adriana for continuing to preserve a precious piece of our fading world, there is nothing I can say that would do enough justice!! Un abrazo para carlos y un beso para josy, see you again soon I hope!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved El Remanso for all kinds of reasons, beginning with the remarkable piece of land upon which it sits. It offers rain forests that are unspoiled, hiking trails for every level you may want, beachfront that is spectacular, water falls, streams, tide pools and a lagoon. The wildlife you see is almost unbelievable, with exotic birds, four kinds of monkeys, a wide array of reptiles and even a caymon in the lagoon. The accommodations are beautiful and tastefully appointed, and the view from our room on our six day stay was almost mythical. The staff is professional and warm, always willing to serve, and eager to please. The dining facility is a great place to watch wildlife and to enjoy three delicious meals a day. The early morning bird watching tour is an education in itself, with expert guides who share a sense of wonder and delight in what you see. We would recommend the horseback riding adventure, and the owners set a standard for service and hospitality that permeates the entire experience. The whole place is enchanting, and we will surely return to enjoy it again! Connie and Todd Jones

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.2 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
171 reviews
22.9 mi away
Esquinas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: £289 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing