We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Remanso is a complete experience, and exceeds expectations!!”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Some travel memories are so wonderful, and so intensely pleasurable...that they will withstand the passage of time and comparison. Our stay at El Remanso is just such a memory. We will never forget this trip, and we have plans in place for our return.
Most sincerely,
John Partridge
7/19/2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peartree61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for El Remanso Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

My Husband and I were married during our stay at El Remanso and had the wedding / trip of a lifetime! The resort is amazing and the people that run the resort even more-so. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Set on a hill with a breathtaking view of the ocean the resort is tucked well within the rain forest which can been seen and heard at all times... simply amazing! There are lots of activities that range from super adventurous to no too strenuous... there's something for everyone to do and the staff is always eager to assist in making your stay more enjoyable. Gerrardo was the most amazing guide that you possibly could have, he's practically a walking flora and fauna encyclopedia but it is also obvious that he loves his work and is very dedicated to it. My husband and I had our reservations about a destination wedding and bringing our guests pretty far from home. It became clear to us through our frequent correspondence with El Remanso that we had nothing to worry about. They seemed genuinely eager to be hosting our wedding and even came up with lots of great ideas which helped us out a lot. I can personally admit that I never would have thought to have traveled to my wedding ceremony in a cart pulled by a water buffalo but I can tell you that it was awesome! and I'm thrilled that we had that opportunity. We were married on a private beach not to far from the resort that looked like something I've only seen in movies... no one for miles... not even footprints on the beach, no buildings, nothing but an amazing piece of heaven on earth. (see photos) Our day was great, and we were both so glad that we had decided to be married in Costa Rica but grateful that we had found El Remanso because they put such effort and care into arranging our whole event. We both agree that we wouldn't have changed a thing if we had to do it all over again. A big thank you to Cindy, who planned out our entire wedding and made our day more special than we could have ever hoped for! We will be back to check on our Manglillo tree that we planted at the resort in honor of our wedding.. a gift that we weren't expecting but are very honored to have been given. I would highly recommend El Remanso to anyone! whether you're going on vacation or thinking of doing a destination wedding. You will be amazed by the unadulterated kindness and generosity that the staff possesses. The grounds are amazing and the food is fantastic! There was nothing we felt that was lacking while we were there. But there was a lot of things about a normal vacation that we enjoyed missing like an over-crowded resort with haphazard staff and a shortage of activities overrun with high maintenance tourists... none of that here! Thank you El Remanso for the wedding / trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edmunds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My husband and I stayed in La Guinda cabin and had a fun, relaxing, romantic honeymoon. The staff is very warm and helpful, the cabin was beautiful, the beach was like something out of a dream, and the food was fantastic! We did the Honeymoon package and found it to be a very nice mix of active and relaxing activities. We had monkeys, tucans, and scarlet macaws outside of our cabin every day. The only thing that we didn't love were the bugs and the howler monkeys at night. But the bed was comfortable and the air was cool and fresh at night. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LcLuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We went here for our honeymoon. We stayed in the La Guinda suite (best for honeymoon couples) and had the active package. The entire stay was amazing.

First of all, as the owner Daniel even mentioned to me, it is important that you realize that this place is not necessarily for everyone:
-The beach is a steep, relatively treacherous half-mile (or so) walk from the lodge
-You are pretty much on your own. It can almost feel eerie how you get to just go walk around these trails with so much freedom.
-At certain times of the year, it can rain A LOT, and you will have to be content in your room or in the lodge reading a book, enjoying the sounds, etc... there are no TVs, nothing like that.
-After four days here, you will be TIRED. It is a workout constantly walking up and down hills from point A to point B. This is not a place to be pampered (though you can be massaged and what not). This is a place to explore.

If those warnings frighten you, you probably should not come here. If they excite you (as they do me), you should definitely come here. Some things that make this place amazing:
-The staff is so cool (I am not usually one to say this). They love what they do, and you really get to know. At one point, there were only two other people staying at El Remanso with us (these numbers will vary depending on the time of year). It is a VERY personal experience.
-The nature is insane. Just go outside your room and look at a tree and you'll see something crazy going on. Every little place is an ecosystem. Monkies wake you up in the morning. They pass through the trees outside your room.
-The food comes in comically huge quantities, and it was probably the best food I have ever had (consistently). Each meal was just ridiculous. I really, really miss it. The beans were amazing.
-The beach is deserted. And it is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. The waves are the biggest waves I have ever seen (no swimming!). There is a freshwater lagoon for swimming. You get to walk down a creek in the rain forest. There are tidal pools like hot tubs by the ocean you get to sit in (hard to explain). It is an adventure. Everything about it is unforgettable. And it is, unlike some other places we went on our trip, authentic. Even Puerto Jimenez was great.

Advice:
You really need to plan ahead regarding what kind of clothes to bring. My wife and I brought Keen sandals, and once they got wet, they never dried (so humid!). Same went for all of our clothes. Once something got wet, it stayed wet. Be prepared for this. I don't really think that there necessarily is an ideal shoe for this place-- more than anything, you may want to bring a couple of pairs, and a lot of socks.... Our feet got pretty messed up. Particularly going to the beach and getting sand grinding against our feet, then having to walk back uphill with wet and dirty feet... It was pretty bad.
Also, this was apparently unusual, but we had a good bit of rain, which brought out the mosquitos. Even if they are not as bad as they were while we were there, you should bring bug spray. And DEFINITELY, everyone needs to have a very good pair of binoculars.

Have fun.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phinizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

El Remanso was great! We stayed in an open-air, two story cabin and it was great. Wildlife all around. Monkeys in the trees right outside the cabin, wonderful view from the cabin to the Pacific. The staff was great, got to know the owners a little and they were very nice. The grounds around the lodge are huge, lots of trails and waterfalls to see. Tough hike down to the beach, but the hike to the tide pools was amazing.

The food was excellent, the pool was nice and did we mention the views? Excellent location, plus the staff was helpful with suggestions on how to spend our time. They helped arrange a tree climbing tour, which was a highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

First, I just want to make clear that, although we loved this place, this lodge is NOT for everyone! There are certain people, like us, who will absolutely thrive there, and others who would definitely not. So, it is important to make sure you take into consideration your own tastes and needs (scared of bugs, don't go), as well as your level of fitness (you need to be in relatively good shape to do the walk to the beach and hikes) when considering this lodge.

That said, we thoroughly enjoyed it! All the staff was great. Cindy was fantastic and, Gerardo the guide is one of the best, if not the best, guides we've ever had and we have travelled quite a bit around the world. He is enthusiastic, happy, friendly, and very knowledgeable. I normally don't like guided excursions very much, but I loved the excursions with him and we ended up doing them all: bird watching, guided hike, night hike, zipline/canopy tour, and waterfall rappel. The waterfall rappel was great and the staff is very safety conscience. We knew we were in good hands.

We stayed 6 nights and never got bored. We did all the trails that the lodge had to offer and all the tours too. We swam in the lagoon, the waterfall, and the tide pools. Didn't get a massage, so can't comment on that. But, we pretty much experienced everything else.

The rooms are fairly basic... nice, but not super elegant or anything. This is an eco-lodge, so the rooms, in our opinion, are what they should be. Think more nice "log cabin" rather than the Ritz. A big bonus is that the electrical is not done by generator, so no annoying noise from that sort of thing. Electrical is limited, but never failed us. Lights and fans operated just fine even late at night. There is no air conditioning (for us, this is a good thing, because those things are just noisy)... That said, the rooms at night are somewhat hot. The (very quiet) fan helps a little, but don't expect the rooms to be cool. Particularly if you use the bug netting, which tends to make things a little bit more stuffy. Good bug netting here though... some places it's not very good, but these were full coverage... easy to keep the bugs out. The lighting in the rooms is not bright. Generally this is done to help keep the bugs down, but I noticed on some reviews that people are bothered by it. It's generally typical in many Costa Rica lodges, so El Remanso is not unique with this. Also, this is a wilderness resort... so, you don't come thinking to get all dolled up for dinner in heels and dresses with your hair done. You can't use hair appliances and the lighting isn't too great and you need to carry a flashlight at night to walk around on the non-paved paths. It's a place to relax... people will be wearing shorts and t-shirts to dinner, not fancy clothes. Most of the women staying there and working as staff there don't even bother putting on makeup for any meal. So, again, it's not the Ritz.... so, if you want the Ritz, don't go. This is a place to get sweaty and dirty, so be prepared to change shirts often, get wet and muddy shoes, have many daily showers.

The rooms were very clean though and the beds fairly comfortable. Basically, the pictures on the website for the lodge are very accurate. You will likely have a problem with the odd critter in your room. In the one without screens we stayed in, there was a bat in it. In the morning another flew in too, but we managed to get him out pretty quickly. In the other one with screens, there were some moths and large beetles. Again, typical... particularly if you leave your lights on when it's dark. These aren't hermetically sealed rooms or anything. That said, considering they keep the doors and shutters open all day, I was surprised there weren't more bugs in the rooms. No mosquitoes, but there are some other biting insects to be found. Bring some Afterbite for sure. The showers have hot water, but run off propane, so the propane tank may run out on you. If it does, you can always ask for it changed and it's taken care of right away.

The trails are well maintained. We only felt that the Ridge Hike as you got closer to the beach could have been better maintained. This is the long hike and most people don't actually do the whole thing right to the beach, but we are a bit nutty and did. I think it's a bit more poorly maintained because people are unlikely to do the whole thing. It's very well maintained for the first 3/4 of it. You need some good shoes to do all the hikes, as they can be slippery and a bit steep. I had a lot of luck with my water shoes though. These worked great hiking to the beach, hiking the river hike, walking around the tide pools, doing the waterfall rappel, etc. Basically, you need to bring footwear that can get wet/dirty and that have good grips. The beach, once you get there, is fantastic! We visited it everyday for sure. Can't swim in the ocean, but soaking in the tide pools was perfect and you can swim in the lagoon too and this was very nice. The crashing waves on the beach was worth not being able to swim in the water.

In terms of wildlife, couldn't have been better. Three of the days, we saw all four species of monkeys... sometimes on the same hike. We also saw coatis, agoutis, a skunk, macaws, toucans, etc... often right in the hotel grounds. The capuchins, howlers, and spider monkeys were often easy to view on the hotel grounds without going on a hike. The coati and skunk were also seen on the grounds. There was a sloth in a tree by the parking lot. The toucans and macaws landed near the restaurant. Not often, but they would. Many frogs and lizards could be seen on the grounds too, as well as a ton of birds. It's a great place for wildlife lovers.

The food was very good... much better than we expected for sure! The filet mignon we had one night was to die for. The restaurant staff is also very friendly. Snacks were often provided for free before dinner (chips and salsa, etc). There were also packages of cookies always available in the restaurant as well as water, coffee, and tea. The meals were very filling and there was always a choice of two options for dinner and lunch. There were even more choices for breakfast. There was dessert with every lunch and dinner and fresh fruit juice with breakfast that changed every day.

It's again, remote, so no TVs or phones in the rooms. They had a computer where you can check email. There is no real human night life here. Generally it's eat dinner at 7:00 and then off to bed and up at dawn because the howlers will wake you anyway. Bring books and maybe even cards/board games for things to do at night if you want. It's also nice just sitting on your deck and looking at the stars/listening to the night noises. But, going to bed early and rising early allows you to take full advantage of the daylight hours. El Remanso starts breakfast early too, so that is a plus. The whole time we were there, it rained twice. Once in the afternoon for a couple of hours and then one night all night starting around dinner.

A lot of people seem to find the road to the resort to be a bit dicey, but for us it was a fine road... we've been on MUCH more interesting roads in Costa Rica... This road seemed fairly drivable in most conditions, but could possibly close for a while if it rained really hard. Difficult to say, as it was raining pretty hard when we left and one of the stream crossings was fairly deep and the El Remanso truck managed it no problem. The El Remanso driver (they call him Burrito) is great too. He has a good eye and will find all sorts of animals for you on your way in to the lodge. He'll stop and let you take pictures too, so make sure to do that, as the road is a great place for seeing the animals a little lower down and more out in the open.

Also, it should be mentioned that if you fly to Puerto Jimenez, you'll be on a small 12 seater plane. This plane is small! Some people would not like this. You can drive to Puerto Jimenez as well though and others mentioned that the road now takes about 8 hours from San Jose area.

This resort does require a decent level of fitness. If you don't like walking or have mobility issues at all, I don't recommend you go. There is no pavement here and the hikes have a fair amount of uphill and downhill... some of it fairly steep and slippery. The hike up from the beach is uphill... fairly steep and will take you 20-25 minutes if you go fairly quickly and it's hot too, so that makes the hike that much harder. That said, it was a great place to get back into shape after the winter. I feel like we got a really nice workout everyday.

Some activities require a bit less in terms of fitness. The bird watching was quite easy for example and the guided hike with Gerardo goes quite slow and he doesn't take you too far, so I think most everybody can do it. There is also a public beach that the staff mentioned they could arrange transportation to if we wanted to go. Apparently you can swim in the ocean there. We ran out of time to check it out though. We also saw a lot of people do the hike to the beach and they seemed to be of a variety of ages and fitness levels. So, it's certainly not something to hinder people.

Go:
1. If you love wildlife
2. If you aren't terrified of bugs and don't mind the odd critter in your room
3. You would prefer a more rustic lodge to a highly manicured place
4. You like hiking and walking and are in reasonably ok shape
5. Want a friendly environment
6. Have an adventurous spirit and can take things as they come

Don't Go.
1. If you want air conditioning or luxury accommodations
2. You want or expect a bug free room
3. You have mobility issues
4. If you want any sort of nightlife or party atmosphere
5. If you want to use a hair dryer or are concerned about poor lighting
6. If it bothers you to be woken up VERY early in the morning (4:30am by howler monkeys)

The above list really goes for most of the lodges in this area. It would be difficult for any of them to have air conditioning or bug free rooms. It's more the nature of their location, rather than the lodge itself.

All that said, we'll be heading back soon! We'll even spend longer the next time I expect. We really loved it! It was a great way to disconnect, relax, and get a workout too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannonleasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The personal touch is so evident at El Remanso and is what sets it apart from other lodges. It began with our personal greeting upon arrival and continued throughout our stay. We were well taken care of by every member of the staff from the waiters to adventure guides. I can't think of one thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable or memorable. I would recommend El Remanso to singles, couples, and families of all sizes and ages. El Remanso has something for everyone in one of the most scenic locations imaginable!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richnrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
168 reviews
8.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: £244 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing