We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a place”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow - what a place”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

A truly wonderful place in a dramatic location. Attentive staff, enthusiastic guides, awesome location and fantastic nature.

Me and my wife spent 4 nights and enjoyed every minute!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blink_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
171
336
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

El Remanso offered us a glorious week in Costa Rican rain forest. Daniel and Adrianna were the perfect hosts. They attended to every detail, were wonderfully friendly and offered useful guidance. They have created a gem on the Osa Peninsula by offering gourmet food, top level service, an immaculate lodge maintained impeccably, and a staff that is both friendly and works hard to please. Prepare yourself to be outdoors, most rooms have very little in the way of screening or separation between you and the jungle (but that's the point of this lodge!) and once you've adjusted to the closeness of the jungle settle in for true paradise.

Daniel is proud of his eco-lodge and has worked hard to make El Remanso's ecological footprint as small as possible. Soaps are "jungle friendly", no insect has been exterminated by anything more than a footstep, even the windows in the rooms have no glass so that the birds don't suffer. Even with that, the rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated tastefully. The jungle is everywhere so prepare yourself for the high humidity and slightly musty smell on some fabrics-- there's no way to avoid it without harmful chemicals. But this is part of the ambiance of the place.

Also, be prepared for creatures to "lodge" with you! We had a family of bats that soon learned they had to move to the outside of our canvas walls after I waved a towel at them. But, they came back every morning! Leave the lights on for too long and the moths will join you for the night. We did have a beautiful spider and nest in the rafters of La Vanilla--but we figured s/he caught the bugs. There were hardly any mosquitoes, however. The monkeys start howling at 5:30 a.m. Though we were warned about snakes constantly, we only saw a small one while walking on our own and only saw a Boa Constrictor that decided to lodge near the employee housing when the nature guide fished it out for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We were actually here in May 2008, but I still want to write a review. We stayed in the Honeymoon cabin. Bottom floor was screened, top floor was open with only the bed screened. We loved the top floor and view of ocean. Warning: don't leave stuff out, however. The coatis and/or monkeys will take anything that looks like food, then ditch it out in the jungle. Luckily, the staff can usually find it (as they did my wife's hiking shoe). Food was excellent and prepared straight from garden (at least fruits/veggies). Hardly saw anyone on the beach. Jungle came right up to it. Very "LOST" looking. Lots to do: ziplines, water rappelling (very fun!), tidepools with natural tubs at certain times of day, horseback riding (didn't do), bird watching, hiking, pool, large deck, sunning, gardens, and more... Animal Sanctuary trip was about 2 hours away via car and boat, but totally worth it. Only day trip of our 8 days there. Otherwise content to stick around and enjoy the jungle and beach. Wildlife we saw within property lines: sloths, coatis, monkeys, toucans, macaws, all kinds of other birds...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My sister and I stayed at El Remanso for five days at the end of January 2011, We stayed in the La Vainilla deluxe cabin because it had two bedrooms and two bathrooms...overlooks the ocean. I could have stayed there a month...woke up with the howler monkeys every morning and slept in the hammocks during our siesta. Make sure you bring good binoculars...the birdwatching is great, even if you don't like birdwatcing.

We found the staff and the service excellent, and we did not have a bad meal while we were there. The food definitely agreed with us. We wished that we could have stayed another week.

From the time we got off the plane until we left, everyone there was hospitable and really wanted us to have a good time, without being pushy. We did a lot of the activities...the waterfall rapelling was the most exciting but having breakfast on the platform in the canopy was by far the most enjoyable (we did that twice). Renaldo always brought great coffee. They knew all the wildlife, plants and sounds. My sister did her first rapelling on the waterfall rapelling trip, and Heraldo and Aldo were both excellent guides and ultra safe...made you feel you were in good hands.

You can tell the staff are proud of what they have. Thanks to Gabby for answering 100 emails and Cindy and staff for looking after us. We had an awesome time!

If you want to get away for a while and relax...this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookhaven, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We were with our friends when we stayed at El Remanso. The ride from the airport was quite exciting with the road surface totally shot. Luckily we had an experienced driver who handled the Range Rover very well. Once we got to the lodge, we all realized how special the location is; it overlooks the jungle all the way to the ocean! The welcome, the service, the food, the cabins were just what we had hoped for. Gerardo, the guide, was one of the best we've ever experienced and his patience and knowledge of the fauna and flora showed just how much he loved his job. Took the hike down to the beach (the trip back up (400' elevation) is strenuous but you just take your time and appreciate the birds and flowers. We also did the zip line to the viewing platform and it was delightful.
All in all, a wonderful place to appreciate the beauty of Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brokergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed at El Remanso over the New Year as part of our first visit to Costa Rica. It is fair to say that we were a bit apprehensive before we arrived as we were aware that the property was remote and set right in the jungle of the Osa Peninsula. Any concerns disappeared immediately we arrived at the property. The setting is spectacular, surrounded by rainforest with great views both into the forest and of the ocean.

The main lodge is rustic but very comfortable and very much the centre of the property. We enjoyed spending time there, watching the wildlife in the surrounding forest, sharing experiences with the other guests and talking to the friendly and knowledgable staff. The rooms are not luxurious as you would find in a 5 star hotel but are very comfortable, clean and spacious and are very much in keeping with the eco principles of the property.

The grounds of the property are spectacular, from the hiking trails to the waterfalls, lagoons and the beach. And at all times you are immersed in the sights and sounds of the rainforest. We particularly enjoyed the beach, whilst the hike down and back is challenging, you are rewarded with the most incredible and deserted beach you will every see as the rainforest meets the ocean.

However, what really sets this property apart is the staff. The owners, Daniel and Adriana are very welcoming and perfect hosts. The hotel staff, from the guides to the restaurant and bar staff and the chefs and the gardeners are largely from the local community. Of course they don't have the polish and experience that you would find in top 5 star resort but this is more than made up for by their friendliness and passion for both what they do and their environment. Each and every one of them went out of their way to make our stay not only enjoyable but also a unique and life enhancing experience. I hate to single out anyone in particular but Gerardo, the resident Naturalist is so knowledgable, in particular about the nature of the Osa Peninsula but what really makes him special is his passion for what he does. Spending time with him either on the hiking trails, bird watching of waterfall rappelling was very special.

This place is not for everyone. If you are looking for a luxurious 5 star resort and just want to relax on the beach, I suggest that you look elsewhere. However, if you want a truly incredible and life enhancing experience immersed in the nature of this amazingly diverse environment, I can't recommend El Remanso highly enough. We certainly would like to return one day!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carson city, nv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Although we had a pleasant stay at El Remanso, found the staff to be insincere and unable to take care of problems with their other guests! The room we stayed in had a shower that was visible from the stairs and when other guests were on the stairs they could see directly into the shower.

Also, tried to get a message to friends staying at another lodge and the staff assured us they would relay message, they decided NOT to! Thanks a lot, El Remanso!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfinch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Remanso, Manager at El Remanso Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear mfinch45,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. In response to your observation we have placed a bamboo screen across the shower area in the Ocean View Rooms so that it now offers complete privacy from every angle.
We also apologize for not delivering the message you left with us in time to reach the recipients before they left the Osa Peninsula. This area’s communication network can be very limiting as there is no phones in this area, nor do we have cell phone coverage at the lodge or the surroundings and transportation is not always accessible. It was never our intention to disregard your request, and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We would be very happy to have you back anytime so that we can leave you with fond memories of your stay with us!

The Management Team of El Remanso Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
514 reviews
10.3 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Property: El Remanso Lodge
Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing