We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the jungle and the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poor Man's Paradise
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of the jungle and the ocean”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived with no reservation and got to stay in Sonia's house and it was stellar! Sloths and capuchins entertained us as we sat on our deck sipping iced beverages. The house is mui lindo tho more $ than the cabins but four of us were very comfy. The food was delicious Tico style and Consuela Amaya made sure we were well taken care of. The ocean was clear with a perfect swell for swimming. We will stay here again! It's at the end of the road and not for those expecting Marriott style luxury, but great for those who want to experience Costa Rica wilderness.

Room Tip: Sofia's house has a deck that's practically in the jungle and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    36
    11
    10
    11
See reviews for
20
40
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Poor Man's Paradise is definitely a great place to stay! We were promised an ocean view cabin, but when we arrived, we were taken up away from the ocean and put in a cabin in the jungle. The cabin was wonderful, but it was not what we were told we would have. It was also difficult the first night as when we were shown to our cabin, we were given no instruction on what time meals were, where to find water, and when we would be taking our pre-arranged trips (Corcovado, Cano Island and sea fishing). It would be incredibly helpful for them to have a sheet of paper in each room with that information in it.

Once we made it past the first night, we absolutely loved it! Everyone is incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful. We loved the trips that we took and also enjoyed being able to just lay in the hammocks on the beach. Even the cold showers didn't bother us!

The Osa Peninsula truly is like heaven- it is incredibly beautiful and laid back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Pmp is the perfect place for the experienced traveler. The rooms are clean. The staff is friendly and knowlegeable.
The food is excellant. Fresh fruit and juice with a full breakfast. Lunch. Dinner with the possibility of fresh fish from the days catch, excellantly prepared. All meals included. A quaint full service bar.
Pmp is not for all travelers. It is not the for the Marriot crowd. There is no air conditioning but the ocean breeze in the evening make it unnecssary. Pmp is for real people who can actually enjoy a place simply for its beautiful nature and laid back atmosphere. The perfect place for a rustic romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ethel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Poor Man's and thouroughly loved it. It was easy and comfortable "roughing it". We had an ocean view from our cabin and awoke to the sounds of the juncle and ocean waves. There were not many guests and it was so peaceful and quiet. Our days were filled with trips to Cano Island, Corcovado National Park and a Rio Claro tour. The Rio Claro tour was our favorite. I recommend it to everyone. Beautiful.
I spent my birthday there and was chose to have our final dinner bu candle light on our patio. Jake (thank you) arranged it all and it was lovely.
Very surprising, the bugs were not an isssue for us.
Thanks to all the staff at Poor Man's Paradise. We had a wonderful time.
Juneau, AK

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTravel032011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I stayed at Poor Man's Paradise in 2003. The Amaya family were kind and very helpful. They were extremely knowledgable and willing to share any information you requested. The resort is more rustic than some in the states, but you are in COSTA RICA! I came home covered in bumps from all the bug bites during my stay, but wouldn't have traded anything for the adventures that I was able to experience there. (The bugs were not related to the resort but rather just being outdoors there.) We were able to visit Corcovado National Rain Forest, go deep sea fishing, and see some wildlife that took our breath away. The food was superb and the price of staying there completely reasonable. The dancing in the evenings and the rooster calling in the morning are two memories that I don't ever want to forget. I would highly recommend this resort and be happy to answer any questions anyone has about my experience and what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NEhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

+ restaurant, kind owners, placement
- cold shower, no internet, electricity only 2 hours per day

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnusedUsername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We were refered to this quaint getaway place by a friend who lived in the area. It was beyond our expectations. It was about a hour boat ride until you get to the ocean, but there is some great seanery getting there. Once you get there you are treated like royalty. Meals are prepared and served in then local kitchen fresh fish is always on the menu. If you are trying to get away and want some low key rest and activities this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
349 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
4.9 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#14 of 45 in Drake Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poor Man's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Man's Paradise

Property: Poor Man's Paradise
Address: on the Amaya homestead, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poor Man's Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Poor Man's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poor Man`s Paradise Hotel Osa Peninsula
Poor Mans Paradise Osa
Poor Mans Paradise Hotel
Poor Man's Paradise Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing