We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest chill-out - great food, company and opportunities to escape...”
Review of Sabalo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sabalo Lodge
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rainforest chill-out - great food, company and opportunities to escape...”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed with my son for unique catch up time during his 'cycle round the world' - Sabolo provided excellent opportunity to chill out and also to explore a hidden corner of the country. Dan and Holly were excellent hosts - interested and interesting, providing not just superb meals, but an amazing ambience in which to share them. Accommodation very comfortable and well maintained - fantastic grounds and access to the wild (especially enjoyed the kayaks!).

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Sabalo lodge grounds are exquisitly maintained and a wonderful place to arrive at. The room was simple and elegant - no frills, just a beautiful, clean, natural place to stay. It was perfect for us - a way to get away from the other 'normal' for a while. Monkeys visited each day and Macaws were often frolicking in the trees. A couple of them were lobbing half-eaten Pecans(I think?) at our roof one morning. We loved going to sleep with the sounds of the animal nightlife in full swing. The food was delicious and healthy - the best we ate during our time in Costa Rica and it was great not having to figure that out for ourselves! A treat, especially for people with kids. There's a great swimming hole that you share with the Jesus lizards and little fish. It's small but the stream comes into the hole with some current - perfect for 'swimming on the spot' (but watch those little kids). We enjoyed our excursions to the local waterfalls. Sabalo Lodge was the high pont of our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcw327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

If you are adventuresome and want to get away from it all, then look no further than this
awesome spot! It is 6-8 hours from San Jose by car, then another hour by boat down
the Sierpe River.

Dan and Holly are great hosts and make your visit with them very personal and memorable. We exchanged many emails before our arrival, so we felt as though we were visiting old friends by the time we actually met them in person. Dan's cooking is out of this world...especially his chocolate mousse!

The cabins are airy, well appointed and quite comfortable, even without hot water or electric fans. It was a bit "sticky" at night due to the heat and humidity, but well worth a little loss of sleep to experience the hike to the waterfall, a visit to Holly's horses and a visit to the flower gardens at the home of one of the staff. We enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks and lazing in the cooling waters of the waterway that runs through the property.

We are animal lovers and also enjoyed the company of dogs, Daisy and Lassie and the five cats and not to be left out, "Buddy the Boa". Just so you know, he stays well away from the guests, although we walked out to visit him on his palm pile each day!

Dan and his groundskeeper keep the beautiful lodge grounds immaculate and there just could not be a more exotic and special place to hang out, relax and unwind for a few days. We were really sorry to leave, but had other Costa Rican adventures ahead.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelan, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

From the time we left the dock at Sierpe the adventure began. The 40 minute boat trip was exciting and breathtaking, All along the banks of the Sierpe River were photo opportunities of the birds, monkeys and other interesting wildlife. As we manuvered through the twists and turns of the mangrove forest and arrived at the Sabalo Lodge, we were delivered into a tropical paridise. The grounds at Sabalo Lodge are absolutely impeccably maintained, with palms, rainbow tree, vanilla plants and many other exotic varieties of jungle plantlife, The birds, butterflies and monkeys were also evident in the vicinity. The proprietors met us at the bridge that welcomes you into the eco lodge. They were the most hospitable hosts we could imagine, The experience far exceeded our expectations in terms of the lodging, food and natural environment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe58395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Between San Jose and airport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

If they say a change is as good as a rest, after Sabalo Lodge you'll be able to take on the world. Just getting there was an amazing Adventure, from Sierpe, we took a long river boat along the wide Rio Sierpe, lots of floating plants in the water, then he hung a left and we twisted and turned through a snake work of mangrove rivers, dodging low trees, monkeys and sloths and large birds of every description watching from above, how the boat driver even remembered where to go was beyond me, it took about an hour, absolutely amazing, if you want jungle, Sabalo is THE place. After finally docking we walked along a trail and onto the beautiful landscaped ground of Sabalo, I mean we were so far from anywhere, and there it was, this beautiful tranquil grassed property buried in the jungle, little cabins, a main lodge, the sounds, smells and sights of a place so far removed from civilization, a trail along beside it with Indian kids riding their horses, they give part of their profits to the local village school, the meals were filling and great, Holly and Dan are the most interesting hosts, if you want to get away from it all this is the place, bar none! I'll be back the next time I need an escape from the civilized world.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is where you want to stay to get away from typical resort experince. Dan and Holly tend to your every needs. Dan is a most wonderful cook. 98% of CR has utility electricity. This is in the other 2%. Dan has limited solar backed by generator/batteries, so expect periods of no lights, never hot water, and some periodic generator noise. But this is part of the experience and is NOT a hinderence. The wildlife on property and on guided hikes by staff make up for all inconvenience you may perceive. 3 well prepared meals each day dining with the owners family style. The boat ride to get there is such an experience thru the mangroves. Holly does such a good job in emails before you arrive, you feel like she is your new best friend. Dan and her can tell stories of their ownership experinces for hours. Their knowledge of the rainforest is great. We left here and went to Drake bay for a couple nights and were able to see 2 whales with calves up close and personal. All transportation is dictated by tide schedules, as the Sierpe river can allow boat traffic. A wonderful experience and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Unbelievably gracious hosts, Dan and Holly made the trip to Sabalo Lodge unforgettable. Perfect place to visit for those people who love photography, since you are surrounded by beauty everywhere you look. From the mangroves, to the surplus of animal inhabitants, everything is picture worthy. The lodge itself is definitely a hidden gem, with a very natural organic feel. Rooms are designed to make you feel apart of nature, with no windows, only screens so you can experience your beautiful surrounds, while at the same time you are protected from unwanted critters. With tons of things to keep you occupied, it's not hard to fill up a day. Between canoeing, fishing, hiking, bird watching, swimming, and just relaxing, ( to name only a few) there is a little bit of something for everyone to enjoy. Not to mention the delicious home cooked meals provided by Dan and Holly (best food ever). There is nothing not to like about Sabalo Lodge. While you're there, you feel like it's your own secret getaway. Having to leave was the only downfall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMS1_bugzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 11 in Golfito
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabalo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabalo Lodge

Property: Sabalo Lodge
Address: | 800 Meters South of Sabalo School on the Right, 60503, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the heart of the Costa Rican jungle lies a secluded paradise called the Sabalo Lodge. It is home to monkeys, toucans, frogs and morpho butterflies living alongside human residents of a nearby village and travelers in search of a unique experience. Clustered in the mangroves, the Eco-Lodge sits next to the winding Sierpe River, which makes its way through the Osa Peninsula and joins the Pacific Ocean rimmed by a gleaming sandy beach. Like no other hotel of its kind, Sabalo Lodge has committed to providing a sustainable recreational experience, offering guests an outstanding array of activities which tread lightly on the local ecosystem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sabalo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabalo Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing