We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True escape from the wired world.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We (my girlfriend and I ) spent 8 amazing nights here. It really is a true eco-lodge There are cabins and tent cabins spread through out the property. If you are expecting walls, electricity, ac, fans, tv then this is not for you. The accommodations are set among nature. the beds are quite comfy, and do have mosquito nets, but you do feel somewhat exposed at first, but you soon fit in to being close to nature. The Main lodge, is amazing, it is where the meals are served, and the bar is located here as well. It is an amazing view from the lodge's deck overlooking the property and pacific . The Finca website is pretty clear about the cabins, and their locations. Some of the cabins are located a 5 min hike up a hillside, the view and rooms are amazing, but it is a bit of a trek making the trip multiple times a day, you would be best served to pack beach belongings and needs, as opposed to making that trip too many times. The food was wonderful, the chef Coco is a master, he creates amazing meals, utilizing fresh fruits and veggies from the properties own gardens, as well as fresh caught fish from the local fishermen. Coco was truly a pleasure to meet and to experience his culinary delights. The property is virtually at the end of the road in Carate. The Corcovado park is a short hike away, and well worth making, Don't be too worried about the lack of walls in the cabins, they do have the feel of a true cabin, just a bit more open air. The 24/7 sounds are indescribable, from howler monkeys to cicada to white face and spider monkeys, to every kind of rainforest creature as well as the ever present pounding surf of the open pacific, you are sure to experience it all here. The staff and owner were all very helpful, they were there to be helpful, but there is also a feeling of having space and privacy that is much desired in this kind of environment. The design and concept of Finca was incredibly well thought out. Do bring flashlights, and bug spray if you are bug sensitive. Also bring in any snacks and personal needs, as there are no stores nearby, You would be well served to shop at the grocery in PJ prior to setting off for FInca.
This is getting back to nature, life off the grid. A true nature experience with great food and amazing memories.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Finca exotica

As so many folks have already attested, Finca Exotica is an amazing place. We would return without hesitation. But there are some things that would have been helpful to know ahead of time. There is no wifi or computer access of any kind at Finca. The staff have to go to a neighbors house 1 km away just to deal with their own email. So if you email and don't hear back right away this is why. Also, in order to arrange some of the activities, e.g. Horseback riding, they have to send a message on the collectivo (the little "bus"), and then wait for an answer to get sent back. So you need to plan ahead if you want to do some of these things...don't expect it to be arranged without enough notice. Many of the cabinas are quite a hike uphill...steep and loose gravel. Don't worry about getting your luggage up there as the staff will haul it up for you. I enjoyed the extra exercise, but make sure you bring good footwear. I found sneakers much better than flip flops. Sneakers would also be very useful for the beach, as the sand gets very hot, and even with flip flops our feet got burned. We spent six nights at Finca, and there is plenty to do. There are many km of hiking trails that start at Finca, and there is a map you can look at, but no paper copies. The food is as delicious as everyone has commented. However they rarely start on time, and it is not unusual for supper to begin at 7:45 pm. There did not seem to be any designated "smoking areas", and as a result smokers often lit up on the deck at "casa grande" (the main building), and on the trails to the cabinas. I would love it if they would just make Finca a smoke-free place. Also,it would make for more comfortable sleeping if there were fans in the rooms. I realize that they are wanting to minimize energy consumption, but fans actually use very little power.

Room Tip: I loved the house we rented, ranchito, but if you are not very fit the climb would be too difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eikitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hola from Finca Exotica! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review- you have given some very useful advice for future guests- thank you! We are looking at ways to improve our electric system so that we can have fans in all cabanas soon- watch this space! We also now have a designated smoking area so as not to disturb other guests, i´m sure you will be happy to know. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the not so far future.…. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is my third great World Wild Adventure trip; this time for the Osa Yoga Retreat on the beautiful and untamed Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica...way off the usual tourist path as WWA does so well. The accommodations were excellent at the Casa Roland http://www.casarolandsanjose.com in San Jose for the first and last nights, and at Finca Exotica http://www.fincaexotica.com outside the remote village of Carate on the Osa for the week in between. Finca, meaning farm, organically grows nearly all the vegetables, fruit and herbs to supply their kitchen. The yoga teacher (two sessions per day) was literally world class. Coco, the Finca chef specializing in latin American cuisine, was superb, friendly, engaging and created meals for our varying daily event schedule expertly. Martine Racette, our lovely Finca guide, was so bright, funny, creative and gregarious. She did a masterful job managing reservations and transportation for special tours, elaborating a vast knowledge of local flora and fauna, and facilitating a wonderfully friendly atmosphere among us, her guests. Not to be missed are the guided trekking for jungle animal and bird spotting into the Corcovada National Park, body surfing or strolling on the beach, breath-taking sunsets, morning choruses of howler monkeys, drinks and meals in the Casa Grande with it’s vast view of the jungle and Pacific Ocean, kayaking in the lagoon viewing caiman, crocodiles,myriad birds and no other tourists, zip-lining the jungle canopy, and soaking up the remarkable ambiance of the jungle’s embracing warmth, insect music and vital intensity of “pura Vita.”
Charlie Thompson
Seattle, Washington, USA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thanks for the lovely review, Charlie! Finca Exotica eco lodge absolutely loved hosting the WWA yoga retreat- you were all real pleasures to have around. As mentioned, there are plenty of activities to do in and around Carate- we hope you can come back soon to enjoy more! Pura vida….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Absolutely incredible trip. My mom and I stayed for 10 days and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the tiki tent for one night, went on the 3-day hike to Corcovado Park (with Erick, who is an incredible guide and person) and then spent the remainder of our time in the Bamboo Cabana. We spent some time on the yoga platform, but wish we spent more as it is an absolutely magical location. Everything was way above expectations, but the thing that stood out the most to me was the warmth and kindness of the staff. The people who tend to landscaping and maintenance, the volunteers, the cook and kitchen help, the guides, the organizers and owners: every single person I met there was so kind and welcoming it made me feel at home. I have never been anywhere that was so accommodating to changes and restrictions in diet, which speaks to the nature of care that is put into the comfort of each visitor. The combination of the service along with the setting and surrounding of nature helped make this trip more than just a vacation. It was a true journey of relaxation, joy and rejuvenation. I am so grateful for the experience and absolutely recommend this to anyone. I have been gone for 4 days and I miss it so much already.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaAG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We loved having you and your mum here with us, fingers crossed you can make it a yearly trip, that would be great! It was a pleasure being able to organize your days here in Carate, it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed yourselves! Until next time, from your Finca family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Spent 11 days at finca and almost don't wont to write this review to reassure there will be space when I come back because once you experience this place you will not want to leave. The grounds are beautiful, the food was freshly alive right from the property and the service was top notch. I spent 3 days hiking in the park with Eric their hiking guide which was unreal. The best guide I've ever had.even if you think the 3 day is to much you should do the day trips for sure. I will be stay again in the future for sure!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 805mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thanks for the review (even though you did not want to really write it!)! You gelled right in from the moment that you set foot on our grounds, taking everything in for how it is. We hope to see you back again soon, pura vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Upon first arrival we were just blown away by the grounds and maintenance of the lodge. Granted we had quite an exciting and eventful ride on the colectivo from Puerto Jimenez, we were not prepared for what this place had in store for us. The facilities were magnificent - namely Casa Grande, what a work of art. Beautiful wood detailing, huge, spacious decks, cozy chairs and hammocks - all amidst the forest and greenery of the hillside. One could spend their whole stay up there, if it weren't full the multitude of other activities to explore. We stayed five nights in one of the tent cabins and were treated to a barrage of monkeys nearly every morning around 6am. The tent had a nice cushioned deck, and a very large bed that took up the entirety of the tent. The jungle was astoundingly loud the first day and night, but you get used to the din, though the humidity was a bit overwhelming on a few nights and the one night we left the tent flap unzipped we awoke with itchy legs and some fat, happy mosquitos.
Lots of monkeys in the area, primarily capuchins and howlers - the capuchins were sure a rambunctious lot; at first one or two would be quietly munching on bananas or seeds, then the rest of the troop would join and the madness would begin, branches and leaves falling everywhere as they climbed and careened up and down the trees.
The beach is beautiful and the hammocks really come in handy in the afternoon, we took full advantage of the boogie boards and had a blast in the warm waves.
The chef Coco was amazing, preparing fantastic fare and colorful creations that we found delighting and delicious - do yourself a favor and do the meal plan!
The day-hike into Corcovado was great, Erick has quite a keen eye for the many creatures that call the park home, but we also found that exploring the Carate river early in the morning yielded good results, particularly with the birds.
Splendid dining, a magical setting, compassionate and flexible staff...a thoroughly eclectic experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We do our very best to render our guests the best service possible here at Finca Exotica. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed yourselves with us. We hope to see you again soon, pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This experience was simply magical for my two children and I. The minute we arrived, our lives were transformed. The no electronics policy was the beginig of a truly interactive lifestyle, jajaja.
There was simply so much to experience in these surroundings, that my kids quickly forgot computer games and I forgot about work. It was the perfect excuse to live in the present. I really can´t say we had one bad moment, we were just overflowing with the forests peaceful vibration. The Osa Peninsula is a place of such purity and benevolence, this continue to flow naturally in perfect sincronicity, you feel deeply embraced by the forest and the ocean. My son Diego who is 3 and my daughter Noelia who is 10, were full of joy. We were just laughing all the time, enjoying the smplest things, the breeze, the sun, the water and trees. To top it all, the food is simply delicious, world class healthy cuisine. Gathering around the table with my family, including my brother and his best friend, was a sweet littel ritual, we just felt so close and thankfull to have each other. Just a few minutes spent talking to the chef made it clear that his work was his passion and the food was made with love. This is the feeling we got from all the staff. We just felt at home. Marcus and Gaby are the owners, they are charming characters and always at hand, to answer any questions you might have. I specially love the story of how they met and personally think there should be a motion picture about it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thanks for your review, Nena! Your words are very inspiring, almost as great as your beautiful singing voice which we felt privileged to hear the night you came to Casa Grande with your guitar for a mini concert! It was wonderful to have your family here and we really hope you all get to come back again soon- Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
336 reviews
22.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
497 reviews
12.3 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
581 reviews
2 mi away
La Leona Eco Lodge
La Leona Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Carate
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Address: Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: £55 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing