We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people, beautiful location, amazing natural setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
1 review
“Lovely people, beautiful location, amazing natural setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at La Tarde prior to hiking into Corcovado to the Sirena ranger station. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was so warm, friendly, helpful and hospitable. It is rustic, no doubt, but we loved it. If you like birds, the location is ideal. From the great house area up the hill you will see flocks of scarlet macaws, roadside hawks, king vultures, magnificent frigatebirds, great kiskadees, swallow-tailed kites, tropical kingbirds and hummingbirds. In the meadow and around the property we saw riverside wrens, plain xenops, chestnut-backed antbird, blacked-hooded antshrike, bright-rumped attila, paltry tyrannulet, cherrie's tanager, variable seedeaters, and blue black grassquits among many other. We stayed in a tent cabin which was is as close to camping in the rainforest as you can possibly get without pitching a tent yourself. It was cozy and comfortable. There was a very clean restroom and outdoor shower across the meadow. Every morning we were awakened by the sounds of howler monkeys and a delightful dawn chorus of bird song. The beach across the way is pristine and practically deserted. While walking on it one morning we met some people from the sea turtle rescue project down the road and they invited us to come along on their night patrol. We saw three turtles digging nests and laying eggs.

By the way the food was incredibly delicious and the beer was icy cold. It was such a great experience. I heartily recommend Finca Exotica for anyone who loves nature.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALKsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, General Manager at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
We are glad you enjoy the close contact with Nature, the Osa is in deed a biodiversity intense place, special for Nature lovers!
The sea turtles nests are hatching these days, check out our facebook page to see the pictures, you will find then in the COTORCO album.

Regards from the Finca Exótica family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    53
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
98
239
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palisade, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in June. Indeed we should have stayed longer. The property is exactly what we wanted, it was lush and tropical, surrounded by monkeys, far away from dense population, and quite and relaxing. We went to the Corcovado National Park, and I highly recommend it as well as just exploring the trails on the property. Our cabin was perfect. It was secluded, had running water, and the outdoor shower was my favorite part of it. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The service they provided was excellent and you can honestly tell they love what they do and love their land. Highly recommended for adventurist travelers that still want a nice place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megastar2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, General Manager at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comment!
You are completely right, two nights it´s just not enough to explore and discover our surroundings, there is a lot see in Carate. We hope you can come back some time!

Regards from the Finca Exótia family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jiménez, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Is is a beautiful, secluded and unique place, on Carate beach near the borders of Corcovado National Park, great for nature lovers, romantic get away ... it is an authentic experience, to get in touch with nature and disconnect in a good way from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, General Manager at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
We are content you did unplugged and found a better connection with Nature!
Greetings from Finca Exótica family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just returning from a two night stay at Finca Exotica and can't say enough good things about this place and the people that run it. The cabins are simple but very comfortable and unique, the grounds are extraordinarily beautiful, and they go a great job at bringing guests together to share stories over dinner. Every meal was fantastic, the views from the eating area are wonderful, and the owner's commitment to sustainability is one of the best I've ever seen.

I can't wait to go back and will be recommending to family and friends.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms to choose from, comfy cabins or simple tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Propietario at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thanks for the short and sweet review, Brad! We do our best to render our guests a true sustainable jungle beach experience, and we are over the moon that we achieved it with you and your family! Pura vida, until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am a Costa Rican biologist with experience staying around Corcovado National Park. This was my first time on the Carate beach side of the park. The place is beautiful for nature lovers, with sandy beaches right next to tropical rain forest. Lots of nice birds, butterflies, lizards, frogs and even large mammals such as tapirs can be seen around the tents and houses. I stayed in one of the tents and was very satisfied with it. The staff members are very nice and helpful. The food is great and truly healthy, with lots of fresh vegetables and fruits, many of which are harvested in the farm. I was truly amazed by their creativity to make healthy food, both vegetarian and including meat. Corcovado National Park and other Wildlife Refuges are very close and the staff can organize tours for you to visit them. I was interested in surf fishing, which is possible when the ocean is not too agitated, as it was this time. The staff will help me plan my next fishing trip to the area, which I am very eager to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohelChaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Propietario at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We love to receive all guests, but it is especially nice to show Costa Ricans from other parts of the country what we have to offer here down ´at the end of the road´. Corcovado and the surrounding area of Carate are a real haven for wildlife, and one can never tire of seeing the many different flora and fauna species. We look forward to seeing you soon for the fishing trip, you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had the pleasure of spending four nights in the beautiful Finca Exotica, I only wish I could have stayed longer

The lodge itself, Casa Grande, is a piece of art, local woods, bamboo and palm leaves are used to create this large hut/platform, which will be the heart of your stay. Here you will be served with the freshest fruits and vegetables from the Finca garden, on top of beautifully cooked meals of fish, chicken and whatever else the Finca has to offer, all washed down with delicious cocktails or lemongrass tea. Having spent 3 weeks traveling down through central america, I can honestly say this was the best food/drink I experienced during my travels.

The staff of Finca Exotica are really genuine, nice people who are clearly passionate about what they do. Martine was always on hand to help with anything we needed organising and lead us through our first Yoga experience. Joe, who only recently joined the staff, was super friendly and informative.We spent two phenomenal days with Jerry, Fincas guide, showing us wildlife in Corcovado National Park and kayaking in the lagoon near Carate Beach. Last but not least there is Luna, the Fincas chilled out dog. If I could have brought her home I would have!

The accommodation itself is like something out of Tarzan. We stayed in Casa Raiz, a large wooden cabana, perched above the canopy of trees overlooking the Pacific Ocean. There are no walls, allowing air to circulate through, therefore no need for air conditioning. This was a concern for me before I arrived, but proved to be a non issue. If you do get too hot there is your own rainforest shower outside, again completely secluded and with amazing views out of the ocean. There is very little light in the cabanas but this only adds to the peaceful atmosphere. I spent hours just laying in the hammock on the front porch, reading my book in the candlelight, listening to the waves crashing down below and the birds and monkeys in the trees overhead... it really is a slice of paradise!

Thank you again for a truly memorable experience!

Best Wishes,
Derek and Karen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Propietario at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Hi Derek & Karen, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful and very explanatory review! We are over the moon to read how much you enjoyed yourself here and we really hope to see you again! Pura vida from your Finca family.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you love nature, care for the environment and want to escape from crazy world, this place is perfect for you. Imagine yourself taking a shower under bare skies listening to Pacific ocean, being surrounded by tropical forest! Or waking up in the morning to the sound of scarlet macaws, howling monkeys and gods know how many more birds and animals. Walking down for breakfast through mangoustine, lime, mango, banana, coconut, ylang-ylang and so many many more trees (and all those treasures are available for you to taste). Secluded location, beautifully made wooden bungalows (ours had a hammock on the patio with an ocean view), very friendly staff, organic food, lots of fresh exotic fruits and incredibly tranquil and friendly atmosphere plus no cell phone signal, no tv etc.,yoga sessions, Corcovado hiking - all that makes Finca exotica the best place I have ever stayed at (to top it all, it was my big birthday, (the guys at Finca backed a cake - what a nice touch!) - and it was the best birthday I have ever had.
P.S. they also organised a guide for us to Corcovado national park - and it was outstanding 9-hour walk with plenty of animals and plants we've seen and lots of interesting facts we've got to know. Our guide, Pablo, seems to know all about Corcovado and love his job.

Room Tip: We had a suite on two floors with hammock and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Abr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca_Exotica, Propietario at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write about your Finca Exotica experience! It was a pleasure to be your host whilst on the Osa Peninsula and show you what we have to offer in terms of food, services and nature. We really do hope you will choose to come back again and enjoy even more time with us in this exotic paradise! Pura vida from your Finca family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
23.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Property: Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Address: Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing