We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in Carate”
Review of LagunaVista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LagunaVista Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Rucphen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in Carate”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We love the villa's! A beautiful view over the laguna and we saw from our terrace more wildlife then we saw in hole Costa Rica! The meals are very good. Thanks to Freddy, Macho en their wives. We had a very good guide? Erik a local who lives his whole life in Carete. We visit Laguna Vista mid november. We were lucky with te weather because driving bij own car is is not always possible to cross te rivers! It is better during dry season to do it by own car.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josepha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

A friend of our family who does business in Costa Rica heard we wanted to take our family there on a vacation. He had but one recommendation, Lagunavista Villas. He was absolutely right. From the moment we began planning our trip until the day we left Lagunavista the service was top notch. I tend to be one of those people that ask a lot of questions, leaving no stone unturned prior to a vacation in an effort to give my family the best vacation possible. Greg Robertson who is the owner of the property answered every one of my questions and believe me there were a lot, best of all he was happy to do it. Never did i feel as though I was a bother and there was no question however insignificant that wasn't addressed.

After several months of planning our vacation to Costa Rica we finally arrived at Lagunavista. After reading all the reviews and doing my own due diligence I was fairly certain that this was a special place. Special is putting it mildly! My first several moments on the property will be some that I never forget. Its almost as if the villas were dropped out of the sky, they look like they are supposed to be there. Not a thing was out of place. Flocks of Macaws flying constantly, monkeys, coatis, and many other animals were in constant view. We are a very well travelled family and we had never seen anything like this. Lagunavista is an absolute must for anyone that wants to see nature while living in it at the same time. The villas are well appointed with comfortable beds and plenty of space for your things. They are well protected from the elements, and all of the beds come with mosquito netting.

The beauty of Lagunavista is only surpassed by one thing, the service. We were taken care from the moment we got there until the minute we left. My wife is a Biology teacher and as such had a long list of plants and animals she wanted to see in the area. Knowing this in advance, the staff at Lagunavista had located several of these wild animals and were ready at a moments notice to take us into the jungle to find them. They went to great lengths to make sure we were taken care of. I am an avid fisherman and was looking forward to fishing in the lagoon that surrounds the hotel for several different species of fish. The Snook and Pargo were wide open the entire time we were there. Again, they knew I was a fisherman and they took care me the entire time. The meals are all home cooked and fabulous! Just sitting in the dining area and looking out at the view is a moment to behold, throw in some Costa Rican home cooking and its over the top. Not to worry if you or anyone else in your group are a bit picky with food, they will bend over backward to see that you get what you want.

Lagunavista was the first stop on our vacation to Costa Rica and we didn't want to leave. The caring and hardworking staff left an indelible mark on us, one that we won't soon forget. Special thanks to Macho, thank you for everything! Also many thanks to Lydia for the fantastic food, and to Freddy for all the local knowledge of the lagoons.

I could go on forever and string together complements one after the other but the bottom line is this. If you have ever considered traveling to the Osa peninsula for eco tourism or any other reason Lagunavista is a gem that shouldn't be missed. You won't be sorry!!





From the moment we got off the plane in Puerto Jimenez we were taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smg7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our stay at LagunaVista was the highlight of our trip to the Osa Peninsula. This place is by far the best option in the Carate area...individual villas with terrific views isolated on a hilltop. They even have a great pool to cool off in. The compound is itself a nature reserve; we saw way more wildlife from the deck of our villa than we did on our "guided tour" in Corcovado Park. The park hike was a joke and and a waste of time and money; if you do go to the park you certainly don't need a guide.

The lagoon is really a great place to see wildlife and tour around in kayaks or the boat. You can paddle across the lagoon to an isolated beach. The other hotels run "kayak tours" to the lagoon; if you stay here you have the lagoon and beach to yourself. The staff was great; we enjoyed the meals and always had everything we needed. After visiting the other options in the area we were so greatful that we ended up at LagunaVista. This is by far the best place to stay - my only regret is that I didnt write the review sooner!

Room Tip: All the villas are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a very rare and unique place to stay. Absolutely gorgeous!
Lots of birds around, specially ara macaws. Had tons of picts of them.
The hotel is seated on a mountain surrounded by a lagoon which precedes the ocean...just a unique set (and picture!)
Very quiet and peaceful!
I totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the ones to the right of the restaurant, these have a much better view...although we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxCvMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Laguna Vista for two nights during our honeymoon. It was idyllic - from the infinity pool to our villa with its breathtaking views, to the wonderful food and pleasant service. We ended up not taking any tours or activities and just relaxing at the villas - we didn't want to leave! However, a word of warning - this is very open to the wilderness, and the wilderness tends to like to visit. We had a lot of ants and even a cane toad in our room, and because the bathroom is open to the elements it can get a bit scary sitting on the toilet and not knowing if a monkey's about to leap through the open window behind you! It didn't bother us but if you're expecting to be at a sheltered resort then LV might not be for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I seek out places like Laguna Vista. During six years of travel we have stayed at numerous "eco lodges." This is probably the best value we found. We came for a week and stayed extra days. I did not want to leave this wonderful place. Our hosts, Amy and Bruno really helped make our stay great. We did not want for varied food, drink or advise. What sets Laguna Vista Villas apart is the setting combined with artistic architecture and natural landscaping. This is a place to savor. Your are surrounded by wildlife. We watched and heard macaws, toucans and three types of monkeys right off our deck while sitting in our private plunge pool. Every morning and evening at dusk I kayaked on the lagoon and observed amazing wildlife in a totally peaceful setting. The sunsets and sunrises were amazing. The infinity pool setting is remarkable. It reminded me of a Balinese setting. It is difficult to express how this lodge incorporates luxury while still maintaining a "wild" feel. Carate and Corcovado National Park are really at the end of the Costa Rican road. When comparing lodging it is important to note there is really nothing other than a very small store making up Carate. You do not need a car, becausethere is nowhere to go: you have arrived when you plop down on the deck. Getting to the park and hiking to nearby waterfalls, or just walking the wild beach is easy to arrange. Our guide for a day hike into the park was excellent. There are opportuities to take multiple day trips into the park, but there is really much to do and see right at the lodge. After traveling for days to reach this part of the world you will find a great place to unwind and see critters. There is really no need to leave the property for several days.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Absolutely worth taking the bumpy, long way to get there. Perfect place to relax and enjoy tranquility. Managed by an amazing couple, friendly and helpful. The place where you feel at home and treated like a king at the same time.
Incredible view over the laguna and the ocean, breathtaking sunset from the privat balcony.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longjohnsilver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.3 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
10.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
11.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 40 in Osa Peninsula
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LagunaVista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LagunaVista Villas

Property: LagunaVista Villas
Address: | Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — LagunaVista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge comprises 8 Mediterranean style villas, a large swimming pool and restaurant. It sits on a small peninsula inside a fresh water lagoon bordering it on three sides and a Pacific Ocean beach 200m across the lagoon, accessible by our boats and kayaks. We run on solar power, our water is from a fresh mountain spring and we produce fresh food daily from our biological garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your LagunaVista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LagunaVista Villas Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing