We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want wildlife, this is the place to go”

Corcovado National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2,066.25*
and up
8-Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure Hike
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you want wildlife, this is the place to go”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We organised our trip into the park through OSA Wild in Puerto Jimenez. They provided an excellent service in arranging the permits, booking the food and accomodation at Sirena Ranger Station, hiring the guide and booking the taxi from Puerto Jimenez to Carate, the boat from Sirena to Drake Bay and then the taxi back from Drake Bay to Puerto Jimenez (Marco, the taxi driver, was a pretty good wildlife spotter and guide on the taxi journeys!). We hiked in from Carate on the La Leona trail. Not an easy walk by any means but we saw some wonderful wildlife on the way in - anteater, scarlet macaws, coatis, snakes, poison frogs, monkeys and close to a puma. Also got caught up in a tropical thunderstorm which was quite an experience and the river crossings became a bit more exciting than expected. Although Sirena Ranger Station is not the most comfortable place to stay, it is well worth it as the early morning walks give you an excellent chance to see the tapirs. Also saw caiman, crocodiles, bull sharks, agoutis, fer de lance, lots of birds, insects etc. Ulices, our guide, was excellent. He soon understood our interests and adapted our wildlife walks accordingly. Although his speciality is bird life, his knowledge of all the wildlife was excellent. If you want a real adventure in the rain forest, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    142
    44
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spotting wildlife is a team affair. the more eyes and ears in your group plus competent guide, the better your chances.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After landing in Costa Rica, I was taken in by the greenery in and around San Jose. After returning from Corcovado National Park, the same places seem close to deserts.
Surprisingly, hardly any insects to bother you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tapir, monkeys, coatis....”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

With the great guide we had from Luna Lodge, we were able to see tapir, different types of monkeys, coatis and a variety of birds. Wonderful trail!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PascaInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was outstanding 9-hour walk with plenty of animals and plants we've seen and lots of interesting facts we've got to know. Our guide, Pablo, seems to know all about Corcovado and love his job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Abr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So many animals!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Took a day trip tour to La Sirena and saw so many animal, it was amazing! Monkeys (3 species), caïman, toucan, tapir, plenty of birds (even an humming bird in it's nest!)... Wow! Would of liked to camp in site but the new regulation forces you to have a guide to enter the parc and they can charge between 80$ and 100$ PER DAY (so staying overnight = 200$ only for the guide...).

Found a cheaper option doing a day tour in La Sirena and an overnight at Selva Casa Grande (+506 8528 6034 or +506 8415 4642) neat Drake Bay. Oldemar (spanish speaking only), the owner, welcomes you in his own house in the middle of the jungle (really!). I woke up there to the sound of the howler monkeys and had white-headed capuchins playing in the trees around during breakfast! It cost me 40$ for night, dinner, breakfast, swimming in the cascades and waterfalls, walk in the jungle and horseback riding (transportation).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing