We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home”
Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's no place like home”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was my first time traveling alone in a foreign country and the Luna Lodge was my last stop on my trip. I was welcomed as if i was family when I arrived. The Lodge itself was beautiful and I was truly in the middle of the jungle. I stayed in one of the luxury tents at the very top of the property with a view of the Pacific in the distance with the sound of waves crashing in the backround. Plan on rising early to the sound of howler monkeys if you stay in one of the tents. The meals included in the stay were delicious some the best food I've had in a long time. I had signed up for several tours with Corcavado hike my favorite. The guides for my hikes were very knowledgeable of the fauna and animals. I stayed 2 additional days which was well worth it and Lana arranged a flight for me back to San Jose. I left with a tear in my I feeling like I was leaving my family.

Room Tip: If your traveling solo or as a couple the tents are very nice. A bit of a hike from the lodge remebe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion, we appreciate your view point and you taking the time to comment. For me and my staff it is very important to have your opinion. From your comments we can grow and become better every day. We hope that we will be fortunate to have you as a repeat guest here at Luna Lodge. Remember, we are a huge family, and right now you are part of us.
Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    22
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
131
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place was incredibly beautiful and peaceful! Not close to the beach at all, but no matter-too hot for that. Great healthy food and the Yoga platform view is to die for!
Don't miss out on the massage of a lifetime. Swaying white curtains on a platform high in the rainforest. Literally watched toucans and hummingbirds fly over head while getting the best massage of my life!

Room Tip: If you have any health problems make sure you request a room near the lodge. Most of the bungalows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piano1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hot+Pool+Montain+Nature = Luna Lodge, correct??

Thank you for choosing Luna Lodge for your recent vacation to the OSA Peninsula in Costa Rica. The Luna Lodge family enjoyed sharing our “…piece of paradise…” with you and we sincerely hope that your experience with us here in our rainforest community will stay with you throughout the coming year.

Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our trip to Luna Lodge was one wonderful experience after the other. The minute we arrived Lana, the owner and builder, met us at the car with a welcome drink and the great service continued until we left three days later. Everything was on time and exactly as they said it would be. The gourmet and healthy food, breakfast, lunch, and dinner, was superb. Everyone is so friendly. Lana's mother is so knowledgeable and helpful as is all the staff especially Corcovado guide ,Gary. His knowledge of all the flora and fauna was outstanding. We took the hike through Corcovado and fished from kayaks in the lagoon at sunrise . Both unforgettable! My wife had the best massage and yoga session of her life. She was so impressed by these that at dinner that night she stood in the middle of the dining room and gave a speech to everyone about how wonderful it was.

We have lived in northern Costa Rica for seven years and had not been to the Osa before.
We will return to this beautiful paradise, Luna Lodge, soon.

Denio and Ewa

Room Tip: Bungalows are lower elevation. Tents are higher elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What a Wonderful World, oops!! What a Wonderful Luna....

Thank you very much for your opinion, we appreciate your view point and you taking the time to comment. For me and my staff it is very important to have your opinion. From your comments we can grow and become better every day. We hope that we will be fortunate to have you as a repeat guest here at Luna Lodge. Remember, we are a huge family, and right now you are part of us.
Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

With the plan of staying just two night we ended up extending our stay for another two nights. The location was excellent to spot a wildlife and the stuff service exceptional.

You get views on the tropical forest from your bungalows/tents and see Macaws fly aroud and may spot monkeys as the traverse the forest.

The food and the stuff was great and helpful. They all live there and act as a one big family. The price could have been lower, but taking in consideration the lodge is build as sustainable and environmentally friendly with a focus on supporting the local comunnity I take it is worth giving my money to people who really deserve it ;)

Room Tip: Bungalow #1 aka Honeymoon suite has a view of the valey on the tropical forest and is close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hey guys, the dolphins are asking when are you gonna come back...hahaha...
Thank you very much for your opinion, we appreciate your view point and you taking the time to comment. For me and my staff it is very important to have your opinion. From your comments we can grow and become better every day. We hope that we will be fortunate to have you as a repeat guest here at Luna Lodge. Remember, we are a huge family, and right now you are part of us.
Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Glacier, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Some friends recommended Luna Lodge so I looked forward to visiting. It is a truly lovely site high up at the end of the road. Set in the rain forest with a view of the ocean. My son spends a lot of time in Costa Rica so he was glad to visit a place he was unfamiliar with. I spent three weeks in Costa Rica and Luna Lodge was my favorite. We stayed way up in the tents which was great exercise for my new knee. We hiked to the waterfalls, watched the birds and monkeys, and took a trip to Corcovado Park with a great guide. The food was good, it's eco-friendly, and the pool is wonderful.

Room Tip: tents are a hike up, very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Luna Lodge for your recent vacation to the OSA Peninsula in Costa Rica. The Luna Lodge family enjoyed sharing our “…piece of paradise…” with you and we sincerely hope that your experience with us here in our rainforest community will stay with you throughout the coming year.

Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Gorgeous setting and nice birding! Delicious food and friendly staff. While the tent cabins are perfectly fine - simple with everything one needs,the hike up to them is not for the faint of heart: 150 steep steps.
Also, what was billed as "all day birding in Corcovado" was a 6 hour hike in 90 degree temperatures with 90% humidity. And not that many birds. Better birding right around the lodge itself.
We had the 3-day birding package and did not feel we were overcharged.

Room Tip: Tent cabins are great if you can make the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Beautiful Challenge he?? hahaha.

Thank you very much for your opinion, we appreciate your view point and you taking the time to comment. For me and my staff it is very important to have your opinion. From your comments we can grow and become better every day. We hope that we will be fortunate to have you as a repeat guest here at Luna Lodge. Remember, we are a huge family, and right now you are part of us.
Pease inside!
Lana and the Luna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have been all over Costa Rica and wanted to experience the Osa peninsula. Carate is probably the farthest point you can drive, and other than 3 or 4 lodges there is nothing there. I expected to see a lot more animals there and to experience a more secluded region. My wife and I booked two nights at Luna Lodge and three of the following nights at La Leona. The drive there was torturous to say the least and DON'T even think of coming with any vehicle other than a large 4 wheel drive!
You cross some rivers (6 or 7) and the way never ends. very long! Was it worth it? Not really. I haven't found any more animals at the Osa or Corcovado park than at other places, in fact even less, and we hiked a lot.
Luna has one nice deck at the lobby with a nice view but other than that there is nothing really there to see other than birds. You will get bored of the place after a day. My impression of the owner Lana is that she is all business! She will charge you for everything, nothing is included, not even breakfast. We paid for the early morning bird tour expecting the guide to take us on a hike? Instead we walked about 5 minutes to some wood deck with 20 other people. He just pointed out some birds and that was it, tour over.
The food was buffet style, nothing special though we did get charged restaurant prices.
If you still want to go all that way instead of enjoying so many much more beautiful parts of Costa Rica, than at least stay somewhere else. You can always go to Luna for lunch and take a walk around, it would be sufficient. Oh, and some of the rooms are so high up the hill, get ready for a hike! LOL, not easy or fun to have to climb up there every-time you want to get to your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna-Lodge, Propietario at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion. We know that Carate and the Osa Peninsula are not for everyone. Thank you! Lana from the Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
12.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
13.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
477 reviews
12.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Property: Luna Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing