We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO! See for Yourself!”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GO! See for Yourself!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife took me to the Lookout for my birthday in August. I've never been given a better gift. The location alone would be worth the trip but we got so much more! If you can enjoy warm and sunny weather, beautiful scenery, and wild animals at nearly every turn, this place is for you! If you don't need tourist trappings and shopping centers, this place is for you! If you enjoy great meals from great hosts in a gorgeous rustic (but very clean!) environment, this place is for you! We loved Carate and the Lookout so much that we went back for the holidays and had an AMAZING time! You need to see this place to believe it! I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in "the spa" twice. It's a great room with a terrific view. Open air, yet ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
136
273
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My daughter and I spent an entire week at the Lookout. It was better than we ever expected. We felt like we were living with the Swiss Family Robinson but we didn't have to do all the work. We saw and heard wildlife everyday from our room, from the main lodge, on our hikes and at the beach (macaws, toucans, 4 different species of monkeys, butterflies, frogs, and so many birds). It is so pristine and breathtaking. The food at the Lookout was delicious and they were so accomodating to our tastes. Every meal was beautifully prepared . We simply loved being there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Three weeks at Lookout Inn on Carate beach in Costa Rica. Could've used three months, to absorb all the beauty. Thanks to a great staff and my wonderful hosts, Terry and Katya. Good food, fun bar, the jungle and beach like paradise. Thanks for all, expect my return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Carate is a truly one of a kind and amazing place and this piece of property is simply spectacular. I worked on a sea turtle conservation project down the road about 8 years ago and since then have always wanted to come back to stay at Lookout because of the unbelievable scenery.

We finally had the opportunity to book a trip and I emailed Terry as per the instructions on the website. He was in the States but sent me an email back that never really confirmed pricing as I had asked...and then sent another email to tell me to hurry because space was filling up fast (very far from the truth as we were to soon discover.)

Upon our arrival, we were met by a super-sweet couple who told us that there was no way we could stay in the chicken coop that we had booked...as "chicken coop" was not just a cute name for it but was a true account of what the room was. Apparently, offering a budget room that was unfinished, unpainted, and uninhabitable was an acceptable business practice. Fortunately, there was another room available that was absolutely beautiful and they were happy to give us the upgrade.

We honestly had a great experience; going to sleep among the trees & monkeys and just doing our own thing during the day. The chef and his wife left shortly after our arrival and another cook was there to provide the meals. The food was okay but definitely not what we had paid for or expected. Luckily, we are not too picky.

Rich, who was left to supervise the place while Terry was away, turned out to be a great help and entertainer.

The whole place was full of half-completed construction projects and the pool was empty while we were there. There was no one for guided tours of any kind...Rich himself admitted to not have full knowledge of the wildlife in the area, as he had only been there 6 weeks. The worst part of our visit was simply witnessing the treatment of the workers. Employees were leaving left and right (or planning to leave) because of the treatment they were receiving. Please see my attached picture of the sign posted in multiple locations around the hotel. Of course tips are always appreciated, but to ask them of your guests by admitting that you don't pay your employees much if anything?? That didn't sit well with us.

Overall, beautiful location, unbelievable wildlife, and a chance to sleep in the jungle....be careful to ask for details of the room you're booking and the status of chef, pool, tours etc. before you come if those things are important to you! Also, take the Stairway to Heaven at your own risk~very slippery and missing rails & steps. Be sure to tip the staff as it is admitted and known that they are not paid what they deserve!

Room Tip: Do not even think about the chicken coop! Other rooms are open to the jungle, quite a unique experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxCR023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Well here is another guest that was here in the wet rain-eee season and in November after we have received over 290 inches of rain while katya and i where on vacation. We left our lodge in good hands ( we thought ) and it did not go to good for us and you. 1st we did not put signs up for tips or cheap pay i assume richard or chef chris did all that due to their unprofessional skills,attitude , jealousy, greed , hate we are not sure- these guys left in midstream and we have never heard from them again. The work crew which where only temps where here to repair the pool ,steps, stairs and rooms and get them in shape for the high season . by the way those guests do not receive a 20 -35 % discount green rate like the rain - eee season guests do. My reviews with trip advisor is all most perfect - this vacation we had was a total nightmare due to the poor management we thought where qualified so again we are sorry for your bad experience -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Lookout Inn is a wonderful lodge in an area as close to paradise as can be found in today's world. It is located along the beach in a remote part of the Osa Peninsula, where there are miles of beautiful beach backed by rainforest, and almost no one else. There are wonderful beach walks with scuttling crabs and flocks of pelicans soaring past. The lodge itself has spectacular birds, including macaws, hummingbirds, and toucans. On multiple occasions we were treated to close views of wildlife while at breakfast, including a couple species of monkeys. Our cabin overlooked the beach and afforded us beautiful sunset views. The owners, Terry and Katye create a fun, relaxed atmosphere, and after a few days there we felt like family. Despite the remoteness, the food is excellent, and they have a full bar. This is a truly special place, and we hope to return there some time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

really nice place.. nice ocean view.. no insects in the room and very clean. super breakfast.. house made bread with ham and cheese plate, eggs with bacon and rice, and also fresh fruit really fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick-Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were to stay at the Lodge for 3 nights, but left after the second night. The owner was on vacation and left the resort in the hands of a very nice, friendly couple who were trying to make the lodge work for the guest. Unfortunately, the lodge ran out of food. This is an all inclusive place and there was no place else to go to get food unless you drove back to town - 2 hours away by 4 wheel drive road. The chef was excellent with the complete meal we got the first night we arrived. Unfortunately, due to lack of ingredients and food the second night was one small bowl of soup - tasty but not enough, and cucumbers sliced with some onion in a vinegarette. That's it. Nothing more. My husband is 6'6" tall and this did not begin to fill him up after a day hike in the National Park and having just a peanut butter and jam sandwich with a pack of cookies that the staff sent with us on our hike.
The pool was empty, The "hot tub" was not heated and we did not have hot water during our stay. At one point we had no water.
Now the positive. We stayed in the Monkey Room. What a great adventure. We had humming birds come thru, macaws fly by and white faced monkeys in the trees. The bed was comfortable and it was clean. The lighting could be better so you went to bed early and got up early, which is not a problem for us. The staff that was there was very friendly, but had only been at the lodge for 4-6 weeks. The beach was a mess in front of the lodge but it was at the tail end of the rainy season. It was not a comfortable place to sit out and enjoy. I had the feeling the lodge should not have been opened and is normally closed but he decided to open early for our arrival, but I could be wrong. We were there Nov. 27 & 28th.
I will be contacting owner for part of our money back as we overpaid quite a bit for what we got.

Room Tip: Monkey room is a must. Bring a headlamp for night, Shower in the afternoon due to lack of hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn92069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Hello guests, I am terribly sorry things did not go so well for you. It did not go well for us either. My wife, Katya and I went to Florida for a family re-union and hired a couple to cook and house sit for our staff and guests. Three weeks before we flew away all seemed well. Chef Chris B. was confident he could handle the lodge and we felt comfortable to leave it in his hands. Our pantry and refrigerators were stocked with enough food for 80 guests, the bar stocked with spirits, wine and cases of beer, plenty for the few guests we had during this time. We are still trying to sort out what went wrong with the chef and his wife. They wrote us while we were still visiting in Florida that they had family issues in Africa and had to leave asap. This was unexpected news so we cut our trip short and returned to put things back to the perfect way the Lookout Inn is normally. We, came home to find a full pantry and bar, refrigerators full with food, and our two dogs fat and happy. So what happened?? Maybe too much rain and not enough sun, which can spoil vacations and change attitudes. Here is some funny news: the cook and wife stayed in Puerto Jimenez for days after leaving the Lookout Inn. They may be looking for a job or may be lost, who knows..
The rain-ee season in the rain forest is a beautiful thing But it rains and rains, it's cloudy, rivers are a mess, the water gets muddy, the swimming pool is dirty so we empty it and try to paint it for the high season if the sun shines to dry it - the beach gets ugly, rivers are high, some times no traffic flow for days -Lookout Inn is entirely off the grid. We rely on the sun alone to provide power for our 12 volt low amp LED lites, the fans & some showers - the rain fall for Oct & Nov. alone was 123 inches( 10 feet ) and it is still wet and cloudy here on the Osa. We have a great season booked with new guests and many return guests. The sun is working its way out and all will be good. Katya, our great staff, and I welcome you all --and we promise not to go on vacation again. Thank you, and for any one that had an issue with this past situation we are offering 2 free lodging nites here at the Lookout Inn.. thanks Terry Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
23.2 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing