We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lookout Inn Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Luna Lodge(Carate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bambu Resort(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
521
45
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
45
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstairway to heavenmonkey houseblue butterflyhis wifehappy hourscarlet macawsother guestscosta ricaosa peninsulatiki hutcorcovado national parkopen airmonkey roomsoupsfrog tourbeach bungalowgreat hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

...is what we call the fabulous folks who own and operate the inn and also the very interesting guests who make it down to Carate. Terry and Katya make sure you have a stimulating, relaxing, information-filled very fun time. Katya will take you on a marvelous, calm kayak ride across a stunning lagoon early in the a.m. where she will point out wildlife your eyes would miss. And, if you want a mani/pedi, Katya is a skilled beautician. Massage? Julie is hands on! If you hear, "Danta on the beach" or "Monkeys on the Deck", you can be sure Terry has spotted one of the endangered tapirs who visit or the cabo blanco monkeys scampering around. His knowledge of species and the area is astounding. More scarlet macaws than anywhere, and in Jan., we even saw the red eyed tree frog! Trip of a Lifetime:::Don't Miss It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadDog5x5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

hello mad-lar-- wonderful to see u2 again.. all is perfect here at the lookout inn 88'F sunny & hot -- monkeys and scarlet macaws all over the place as usual --- the chef//baker is cooking up a storm and as you know the buffet table is full of fresh salads-soups- breads - and all the other goodies -- katya and i are heading for the san fran area soon so get ready for the gang to hang wit ya.s -- thank u so much and GOD bless---

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I had the most relaxing vacation of my life! This place is nestled in between the rainforst and the beach which offers an amazing view of the ocean and incredible hikes into the rainforest. The owners are amazing, super friendly and instantly became part of our family. We went horseback riding with Katya who took us on a adventure, hiked to Corcavado National Park, lounged in the hamicks and listened to the waves all day and night. My 10 year old daughter had a blast helping with sea turtle conservation and finding a tapir napping in the jungle brush. This place is amazing but not for everyone, so if you can't part with your electionic and enjoy the splender of what the Osa has to offer than this place isn't for you. But if you are ready to relax and do a little glorified camping book your trip now!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay314819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

hello lindsay -- back home in the cold -- pack up and come on back to your new home at carate beach lookout inn-- its a hot one today --- we miss you and the lil one tooo - and that darn tapir has been back a few more times -- now he has found the pool and we had to build a fence and gate to keep him out -- this guy thinks its his bath tub-- and of course the white face monkeys still hang out at the banana station and those scarlet macaws are still all over the place toooooooooooooo- good luck with that wedding of yours in aug.. maybe katya and i will crash it -- see ya soon tell tom and suszzz we say hi-- thanks a million the lookout inn family -- costa rica.s home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Lookout Inn (having visited twice in 2010) and we are already planning a return trip as soon as we can! We first found Lookout Inn after returning from another resort on the other side of the Gulfe Dolce and seeing scarlet macaws in some of the trees around Puerto Jimenez. After researching the best options for viewing them we settled on Lookout Inn for our next Costa Rica trip and have just kept coming back ... it's that good!

Terry and Katya have created what must be the finest place on the planet to observe "flying rainbows" -- scarlet macaws! Lookout Inn is the closest quality lodge to the end of the road at Carate -- next to Corcovado National Park. It is not by chance that numerous internationally known wildlife photographers visit their place year after year -- including Roy Toft who runs a tour to Lookout Inn every year; and Nick Fucci who we met on our most recent trip. For those who try to photograph these magnificent birds by looking up at them in the trees or against the sky (seeing just a dark form against the bright background), you will be in for a real treat as you look down from the deck of Lookout Inn and see these birds displaying all their vibrant colors soaring below you through the beach almond trees.

For those who are not into birds ... how about treating yourself to capuchin monkey troups who put on a complete show at least twice a day?! Not to mention the chance of seeing Tapir, puma, coati, ... and the many colorful iguanas scampering over the grounds. The gardens are a wonderful place to wander and see humingbirds, tanagers, and butterflies in the day; and those colorful Costa Rican big-eyed tree frogs in the evening (during the "wetter" seasons). For the more adventurous, they offer the full range of tours including walks up the "stairway to heaven" (a long steep stairway to the top of the mountain); a waterfall trail, lagoon kayaking with birds and crocs, horseback riding, and many other options ... or simply kick back like us, sit on their deck and watch the humingbirds, macaws, and monkeys put on a show all around you. We were in for a particular surprise this year as Terry introduced us to a wild macaw (Herba) that started visiting Lookout Inn and spends mornings and evenings visiting guests at the lodge. He/She often flys in for an evening meal down the main walkway at waist level past guests on her way to munch on sunflower seeds and fruit. During the day He/She spends her time flying around with the other wild macaws ... but you can often pick her out at the top of a tree looking back at Lookout Inn.

Both Terry and Katya welcome you into their part of the world with open arms. There are never a lot of guests since there are a limited number of units, and everyone gets to know almost everyone else -- particularly during the included meals that are a real treat in themselves. We particularly like visiting with world travelers who appreciate nature and all its rewards over a great dinner. Terry can certainly find a follow-on career as a top chef -- and whips up some great local feasts that employ many of the fruits grown on their property. The feeling we get is like being part of a big Swiss-Robinson-like family.

Of the various units at Lookout Inn our personal favorites are Blue Butterfly and Monkey House. These are the 2 highest units on the side of the mountain and look out over a magnificent vista of black sand beach, surf, and tropical foliage. They also enjoy regular visits by capuchin monkeys who troup through the trees, look into your room, and jump from tree branch to tree branch to announce their arrival in the morning. You also get to observe regular fly-bys from scarlet macaws from the chairs or hammocks in your room.

Katya, as others have mentioned, devotes countless hours to turtle preservation work and enjoys taking guests down to the sea in the Winter months to watch the babies scamper from their nests to the surf. We saw this spectacle for the first time on our visit in January and it was a real treat! You have to wonder how those little turtles have the energy to burrow out of their nests through a foot or more of sand, then run 10 or 20 meters down to the sea.

Room Tip: Blue Butterfly and Monkey House are the highest and most remote of the units for those that want to feel close to nature.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

hello my wonderful milk people anne & steve -- nice book ya wrote about us.. thanks so much and every one out there trust them this place is beautiful - wonderful - wild - friendly - fun-loving- family style life- home away from home - off the grid - great views of the pacific ocean and finger tips away from the rain forest leaves-- the lodge sits 100 feet above the ocean - and about 200 feet to the black sand-- the place is full of SCARLET MACAWS & MONKEYS all day and a tapir that roams the area at nite -- so like my friends anna and steve--- come on down and enjoy the real rain forest of costa rica -- its still remote isolated and tropical -- perfect -- thanks again every one and love to ya all .. lookout inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Terry and his wife Kattia ROCK. This wonderful lodge is where you can really put all the stress behind, kick back and get in touch with your soul.
Macaws fly by in droves, and the pacific is full of dolphin, whales and every fish imaginable. Fresh fish, Ceviche and Mango Margaritas are the finest.
The closest lodge to the famed Corcovado National Park, you will see the true Costa Rica here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitanBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

hello back at your capt bill and you ROCK -- and you need to return and tip a few more mango margs. with us all at the lookout inn.. had rain the other nite so the migration of the holloween crabs is upon us -- thousands move back and forth to the beach at nite from the hills and then migrate back to the hills before the sun comes up- the beach has millions of holes in it from these lil critters this will go on for 2-3 weeks -- and you can not eat them a real bummer -- hope all is well in florida.. thanks so much for hanging with us... ter & katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My lifelong dream had always been to see wild macaws flying in the rainforest. My fiance' and I decided to elope and make this happen. The owners Terry and Katye, as well as the rest of the staff are some of the most amazing people I have ever met. They helped us plan and create a more perfect ceremony than I could have ever imagined!! And the Inn itself is more gorgeous and breathtaking than any of the pictures could possibly convey. Wild scarlet macaws fly all around the area of the inn, as well as monkeys, beautiful insects, and cute iguanas. The rooms are immaculately clean, the inn and grounds very well manicured and taken care of. Such a romantic place! Full bar avail and gourmet breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all included! The beach is just across the road from the inn so you can watch the sunset on the beach from a beautiful treetop height. Never in my life have I ever been to a more perfect place than the Lookout Inn. We will definitely be repeat guests!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuesday C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

hello tuesday--how is that new hubby of yours ??? tell him to write to me ok

well what can i say u2 where a blast and the lil romantic wedding was a hoot.. what about that rasta jamican geru that did the ceremony --where the heck did he come from ?? you 2 love birds need to come on back again and hang out longer bring the new family hope to see ya all soon.. love to u both with happy & many years of love and joy -- kat & ter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews