We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a heavenly place”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a heavenly place to spend holidays! We have never been at a place like this: the Lodge is a special place with a mixture of laid-back atmosphere and very well maintained houses, gardens, pool and tracks. The staff is so friendly and helpful. A perfect location, just near the beach and at the same time in the middle of trees and a beautiful garden, overlooking the dramatic hilly rainforest coastline. On the observation decks you can watch and hear the birds flying by or you can see monkeys and other animals.
The food is just excellent. Nowhere in Costa Rice we have been served with better food than here at the lodge. Scott will serve you great drinks with tropical fruit smoothies. At 6 am you can have coffee and scones before the breakfast will be served. Around noon you will receive a great lunch and dinner is served with a great choice of fantastic food.
It is easy to get to know other guests. Terry and Katya make you feel at home and Terry is a good value of entertainment! He looks very well for his guests and staff. If you have special needs and wishes, no problem.

Simply the best place to be in Costa Rica and certainly on the Osa peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchweizEveline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

hey guys thank you so much for a wonderful review -- sunny & perfect here on carate beach today and the monkeys are still hanging about.. and herba the scarlet macaw tooooo -- rains are beginning a bit now and the rain frogs are all over the garden.. -- thank you so much for visiting us ... terry and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Inn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

My new husband and I recently stayed here for two nights after hiking through Corcovado and it was such an amazing time. Of course we wish it was longer but we enjoyed every minute of it! From the moment we arrived all sweaty and tired, we were greeted with the best tasting beer and wonderful hosts. Terry, Katya and the staff make you feel so welcome. Our room,the swing-inn spa was AMAZING! We still dream about waking up on our swinging bed, watching the birds in the trees and enjoying the beautiful weather. The room was out of a movie.

Our full intention was to relax and we did. There is so much wildlife right around the hotel but we opted to just enjoy the pool, beach and of course our room. Our biggest delight was the wonderful, great tasting food and drinks. Everything your eat and drink is made fresh and with love. It was wonderful. We want wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RicaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

hey guys -- are ya still honey- mooning ?? if so come on back the SWING INN SPA is waiting for you .. 2 days was not enough eh>? the rains have started a lil bit and the rain frogs are all over the place the famous '' red eye tree frog '' maybe 300 of them.. soon the sea turtles will be up on carate beach laying eggs and Katya will need help protecting nests . hope to see ya all again here at the lookout inn.. thanks again ...terry katya and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Where should I start, we came to the OSA to see wildlife and just chill away from civilization, little did I know I would have almost two weeks with my adopted family, Terry, and Katya our hosts and the great staff, Scott, Burt, our guide Elias and the rest of great staff. Well I stayed at 3 different rooms each had its own character, I enjoyed them all, they were open and we could see the birds all around us. Since we stayed for almost two weeks we were able to make friends with many of the guests, Terry sets the stage for us to interact and enjoy each others company. I came to escape and escape I did. Within a short hiking distance we were able to see 4 types of monkeys, watch Scarlett Macaws mate, bird to our hearts delight and kayak on the lagoon nearby. We saw Boat Herons, Dacnis, Wood Storks, Roseate Spoonbills and many types of Tanagers just to name a few. We walked into the Corcavado, saw Monkeys, Anteaters, Trogans, The Flora and Fauna were magnificent, and lots of Blue Morphs.
Mar and Rob, had a great time took terrific photos and enjoyed ourselves. I am ready to come back. I miss you all.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, pick one, you cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robmatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

rob/mar you guys rock-- we are still talking about u-2 -- this couple was here so long we put them on the pay/role -- 2 weeks was still not enough don/t you agree rob ?? so for the traveling world 2 days here at the lookout inn is not alot of time and you will be very disappointed when you have to leave with out seeing it all -- and all we have -- this place is full of wild life -- beauty - a wonderful staff -- great food and excellent views .. -- thank you for hanging with us .. love to you .. terry katya and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Oh where to begin!
Our family arrived for a 10 night stay taking over the 2 Tiki Huts! They were beautiful ... clean and open to the jungle! That was so cool. We fell in love immediately. It is perfect for 2 couples as we shared the bathroom/shower area ... it felt like luxury camping.
We were greeted at the airport in Puerto Jimenez by taxi that was arranged by Terry. It was a fun ride in ... bumpy, dusty ... first thing we saw was a morpho butterfly! So pretty.
Once we got to Lookout Inn we met our hosts Terry and Katya ... They are so nice! The lovely Katya showed us to our Tiki huts and we settled in for the beginning of a vacation we will never, ever forget.
We met so many nice people during happy hour and at each meal. We shared stories of the day before and plans for the next day, etc. We shared tips on each adventure too ... like which animals to watch for. We began as strangers but felt like family by the time they departed ... and repeat with the new arrivals! All wonderful ... from many different places: France, Germany, different parts of the States and Canada ... one couple from Calgary were on their honeymoon!

Terry and Katya are wonderful hosts ... we were well fed and well advised on things to do at our leisure. The food was awesome! The beach was awesome! The pool ... awesome! Or I should say "MACAWESOME!" As Terry pointed out. Once you see the Scarlet Macaws flying overhead, making noise in the trees and meeting one very special bird named Herba! There is also a group of Capucin monkeys who drop by for some bananas, they really had us entertained! We also saw a Coati at the banana bar!

Near the end of our trip ... there were a couple of vacated rooms so Terry surprised us and moved us to the Swing-Spa Room and our son and his wife moved to the Beach Bungalow! They were awesome rooms. Ours had a bed suspended and 2 hammocks plus a small pool. I enjoyed laying in those hammocks watching hummingbirds flitting by ... right through the room! And listening to the parrots playing overhead. A big green iquana was also up one of the big trees nearby ... I felt like I was in my own bird's nest with the birds.
We got a lot of exercise ... lots of stairs ... no elevators or escalators in the jungle!
A Beautiful Place!

We miss you Terry & Katya ... Danny ... Herba! Thank you ... Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

hello kirk family -- what can i say -- we have great guests like you guys and it makes it so easy to become wonderful friends and have a marvy time while your here visiting us.. all of us thank you and miss you 4 -- the monkeys have been back two times a day for your camera action and bananana.s -- so hurry back they are getting a bit mean -- and macaw-some herba is still flying thru the lodge daily for a feeding.. -- all is great here at the lookout inn.. again we all thank you and wish you a fantastic summer in canada eh??? love to u all terry & katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lookout Inn in March. What an awesome way to end our month long Costa Rica trip enjoying the views, the birds and wildlife and of course the great staff. It was a quiet time at the Inn so Terry offered us the Blue Butterfly room to stay in. What a treat! We really didn't need to leave the room to enjoy the birds and wildlife as they were right in front of us. Lots of steps to go up and down but it was worth the effort as the views were fantastic. The food was plentiful and very tasty, something for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

thats right awsome staff and views and great re-- views tooooo thanks my friends -- and the food is still pleny-full -- we have 6 kilos of fresh YELLOW FIN TUNA flying in this morning and will be served at our all you can eat buffet bar tonight with 7 other fresh made items -- salads from the garden .. home made breads - soups - pies or cake - rice and veggies-- and of course a wonderful happy hour before this feast.. so every one pack your bags and come visit us -- thanks again terry katya n the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My son and I came to visit the Terry's place again in March 2013. This has become a tradition: I come almost every year to spend a few days, sometimes by myself, sometimes with one of my two sons (whoever is available to travel with me). It has always been great: Terry is a wonderful host who does everything for his guests to feel welcome, the atmosphere in the lodge is friendly and relaxing, the stuff has always been doing a great job. And of course, there are macaws, and monkeys, and the beach, and the park, and caimans in the lagoon and everything you would expect from the place where "the jungle meets the ocean". Looking forward to the next trip! Great job, Terry and Katya!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugHunter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

hey BUG HUNTER i thought you where a gold panner???? you spent the entire trip panning for gold and i never saw you lift a bug---- Dmitri always a pleasure seeing you and the guys here at the lookout inn -- we had a gold miner stop by 3 days ago trying to sell us a gold nugget -- i have no idea the value of this stuff any more but it was a nice rock.. so come on back and lets make millions ok?? -- thanks again and have a great year... terry & katya and of course our great team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt warmly welcomed here - more like staying with family than a hotel. Katya and Terry ensure that everyone has a personalized experience in a laid back atmosphere. I feel fortunate to have found such an special place. We stayed for about a week with a brief stay at the park in the middle of our visit. It truly felt like coming home when we returned.

The hotel is on a fabulous mountainside just across from the beach. The Tiki hut was amazing, with an open air view into the forest. I literally watched scarlet macaws from the bed each morning. We saw monkeys every day except one during our week there. On the property we saw white faced monkeys, coati, scarlet macaws, red eyed tree frog, iguana, cane toads, hermit crabs, halloween crabs, and toucans. We went horseback riding nearly every afternoon and saw all four types of monkeys on the trail near the hotel. Each of our rides ended with a great run on secluded beach into the sunset followed by a dip in the refreshing pool at the hotel. Next, we'd get a cold drink before dinner and hear about the adventures of the other guests. The food was delicious, with freshly picked fruits and vegetables grown on the property. The staff took care of our every need, going above and beyond on a daily basis while also providing great conversation. Scott ensured we were never thirsty, and also provided a spectacular kayaking tour of the lagoon. Julie provided us with some amazing massages not soon to be forgotten. Even the three dogs made us feel at home, we didn't make it past them without a good petting. The worst thing about our visit was saying goodbye to our new friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

hello karen and jackie.. guess what ?? the monkeys are all over the place this morning again- and i think they are looking for you 2 ladys..- and we also got .8 '' of rain last nite our 1st rains in over one month so now all the red eye tree frogs are out and 6 other types of rain frogs toooo all visiting our garden frog ponds.. and in a few more months the sea turtles will be arriving and laying eggs so jackie needs to return and help katya out to protect the babys ok???

every one here says hello and miss you -- thank you so much for visiting us here at the lookout inn -- love to you katya - terry & the team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.1 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: £46 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing