We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My family and I (wife and 19-year old daughter) stayed at the Look Out Inn in Carate on the Osa Peninsula from 18-22 Aug 06 and absolutely loved the place. Everything - and I really do mean everything - was perfect. You name it - the view, the food, the location, the staff, the inn itself - everything allowed you to relax, get away from the stresses of your life and simply drink everything in. The wildlife (especially the scarlet macaws) was simply amazing. We held a boa constrictor in our hands the very first morning of our arrival. Terry Conroy and his staff are true professionals, but they don't project that kind of air. Their desire is to welcome new friends instead of new guests and they absolutely succeed. For most of our stay at the Look Out Inn, we were his only friends, and so the service we received was total and complete. He set up offsite adventures for us - he even helped us look for frogs and spiders one evening! The sunset views from his deck are simply amazing and the time we were there was extremely well spent. My only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough. Little else during our subsequent 3 weeks in Costa Rica compared.

Oh ... and we were there during the "green season" (i.e. rainy season). It turned out to not be a problem at all. The rains were a nonplayer for us.

You really should try the Look Out Inn - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location, location, location. Beautiful and secluded.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't let the drive dissuade you from going. The payoff at the end of the road (The Look Out Inn) is absolutely worth every kilometer!
Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank lesandsunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
140
278
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Lookout Inn from March 21-24. We reserved their deluxe lodge room, but Terry talked us in to a cabin when we arrived. It was open on 3 sides, although they do have a couple of screened-in cabins. We are not campers, and generally stay in Marriotts, so it was a very different and great change for us. Mosquito netting was all we needed to keep from worrying about the few flying moths, and we could see the ocean and abundant wildlife laying in our bed and enjoy our "outdoor" shower (with walls). Privacy was surprisingly not a worry, since the plants and flowers screen the cabins. The most notable things about Lookout Inn to us were the beach, the huge number of Macaws and the great food. It was also a great value relative to the other 3 places we stayed. The beach and shaded hammocks drew us away from too much hiking, so we actually never made it to the park entrance. A local guide was taking guests on tours to the park. Monkeys and other mammals came right up to the lodge because it is surrounded by banana trees. There is one trail that goes straight up a steep hill behind the lodge to a waterfall. You can also get to the waterfall and other hikes (a night hike to a lagoon, Corcavado Park) via the road. Huge numbers of Macaws hang out in the pecan trees on the beach, and the sound and visual impact all day is extraordinary! Bring a movie-capable camera...we came back with great footage. The food was surprisingly good for a small inn, and the best we had on the trip. Terry is known as the master griller on the Osa, and he and his cooks provided three full meals a day with a beautiful ocean view. One night we had dinner guests from the organic farm down the road where the inn gets their fresh veggies and fruit (so good!). One couple drove down (from San Jose), and would have done anything to leave the car. Highly recommend flying to PJ. The hour and a half drive is enough, crossing running river beds every mile. It was the dry season, so not a problem. We combined our Osa visit with a few nights at Bosque del Cabo, and enjoyed both for their unique benefits. March is dry and very hot (although still not as hot and humid as Virginia in August!). It has not rained in two months. No need for any cool weather clothes. Terry also has boogie boards, kayaks and horses if you are looking for other activities.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

Just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and my husband and I particularly loved our too-short stay at the Lookout Inn.
Located on the fairly remote Osa Peninsula, the Inn is a beautiful residence sprawling up the hillside above a pristine beach where you are most unlikely to meet anyone but fellow inn guests, crabs, turtles and macaws.
Terry, Katya, Chelsea and all the other staff here are very welcoming, have lots of good advice for hiking, horse riding and exploring and the food, to which we were summoned by a call from a conch shell, was excellent.
We stayed in a tiki hut and I regard taking a hot shower in the open-to-the-forest bathroom at the inn as one of the best experiences of my life! Going to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing just at the foot of the hill, the night sounds of the jungle and the sounds of the purple and orange crabs making their long hike back up from the beach to the mountains, through the leaves under our hut will long stay with me as an experience from a dream.
We loved every moment of our stay, including an encounter with battling monkey species on a short walk just up the road from the Inn and a close-up sighting of the rare squirrel monkeys.
My advice for travellers to the inn would be to stay at least three or four nights, longer if you can, since it is quite a trek to get there. Also, I would recommend taking an internal flight to Puerto Jiminez rather than trying to drive. It is really not possible to imagine how bad the roads are or how exhausting it is to drive them until you've been there. It's a good twelve hours from San Jose if you drive, or about 40 minutes by air-taxi and then two hours by road from the airport if you decide to fly.
We cannot wait to return to this little corner of paradise and will certainly be staying longer next time.
Thank you everyone at the Inn for a stay we'll remember for a very long time.
Susanna and Greg
Portland, OR

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rosegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2006

We appreciated the warm hospitality extended by the owners and hosts, Terry and Katya, who were always available to answer questions and even joined us for cocktails during happy hour. Our favorite features of the property itself included the gorgeous views from the various decks (be sure to watch the sunset from the top two decks); the lush landscaping which was overflowing with tropical flowers, geckos, hummingbirds, and even monkeys; and easy access to a pristine beach that we often had all to ourselves. On a typical day we hiked for a few hours in the morning—nearby waterfall, lagoon, banana plantation—ate lunch at the Inn, then spent the rest of day in a hammock by the beach or parked on one of the lounge chairs on the sand. Last but not least, we really enjoyed all of our meals at the Lookout Inn, particularly the cozy candle lit dinners on the top deck, which always included fresh produce from the local organic farm and yummy desserts like banana crepes and ice cream. Our only constructive feedback would be that the beds and bedding are almost due for an upgrade (we stayed in a room in the main building). All in all, we had a great stay at the Lookout Inn.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank machagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 November 2005

Sometimes you see websites of places, with beautiful pictures and rave reviews, but you are sceptical... can it be true? Are they just showing the best bits? Well I can tell you that the Lookout Inn, next to the Corcovada National Park is BETTER than the website photos show it to be.

I stayed at Lookout Inn for 8 days.. arrived as a stranger and left as a family member. I was in a Tiki Room - an a-frame room with one wall open to the jungle and glimples of ocean & beach. It was remarkable. I had hummingbirds, butterflies and fireflies in my room. Iguanas, monkeys and those marvellous red macaws in the trees a few feet away. The website does not show how close that wonderful, wild beach is, nor does it reveal the constant sound of the surf. The forest is alive with sounds.

If that is not enough - the people at LookOut Inn are wonderful. Terry and Katya make perfect hosts - knowledgable, friendly and genuinely wanting to make your stay a good one. Their staff keep the place spotless and food is exceptional. I was astonished to have a full American thanksgiving feast during my visit - yes turkey, sweet potatoes with marshmallows, pumpkin pie and the works! You may feel like you are at the 'end of the world', but you certainly do not dine like you are.

I had some wonderful walks in the immediate area - you dont have to go far at all to see incredible sights. But I also had a walking day tour, with local Elios into Corcovada National Park. With his help, I saw many more birds and animals than I would have on my own.

The Osa Peninsula is a very special place on the planet. Remote, wild and a home to many endangered plants, animals and birds. The Lookout Inn is a perfect base to explore this extraordinary location.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
614 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing