We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and experience but pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Leona Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and experience but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

great experience "roughing it out" with no electricity and cold shower but we opted for a private bathroom so that was quite a luxury, outdoor showers, lots of hammocks on the grounds and great views of the ocean. Undecided if i should recommend this property, perhaps for a night en-route or returning from Sirena, but not really as a destination hotel.

Pros: the food by Pablo is incredible. the views are amazing, very near to Corcovado.Tent was cleaned every day. Close to a nice little river. No mosquitos in tent even though the velcro of the tent did not close properly. We saw baby turtles going to the ocean on the beach walk way back to Carate!

Cons: pricey, even in low season it was more than USD 200 for a tent. Only two tents were occupied so we rarely saw staff around in the afternoons. Velcro of tent especially to the bath area was always a bit damp and icky to touch. Very tough to get to with 2.5 hours on an incredibly bumpy colectivo bus and then 40 mins hiking on hot sand i had lots of bites on my feet and legs after the stay (about 50 small bites). Trail to Rio Madrigal is only so-so.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    34
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
117
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

One of the most unusual "hotel" experiences we have ever experienced. After having taken the Collectivo Bus (basically the back of a 4WD truck) on a bouncy 2.5 hour drive from Puerto Jimenez, then walked from Carate for 40 minutes to the lodge, we were delighted with the welcome at La Leona. Our beachfront tent was wonderful, with the most remarkable open air bathroom, including a shower head made from a coconut. The sound of the pounding Pacific waves was nature's music at its best, very relaxing. The absence of electricity meant we were treated to such things as a lamplighter each evening at dusk, and cold showers, which were most enjoyable for cooling off from the humidity. The lodge is perfectly located for exploring the Corcovado National Park, and Luis, our guide from the hotel, with whom we set off at 5am in the moonlight, was very knowledgeable. Although no choice in menu, the food was delicious and interesting. Of course the wildlife was amazing, including various kinds of monkeys, a couple of anteaters and snakes. The birdlife was excellent.

Room Tip: Even though the beach front rooms are more expensive, it is worth the extra money for the once in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

You are not "roughing it" when you stay here. The tents have real beds and a full bathroom with outdoor shower. The meals were excellently prepared by Chef Pablo (the singing chef) and the staff are very professional, friendly and helpful.
With only a ten minute walk on the beach to the entrance of Corcovado Park you can explore the coastal trails or continue on the Sirena Ranger Station.
Thanks to Joel, Luis, Pablo and staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

If you want to visit Corcovado National Park this is one of the best places to visit "as it is away from it all" The first experience was reaching the lodge, as you need to walk from Carate to the lodge along an isolated beach offering amazing views of the rain forest and the ocean for about 40 minutes. You do not need to carry your luggage as a cart pulled by a horse will take it! As soon you arrive, a refreshing fruit cocktail will welcome you! While seating on the bar, friendly Joel will explain all the do's and dont`s at La Leona. It`s such a beautiful place that you do not want to leave! The comfortable tent`s with open air showers facing the ocean was the best.... sleeping right by the beach with the sound of the waves at night was fantastic! The food was superb more than expected due to the remotness of this lodge. Want to congratulate Bolivar for the excellent art work - paintings, wood crafts, coconut fishes, statues, etc. that gives a special style. Also well kept nature trails! As only stayed 1 night, I will definetly return very soon! Felicidades!!!

Room Tip: Room #2 was the best or the honeymoon bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

By the last day I didnt want to leave. I'm not going to lie when I first got there I was like oh boy no electricity, sleeping in tents, I dont know how im going to make it. I got used to it after the first night. It's actually pretty amzaing sleeping right by the beach and hearing the waves at night. You can see the waves from the moonlight in the sky. The beds were surprising very comfortable. The wildlife was probably the best thing about the lodge. I love animals and seeing animals in their habitat and you definitely see alot at the lodge. It is right next to the Corcavado park, the only place to stay within walking distance to the park btw. On the trails in the park we saw even more wildlife. I took my dad who also enjoyed it all.
Tha staff was so amazing also. They are very helpful and want to make sure you enjoy your time there. They showed us pictures of the animals they have seen at the lodge and have books there with all the animals if you want to read about them. They also have an awesome artist there named Gaston. He is an older man who makes all kinds of carvings from trees of snakes and cats and ppl and so much more. The food was very good and plentiful, we had brwakfast lunch and dinner included in our trip package. They keep the place very clean. I wish I had more time there. All in all it was a paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jscho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

What a beautiful place. Everything about la Leona was even better than we anticipated. The journey in, the remoteness, amazing wildlife, friendly staff, lovely food and the ever present Pacific Ocean all made for a wonderful stay. We visited in March 2012 for 5 nights and wished we’d had longer. Fantastic walks into the Corcovado National Park with Louis, our friendly informative guide, helping us spot and explain animals, insects and plants. Then we went on our own using Louis’s knowledge. Swimming in the Madrigal was magical! Saw so much wildlife!
Our luggage was taken down the beach by pony and cart – Pinto the pony was obviously loved as she looked contented and was sociable. Joel was very kind and went out of his way to arrange things. Paul (the chef) cooked lovely wholesome meals and was also very entertaining with his guitar!

Room Tip: room with its own open air shower - fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-and-R29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica and for 3 nights we stayed at La Leona eco Lodge in one of their tents. We were right on the ocean, the food was very good, we listened to the roar of the waves every night, saw tapir, lots of monkeys, birds, etc. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. The road going in was an adventure in itself and then the walk on the beach to the Lodge was fun. We loved the horse and cart bringing our luggage.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping you might ask for a room further away from the ocean, the roar from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl75672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.5 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
11.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Property: La Leona Eco Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Leona Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing