We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place to stay”
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Leona Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We only stayed at La Leona Lodge overnight as we were hiking to La Sirena but definitely want to go back for a longer stay.
It is one of the most stunning places we've visited. The elevated tented cabins are situated only meters from the ocean and all night long you can hear the crashing waves from your room.

While it's an incredibly romantic spot, the single beds don't allow for much romance and one needs to be prepared with flashlights since there is no electricity. It's certainly not for the person who wants to be pampered but we found it to be a wonderful little haven after walking along the beach from Carate to begin the hike.

If you stay here, do not go into the ocean as the waves are large and the riptides incredibly powerful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

The location is right beside Corcovado Park, making treks into the forest so easy and provides guests with ample opportunity for wildlife spotting. The view from our tent was all ocean, and we loved falling asleep to waves every night. The staff, especially Margoth, was always smiling and accommodating. My only complaint is that when it came to meals, the kitchen staff did not seem to communicate to one another re: my food allergies, and I had several people bringing me things I could not eat that I had to send back each time. We were told that being allergic to gluten and dairy would not be a problem and ultimately it wasn't...but I hated having to turn away plate after plate at each meal. This is a very specific complaint, and ultimately did not effect my experience at this wonderful gem of a place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACCoop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My wife and I spent 4 nights at La Leona Lodge. We had a front row with bath tent, totally worth the extra. We saw numerous macaws from as close as 3 meters, monkeys, dolphins. We relocated a hawcksbill turtle nest to near the ranger station with Adrianand Carlos. Also we enjoyed doing nothing for hours on. The food is great and plentiful, the staff very attentionate. If you're hiking to Sirena from Leona, this is the place to stay. All ssunsets are more beautyfull than the previous

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brokenshoelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Leona Lodge Tent Camp in February 2009 and we have nothing but great things to say about our stay there.

SERVICE: The service was top-notch. The staff are very friendly. They will accomodate your meal preferences if there is anything you can't eat (fish, etc). They have a safe to keep your valuables for you if you wish. They will set up tours into Corcovado National Park, and our guide was very knowledgable and friendly.

ROOM: The tent was extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend getting the beach front (front row) cabin with the private, open-air bathroom. The accommodations were great, and the view was stunning. The sound of the waves was very relaxing.

LOCATION: Any of the places you'll stay near Corcovado National Park will be difficult to get to. Part of the allure of the area is how remote it is. Our stay was definitely worth the trip to get there. If you are driving, the section of the road from Puerto Jimenez to Carate can be about an hour or two and the dirt roads are steep. 4 wheel drive is needed. From Carate you will walk for 30 minutes on the beach to get to the tent camp, so travel light or plan your arrival and departure with the horse cart to shuttle your luggage.

AMENITIES: There are hammocks and lounge chairs provided along the beach, and the tents have very comfortable porches and chairs for sitting and enjoying the view. Towels and sheets are provided. Free beverages are available all day long: Juice, Water, Coffee, Tea. You can purchase Cokes, Beer or Wine by the can/glass. They have a selection of board games and card games and a book exchange. They also have laminated guide sheets that identify wildflife that you might see in the area. La Leona has a private reserve and their own trails that you can hike/explore.

FOOD: Get the three meals a day plan. There really isn't any other place to get food. The meals were fantastic - some of the best we had on our 10 day trip in Costa Rica. Delicious, and definitely worth the price. They serve meals community-style in one main building there. They make the same meal for everyone (it is not a menu) but can make changes if there is something you can't eat. The food was absolutely delicious and the portions generous!

NOTES: I would recommend timing your arrival with the horse cart that transports luggage to and from Carate and the Lodge. I would also recommend traveling light. Bring flashlights, as there is no electricity in the tents. The staff light candles in the tents and along the paths when the sun goes down, and the candles usually last until after dinner. Get the 3 meals per day plan. I would recommend paying extra to get the beach front, private bathroom tents. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TtexTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This place is so beautiful! I loved loved sleeping on the beach in such a remote location. You really get lost here. The sunsets are just breathtaking...and the stars- wow.

The food was really great- we had one fish dinner that was probably one of my top dinners the whole trip.

We were a bit disappointed that we couldn't get more into the park. The path that they take you on for the full day hike is literally just along the ocean, so there is no chance to really get into the park. You have to hike all the way to Sierna station to really see the interior of the park - I wished we had done that instead. Although it was nice to stay in the lap of luxury at La Leona! The tent cabins are enclosed, with private bathrooms- which was a real treat.

If you're staying here, make sure you plan your walk there for either the morning or the evening. Getting to La Leona involves a 45 min walk along the beach...in the hot sun. If you call them ahead of time, or you get there with a scheduled drop, they will send a horse that will take your bags. I highly recommend doing that- it's a very long and hot walk...don't do it mid day.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytraveler1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Walter and Adrian Morales, the owners of the place, were incredible hosts. They treated us like royalty, they helped us find a great guide over there (his name is Neyer, thanks to him we saw many animals we wouldn't have noticed by ourselves, you can contact him at [--]). The lodge is beautiful, clean, close to the sea, the service is great and the food too. While your there, you might even get to see the tapir INSIDE the dining room looking for bananas!!! Located a few yards from Corcovado tent camp, an american-owned facility, this place is actually runed by local Ticos and is much less expensive than their neighboors and yet they offer the same services.We had a great time there and we recomand this place to everyone who loves nature.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank durocherlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Overall positive experience at La Leona Ecolodge with some minor disappointments.

If you want to get off the beaten path, away from tourists, away from PEOPLE! and enjoy unspoiled nature, this is the place for you.

When flying from SJO to PJ, take into account that it will take at least 2 -1/2 hours to get to La Leona from PJ. There is a group van to Carate once a day, but we arrived late, and so we paid for an individual driver (about $60 u.s., arranged in PJ). We had to wait for a 2nd plane with one of our backpacks, so we did not leave P.J. until about 4, arriving Carate around 6, then walking the beach in the dark. This was mostly ok, but we did not have our flashlights unpacked, so we walked by moonlight . A guide with a horse and cart met us at Carate to help with bags. (Staff and driver have two-way radio.)

The lodge is solar-powered except for a generator for the freezer. Paths are lit by candlelight each night. Everything is recycled. There is plumbing. The tents were very comfortable, but it was 40 C (100 F) in April, so we were REALLY hot. We had a private bath, which was nice, but still had to wear shoes due to ants and lizards. The shared baths were not bad at all, but I wouldn't want to go out there at night.

Due to it being off season (April 12) there were no guides or kayaking as we had hoped. I was told I was supposed to have arranged that before leaving P.J.

The heat was so oppressive I was seriously concerned about heat exhaustion in myself or my 12 year old son. Tried to hike in Corvocado National Park (bring exact change for entrance fee), but it was too hot. Spent the rest of the day in the small aboveground pool. Saw macaws, monkeys, coati, plenty of spiders and lizards and crabs.

Not much for kids to do--my son was intimidated by the wildlife, afraid of the mountain crabs that populated the beach, so he mainly hung around camp. Camp Owner Adrian was extremely kind to try to befriend my son and encourage him to explore a little more. He took us on a brief night hike on the beach to see phosphorescent plankton and shrimp. Oh, the stars!!! You definitely had the sense that you were off the beaten track and seeing untouched parts of C.R.

I would recommend more books and a few more board games--maybe in different languages--most were in German. Maps of C.R. and Corvocado National Park would be nice. There are about 50 hammocks at this lodge, two for every guest I'd say. I enjoyed swinging in the shade and reading a paperback I found at the lodge.

Guests were ecclectic-photographers from Italy, family with infant from Germany, school teachers from Rhode Island, journalist from Costa Rica.

The food was excellent- cash bar. Water is fresh mountain water, it tasted fine, but I developed symptoms for the first time even after 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Hard to say if it was the water or the heat.

The highlight of the trip was renting a horse and riding the beach at sunset. Totally alone, breathtaking views.

11  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
21.0 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
14.3 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
620 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Leona Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing