We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Adventurous Spirit- Stunning location, wonderful management.”
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Leona Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

La Leona Lodge is a 30 minute walk or horse-shuttle ride from Carate. It's the very last establishment, (besides the park reservation shack/basically-free camping spot) the very last anything you will see besides scarlet macaws, dolphins and howler monkeys for a very very long time. It's located right on the gorgeous beach, albeit one that is dangerous to swim in due to strong rip currents.

The meals are very good; they are also large, because they're served to backpackers coming off of multi-day treks in the rainforest. The cocktails are out of this world!

The owners are sweet, friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are very clean and functional.

The rooms are mostly little "tent cabinas". Individual screened-in little rooms with just a bed & bath towel, and outside a private, wooden front porch. There are no doors that lock, you can leave valuables in the safe at the front check-in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlackBearExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

la leona is a unique experience --hikes are great with lots of wild life and knowlegable guides--camp style accomodation and meals makes it easy for sharing experiences and socializing--our only complaint besides hot and humid--was the unfair billing which was correct in american dollars and then changed to colones for visa at too high a rate--made a difference of 100 dollars on the billing when converted back!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

La Leona Lodge is one of the prettiest places on the planet. It is truly paradise. The tents are very nice. Some have attached bathrooms. Your view from the tent is the big surf of the Pacific Ocean. The staff treats you like one of the family. They understand customer service. The food is magnificent. We brought fresh fish, that we caught, and they made several magnificent meals from our fish. We were surrounded by wildlife. We made several hikes into Corcovado. Wildlife was everywhere. Be sure to take a guide. It can be dangerous. One evening we had a nice rain. It brought out the famous Halloween Crabs. Very Cool.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

La Leona was one of the highlights on our Costa Rica / Panama trip. The accommodations are very quaint: bug-proof tents complete with an outdoor ensuite with a coconut shower head. The food was the best we had in Costa Rica. The hiking was amongst the most productive in terms of the number of interesting animals we saw. The only downside was the heat and humidity. We were travelling with another couple who didn't get any sleep the first night which made the next day difficult for them. Don't underestimate how humid it can get. We have traveled the world including the Pantanal, Khao Sok NP and the Mekong River - all very humid but none as humid as Corcovado during our stay.

The only negative was the rip-off computer charge. We were advised by the staff in Jimminez to leave our laptop behind because internet was available at the camp - Sure if yoru willling to pay $10 for 30 minutes! Make sure you bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

A must if you are going to visit Corcovado National Park since it is the closest lodge to the entrance!( only a five minute walk down the beach)! The tents are very nice, but I would opt for one with an ensuite bathroom(it gets a annoying at night if you have to walk to the communal bathroom tent. The staff at this lodge are beyond lovely, and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable( a friend of mine had a terrible headache and we had no asprin, the staff had none and went all the way to another lodge to get some just for her) Even though there is no electricity in the main tents( they light the place with candles every night, very beautiful!), they have electricity in the main lodge and power outlets and internet you can use. Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this lodge to any one looking for a nice friendly no thrills place to sleep while exploring Corcovado National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrk1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I was introduced to this place last year by my future husband (I actually had met him a few days before, he's a tico!) and I was floored. I knew I would be back, and I knew if I married this man, I would HAVE to have the wedding there.
We were married in May with a group of about 12. The landscaping and decor looked PHENOMENAL. Their food is amazing....they made me a last-minute chocolate cake out of their own ingredients and it was the best cake I'd ever had! I'm not one to exaggerate, and I am a chocolate fiend.
They had a delicious variety of food for the wedding dinner also! They went above and beyond to accommodate us, making awesome decorations without being asked and even a trellis out of flowers and bamboo! They left us incense, some slippers, extra flowers and other decorations in our cabin for when we returned...we didn't have to go anywhere for a honeymoon :)
Scarlet macaws flew overhead during the ceremony....a butterfly flitted around...of course our music was the roar of the ocean....it was so peaceful and perfect.
Go here to get away from the tourists (really, it's very isolated, which I love) and find a piece of heaven. Explore the "most biologically diverse place in the world", which is a 5 minute walk away, Corcovado National Park. We were the first wedding there and as soon as the photos go up on their website, I'm sure not the last!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonoraryTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stayed 4 nights at La Leona Eco Lodge, and absolutely loved it. My husband had seen it from the beach, on an earlier trip, and just had to come back.

Yes, it's a 45 minutes hot walk on the beach from the nearest road - but that's what keeps it unspoilt, so as long as you're prepared for it (suncream, hat, arrange horse cart to pick up your luggage) it's a manageable adventure. This place is all about walking anyway; if you can't face 45 minutes on the beach, why go? Enjoy the colourful, huge scarlet macaws nesting in the trees - this highly endangered species seems to be everywhere here...

The tents are spacious & clean - at least once a day, the sand soon finds a way in again. Beds are not overly comfortable, due to a plastic underlay, which get sticky in the humid heat. Open air bathrooms all have a little garden area, design varies, some are stunning, others just spacious and functional.

Hammocks are everywhere, and perfect for lazing, wathcin the pelicans fish and listening to the crashing surf. A volume control would have been nice at times... No boats can cut through these fantastically powerful waves, even with no wind they must be 8-9 metres high - most impressive surf I've ever seen, and not really for swimming, as such, more just for dipping. Saw a (mad) surfer attempt to get out far enough to ride in, but after half an hour he had to give up - at least he was lucky enough to get in alive!

Meals are delicious, although we would have liked a few sweet treats in between...

My husband, in particular, went on many strenuous walks with Bolivar, one of the guides - a very friendly chap, who knew where and how to spot interesting animals such as ant eaters. He also took us on some family trips, and an interesting night walk, mainly along the beach (moon lit!) where we saw two tapirs munching banana plants, after having spotted their footprints in the sand - they would use a size 6 shoe, in width!!!

Loved the way tourist hikers dress, in walking boots, hats etc, all suncreamed up and bringing litres of water; whereas the local guideswear flip flops (or bare feet) and bring one small waterbottle for refilling. Oh, yes, and the indispensable headlamp.

Apart from the path along the coast to Sirena, there are a few local paths: We tried teh Sendero path up along the river, and were lucky enough to study a beautiful tayra for quite some time.

Varied vegetation, some huge and most impressive, mixed with patches af banana plants (at the old mines) and fabulous, deserted beaches. Extremely few people, thanks to the lack of roads anywhere - but an abundance of wildlife.

Our son loved swimming in the river nearby, with the ranger's boys. Sometimes it's full of debris from the forest, but that didn't worry them. The resident biologists and staff play beach volley every afternoon at sunset, and everyone can take part - it's a friendly place.

Perfect place for upmarket, romantic backpackers.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billeharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
14.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
558 reviews
3.4 mi away
LagunaVista Villas
LagunaVista Villas
#4 of 6 in Carate
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: £85 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Leona Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing