We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing....”
Review of La Leona Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Leona Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Very comfortable tents. Great ocean views. Fun to walk the 45 min. to the lodge, along a black sand beach. Very close to the national park entrance. Pleasant helpful staff. Excellent food, creatively prepared. They were attentive to special diet requests, e.g. vegetarian, no wheat, etc. Another thing I liked was that they didn't push the guests to book tours, leaving us to figure it out on our own but to get assistance if we wished.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2011

La Leona is for the traveler that wants to get away from it all. You drive two hours from the nearest main town to the end of a bumpy, dirt road, then hike 30 minutes into the lodge. Everything there is brought in by horse and cart - so it's pretty amazing to see what they have to offer.
It is not fancy; but you are on the border of the most magnificent national park in Costa Rica. Imagine getting up in the morning, having them serve you breakfast, then you get a sack lunch (optional) and take in with you into the park, hiking all day with animals all around. Yes it is hot - you are in the tropics! But you get back to the lodge and can have a cold beer; not a bad deal!
The cabins are clean, some have baths, others share. Know what you want and reserve that! The cabins right on the water are great, but the surf is strong and the waves are loud. If you are a light sleeper, reserve a cabin up the hill in the jungle, where you'll have monkeys to keep you company.
Dinner is fun, as you meet people from all over the world and compare notes from each day. The meals are basic but good - and there is always juice and good Costa Rican coffee available.
This is a place for people who love the outdoors. You can't get a better location, the the folks at La Leona work hard to make their guests comfortable in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UtahVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed here because they talked up their eco-conscientious practices on the web page, as well as a 3-meals a day package. However, when we got there, we saw it was more of a marketing strategy. Disposable plastic straws in the drinks and the remnants of their New Year's fireworks show stayed on the beach for days. The food was alright, but meals were usually served a half hour to an hour later than scheduled (sometimes we didn't get dinner until 8pm) and you were served a plate, not buffet style, so some of our fellow travelers with larger appetites were left hungry.
The tents were clean, but they only advertise the ones with the best views on the web page, and we were disappointed by what we got, we told them ahead of time we were a couple on our honeymoon and ended up with a tent with 4 twin beds up in the woods.
The bar was alright, $4 dollars for a Pilsen or Imperial, and some nights it stays open late and others it randomly closes at 9. High speed internet is $10 for a half hour.
THERE IS NO ELECTRICITY IN THE TENTS AND IT'S SUPER HUMID ALL THE TIME. No fans, no lights. So prepare to sweat your butt off, and bring a camping lantern and some headlamps because it's DARK by 6:30.
The location is out of this world, you walk for about 10 minutes and you're at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, but for the price, I think you could get better service somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nomadicmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The location is unrivaled. the closest place to Corcovado national Park. The rooms are clean, and the food is surprisingly good. It is not expensive when ou think how much they go through to bring it to such a remote location.
The staff was very friendly, and helpful. If you go on a hike with Bolivar (which we recommend) tell him the family that left the yellow raincoat say hello.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfdbigopu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at La Leona for one night as we were treking into the park onto Sirena the next day. This was definately the best option as it was a truly stunning location with breathtaking views and amazing wildlife. We had a family of coati's in the tree right by our tent! The accomodation is really good and spacious and really clean. We had a room with a shared bathroom which had a seaview! Amazin going to sleep with the sound of the sea. Best sleep we have had in ages. The service was excellent and staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was particularly nice considering the remote position. Our guide Erick Ramirez Binns met us there and we then hiked onto Sirena. I enjoyed the fact we were met at Carate by a horse and cart which took our bags to the lodge leaving us to wander bare foot at our leisure to the lodge. Was very grateful to our guide for suggesting such an amazin place. He was also a fantastic guide and would highly recommend him.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

La Leona Eco Lodge is by far one of the most beautiful place to stay around Costa Rica, the service, the friendly and always helpful staff, the amazing food and the lodge's location - right by the ocean - are just the perfect combination of elements that had always provide us and our clients unforgettable memories....Keep up the good work!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank costaricadetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Walking 40 minutes on the beach during morning low tide by the Pacific Ocean seemed surreal enough. La Leona Lodge was like an oasis and we were greeted by the friendly owner Adrian and staff, who all quickly and efficiently provided mango drinks and a huge breakfast. We immediately went on a five hour nature hike with Bolivar who was an amazing guide as we spotted different mammals, birds, reptiles, fish, etc. We saw the endangered tapir lazily napping between the trees. While it was exciting to see monkeys and scarlet macaws the highlight of our entire Costa Rica trip was running through the forest, as the monkeys were screaming, to see a puma resting proudly on its paws (Bolivar keeping us a safe distance away). Bolivar also led the sunrise hike along the beach and gold mining site in Carate. He is a certified guide, one of 36 in the Osa Peninsula region, who is very experienced, knowledgeable and genuine. On our own we hiked the private La Leona trail by the Rio Madrigal, which was fun. Swimming in the ocean isn't possible because of the riptides and rocks, but then there is a pristine quality to the beach as the waves roll and crash ashore with hardly a soul in sight.

Situated right on the beach La Leona Lodge is a five minute walk from the entrance of Corcovado National Park. Adrian and his staff were so gracious, friendly and considerate. They were very responsive to arrival and departure logistics, which is crucial when traveling to such a remote location. The tents were comfortable (bring mosquito netting and flashlights) with quaint decorative touches, such as a coconut head shower and painted fish made of coconuts and sticks. We spent hours on the hammocks overlooking the ocean right outside the tents. The meals were delicious and plentiful--many compliments to the kitchen staff. You get the sense that it is a family owned lodge, and the staff interacts like a happy family unit, working together interchangeably.

La Leona Lodge is an experience of a lifetime in a beautiful, remote location for those with a sense of adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChanUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
14 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
14 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
561 reviews
3.4 mi away
LagunaVista Villas
LagunaVista Villas
#4 of 6 in Carate
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Leona Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Leona Eco Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 2388, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Leona Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the entrance of Corcovado National Park, on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, nestled in the most beautiful, primary rainforest and surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Come and see for yourself what paradise looks like, and enjoy all the attention and accommodations of a lavish stay in the wild! Prepare yourself to embark on the journey of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Leona Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Leona Eco Hotel Corcovado National Park
La Leona Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing