We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning jungle paradise marred by only one thing...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corcovado National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Andalucia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning jungle paradise marred by only one thing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is a truly amazing and very special place, with beautiful, luxurious private bungalows set in glorious gardens backing right onto the wild forest. Bird life was incredible, capuchin and howler monkeys right there outside your window and cute coati-mundies snuffling around the grounds. We saw both two and three-toed sloths, iguanas and crocodiles and the most amazing fleishman's glass frog on our hike through the Corcovado. Wow - Jacob has good eyes! The pools and other facilities were top notch, the staff and guides delightful and Stephen, the manager, was friendly, helpful and efficient (if a bit harassed, as he rushed between the office and bar - he really needs a barman!). Dinner was served in a cathedral-like room, a bit odd as you felt you were at a service but the food was good. The bar restaurant was much nicer and it would be good if this was used more frequently.
Our only problem was that the people you arrived on the boat with then formed part of your group for the duration. Our group included a Canadian couple with two appallingly behaved, rude and badly mannered boys, over which they showed no inclination to exert control. Poor Jacob really struggled with them on our hike as they kept darting off and pushing past us on narrow trails. At the waterfall one raced off, fell and injured himself. The mother went after him and hurt her ankle on the slippery rocks. The French couple with their very well behaved boy were equally appalled. As we had no desire to spend another day with them, we sacrificed the planned and paid-for snorkelling trip the next day and paid extra for a private guide for another hike. Fortunately, another guide Leo was free and he was fantastic. When we explained why we wanted to do this, Stephen was very accommodating and sympathetic. Obviously he cannot legislate for guests but if it were me, I would have offered Leo's services for free as a gesture of goodwill...
After our hike with Leo, we went down the hill to explore the private beach - we had it to ourselves and it was a perfect little paradise, with more coati-mundis mooching around and howler monkeys in the trees right above. When the latter started chucking stuff at us we had to take shelter, but what a 'complaint' to have!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
I'm soory that these guests stay was less than perfect due to some children that were in the group that they arrived with. I'm glad they were able to escape with another guide and have a perfect day. I do feel bad that they were charged extra for the guides services considering the circumstances and will talk to Steven, the resident manager, about that and clear up any doubts about our policy. Steven Lill owner/founder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    52
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
72
146
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to Casa Corcovado mainly for hiking and birding. Completely enjoyed the stay. The food was the best! This hotel is paradise found in the most peaceful of settings!
I want to take my family back one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piano1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
I do hope that you come back and stay with your family. Glad that you had a good stay, all the best. Steven Lill owner/founder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Our group of 16 birdwatchers and photographers spent three glorious days exploring the grounds and nearby Corcovado National Park. The staff could not have been more accommodating, the food was delicious and plentiful and the guides were knowledgeable, friendly and super birders. Special thanks to Stephen, the manager, for his efficient and caring response to one of our group that needed some medical attention. Our guides, Jacob and Mauricio were proficient as well as just great people and super helpful to some of the less-experienced in the group. Thanks to Leo for stopping to find the red-footed boobies - a life bird for most! The rooms were well-appointed, comfortable and clean and beautifully located throughout the property. Waking up to the sounds of howler monkeys was a special treat! If you just want to relax, the pools and beach were perfect and evening cocktails on the sunset "deck" should not be missed! Thank you to everyone who made our stay so wonderful!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
I'm glad that this group had a great time with us at Casa Corcovado. I do think that it is an incredible place for Birders and photographers. Thank you for your nice comments. Steven Lill owner/founder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I were seeking to celebrate his birthday in a lodge which offered peace as well as a good opportunity to photograph wildlife. The boat trip to the lodge relaxing yet there were only a few stops made to quickly view the mangrove swamps on our way to the lodge. We were not informed that the boat landing would require wading in the water over rocks. Thus, we waded barefoot holding expensive camera equipment wrapped in plastic bags. It was very uncomfortable on our feet and had we been advised about the landing we would have brought appropriate footwear.

One on shore we were transported via a wagon pulled by a large tractor up the steep hill to the lodge. The beach and jungle in transit were lovely. We were then served the a very nice lunch in the thatched roof bar area and afterward escorted to our room. The casita was stunning and there were many nice touches like fresh flower blossoms and towels formed into "animal" art in the bathroom. However, the shower pressure and amount of hot water was sorely lacking. The lodge is very eco-minded and so are we, but the "bucket" showers in African camps provide a more adequate water supply than Casa Corcovado.

Breakfasts were very good with nice choices and the most wonderful Costa Rican fruit. Our arrival lunch was the best with broiled salmon, salad and soup. However, other lunches were just OK and the "picnic" lunch on the beach was only fair with ordinary side salads, pressed ham sandwich meat and soft drinks and fruit. Dinners were also fair to good but nothing extraordinary and the wine list was overpriced for mediocre selections. Mixed drinks were very weak so beer was the best choice since the prices were reasonable. However, the wait staff was always nice and friendly which is always a plus.

The other real plus was the "adult" pool situated in an area well below the restaurant area and separated by a long flight of stairs. It was outstanding to be refreshed by the unheated water after a long hike in the hot, humid climate of Corcovado.

We were most disappointed by the lack of solitude and the amount and frequency of wildlife observed. We did see macaws and other birds yet mostly at a distance often too far even for our 400mm lenses to capture. Guided trips with others, while pleasant, were sure to disturb mammals and therefore only the omnipresent coatis were observed. My husband and I were able to finally hear the jungle by hiking on the trails by the lodge alone which was a treat. Probably most visitors would be quite pleased with the guided hikes and wildlife. However, avid wildlife photographers and those who seek the experience of nature without the chatter of people will likely be disappointed in Casa Corcovado as well as other lodges in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had the "honeymoon suite" with a hammock inside the porch area. However, we would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoreenReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I'm sorry that these guests were not completely happy with thier stay with us. I admit that the trip in from Sierpe, through the mangroves is less than an in-depth experience. We do offer a very nice ''Mangrove Tour'', with or without kayaking, for those who really want to get a good look at the mangrove forest. I do hope that all of my clients are informed about the ''wet landing'' before they arrive in Sierpe. The guides that meet all of our guests at the airport are told to inform everyone about the ''wet landing'' so they have a chance to put on appropiate footware or at least be prepared. I apologize if this didn't happen in this case. I also feel bad that these avid photographers didn't have good wildlife sitings at Casa Corcovado or generally in Costa Rica. Steven Lill / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

After reading the reviews my choice of visiting Casa Corcovado was the right one. I can add little to the glowing reviews already made but can only say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. Steven the Manager is exceptional in his grasp of hospitality and did a wonderful job of balancing professionalism with informality.

Three nights was not enough....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdavies757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Steven, the Manager, I think is doing a great job and is taking good care of our guests. I do think that people who stay an extra day get more out of the experience. Steven Lill / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Casa Corcovado is incredible, It's location is astonishing. We were so sad to leave.

Very well managed by Stephen who gave us his personal welcome and was always on hand to offer help and advice when needed.

Our guide was Freddie, he looked after us so well, from the pick up, though the pre dawn hikes, the main trek, the Cano Island trip and a night walk, he was friendly, informative, and professional. On the main hike in Corcovado we were never rushed, ample time for just watching and photographing. Ever ready with his scope to pin point things for us. The swim in the waterfalls was incredible, as was the offer to swim in the sea whilst he prepared our delicious lunch at the rangers stations whilst warning us to watch out for the croc in the sea, Apparently she! has never eaten anyone yet! we declined the swim.

On the boat ride to Cano Island the hawk like eyes of the boat driver spied a sea snake and we saw dolphins pre our snorkelling.

The whole estate is magical, its delightful that it is so small and so not many guests, it was like we were the only ones there. Laying in my hammock watching toucans in the tree above my head or watching the monkeys in the tree in the garden, all incredible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Special thanks to Steven, the manager, and our guide,Freddy, who helped make an ''incredible'' stay for our guests. We have tried to be true to our vision of offering personalized service to a limited number of guests, which I think is true ''luxury'', though not necessarily the ''five star'' kind. It is sometimes hard with our fixed costs, large staff and the expense of maintaining ''Paradise'' in the Jungle, but after many years we are still doing our best to offer a truly unique and educating ''Rainforest Experience''. Steven Lill / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in Casa Corcovado and everything has been perfect! This Lodge is completely immerse in unspoilt nature! The hospitality has been excellent, the personal (everybody, tractor driver, waiters, guides, housekeepers, sailor men..) very professional and collaborative. The kindness is the principal characteristic of the Lodge. The foods were of good quality. The excursions in the jungle and in the isla Cano were exclusive and allowed us to watch a lot of birds, mammalians and reptiles. We were lucky to meet a big group of dolphines in the Ocean in front isla Cano! We admired the versatility of the owner Mr Steven: he helped waiters during the service and then he was in his office ready to meet the clients! In definetly we are very satisfied by this holiday in Casa Corcovado! We are greateful to Mr Jacob, very professional and accultured guide!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank piovitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
What a nice thing for these guests to say that ''KINDNESS IS THE PRINCIPAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE LODGE.'' I have to say that I am sincerely touched by the comment and want to send a big hug from everyone at Casa Corcovado. Steven Lill / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
23.1 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Property: Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing