We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of what they are - and are not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you have made it this far on Trip Advisor, you know that this premium resort has some remarkable plusses (beautiful setting, separate bungalows) and minuses (remote, no AC). I'll add that the staff was very helpful, especially the manager, Stephen. The food was good, sometimes very good, but an Eco-resort would be expected to offer (indeed promote) vegetarian entrees, but none were encountered (probably would have been prepared on request, but that's not the point). The wine selection was surprisingly good and fairly priced. The traveller's diarrhea that our group developed after 2 1/2 days was at least temporally related, since the only food available comes from their kitchen.

But a bigger impact was dealing with the heat. With no AC, ceiling fans are what make life tolerable for those unaccustomed to the heat and humidity. But the lunch area has none, nor do the sitting areas in the bungalows, so you have to sit on the bed to read until it cools off after dinner. And when the power fails (as it did), you just hope for it to come on again (it did after 5-10 minutes - seemed like forever).

Another issue that may have been just an isolated event was that after the lodge staff transported us from the airport to the boat dock, we waited and waited with no explanation. After an hour I asked why, and was told that we were waiting for someone (staff? Guest?). We finally left without them, but by then the wind and waves had come up so the boat trip was a full 2 hours, very noisy (twin outboard motors - earplugs really helped), and quite bumpy. All part of the adventure for some, maddening for others.

Finally, the staff at the dock advised us not to bother with insect repellent, but the staff at the lodge noted the heavy sand flea infestation that can (and did) get to anyone traversing the beach, as is done upon landing. But no mosquitos (sand fleas are essentially invisible and leave little red itchy bumps, less bothersome than mosquito bites and without the risk of disease - they are prevented with insect repellent).

So overall, much was done quite well, but with some gaps. If your expectations match what is offered, you'll have a lovely time. One of our party was quite pleased, another not so sure if the gaps made it worthwhile.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank dhinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I feel bad that this group did not have a completely positive experience. Of course vegetarian meals are prepared upon request and we are working on a dinner menu that will include a third vegetarian entree, we are also moving ahead with our organic garden project. It's unfortunate that these guests where made to wait at ''La Hacienda'', our reception center in Sierpe. We do at times of the year and connected to full moon phases have a problem with sand fleas [ no-seeums] on the beach area. You can use insect repellant or what works great is a little tanning oil or Revlon ''Skin so Soft''. There are also times of the year when it would be nice to have air conditioning but it is too much power for our [quite large] solar/hydroelectric system to handle. We do try and stay true to the example that we can make by utilizing alternative energy Thank you for the comments. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Getting here is a tour in itself with a chance to see monkeys, dolphins, birds, etc. All your bags are "tarped" so don't worry they will not get wet. I imagine however, that if the sea is rough that section of the ride could be a bit gruelling, and a test on your back and backside.
The setting is fantastic and one or two vistas in particular one would like to frame and keep forever with you, e.g. the sunset bar, and from the hammocks by the "lawns" overlooking the beach through the palms complete with scarlet macaws!
The rooms have a lot of character and are set in some great grounds. I know, given the constraints, that it is not possible, but personally I would have killed for a/c and a fridge! Food is understandably a bit limited (one choice - meat or fish), but breakfasts and lunches are good. The sunset bar is great although drinking cocktails out of plastic (health and safety no doubt) is never quite the same. A couple of good swimming pools. Maybe a humming bird feeding station? Or is that not eco-friendly?
I so sympathise with those guests whose tours were ruined by those awful children. Maybe February is a better choice of month to avoid the US "Spring Break" which seems to occupy the whole of March. The quality of the tours depends on the guides (Cynthia and Jacob were fantastic), luck and to some extent those who accompany you (see above) - we were very lucky in having a really nice Flemish couple and a similarly nice couple of girls from London. The snorkelling trip to Cano Island also depends on the visibility pertaining at the time. The National park, with the waterfall area, was great, as was the trip to Sirena station if you want to improve your chances of seeing a tapir.
Steve, the manager, was friendly and helpful. Honeymoon settings but maybe too hot & humid for romance. Not 5* luxury but a 5* experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Thank you for your comments which I think are pretty much ''spot on''. I'll accept the ''five'' rating for the experience. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We ended our trip to Costa Rica with 3 nights at this hotel. Everything was splendid starting with being met off the plane at Palmar and the ensuing boat ride from Sierpe. The remoteness of the hotel and location in the jungle really does improve the experience, though this means making allowances for things like the odd power trip and feeble showers. Our guide Freddie was very knowledgable regarding the wildlife and local environment and one of the things that became a highlight of our whole trip was a night hike he took us on. It took on a life of its own once we came across a tapir and Freddie took us off along the beach and into the jungle in search of more. It was as much the insect life as the big mammals that made the hike fascinating and very much a case of the more we put into the hike, the more we got out.

All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and the breakfasts a delight. No need for alarm clocks here since the dawn chorus was fabulous. Even the return boat ride to Sierpe was good with our boat driver taking a different route from the way out that went through a narrow channel with much closer views of the mangrove.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeA3042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

I do think that a night hike is something that is great to do while at the lodge. There is a mystery and majesty that you feel at night. All of the sounds of the rainforest become more intense,it's a whole other world. Of course we cann't promise that you'll see a tapir but it is still an experience to remember. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here in June of 2011 for a "destination" wedding. This is a very remote, jungle location with electric provided by solar panels and generators. There are no roads to get here; you either walk about 5-6 hours, or take a 2-hour boat ride. Literally everything (food, water, fuel for generators, ice, etc) is brought in daily on the boats, along with the guests. The boat ride can be very rough, and they bring watertight bags to put your luggage in, due to spray from the waves. The ride there is beautiful. Once there you can hike or ride a small trailer up the hill. The lodge itself, as well as the surrounding jungle are absolutely gorgeous, and you should especially make sure you go to have a drink at sunset at the bar overlooking the ocean. This is not your typical resort, and there is much jungle life about (monkeys, scarlet macaw, large insects, etc). On the one hand, don't expect to get much laundry done, but on the other, don't expect to bring large suitcases (as Americans are so fond of). This is an "adventure" type of stay, not a beach resort with umbrellas and chaise lounges. Even electrical power was off and on while we were there (we didn't mind, though).

Room Tip: Rooms are stand-alone cabanas that sleep 4-6, and have very nice bathrooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scodougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Thank you for the nice comments and hope you come back again. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a truly amazing and very special place, with beautiful, luxurious private bungalows set in glorious gardens backing right onto the wild forest. Bird life was incredible, capuchin and howler monkeys right there outside your window and cute coati-mundies snuffling around the grounds. We saw both two and three-toed sloths, iguanas and crocodiles and the most amazing fleishman's glass frog on our hike through the Corcovado. Wow - Jacob has good eyes! The pools and other facilities were top notch, the staff and guides delightful and Stephen, the manager, was friendly, helpful and efficient (if a bit harassed, as he rushed between the office and bar - he really needs a barman!). Dinner was served in a cathedral-like room, a bit odd as you felt you were at a service but the food was good. The bar restaurant was much nicer and it would be good if this was used more frequently.
Our only problem was that the people you arrived on the boat with then formed part of your group for the duration. Our group included a Canadian couple with two appallingly behaved, rude and badly mannered boys, over which they showed no inclination to exert control. Poor Jacob really struggled with them on our hike as they kept darting off and pushing past us on narrow trails. At the waterfall one raced off, fell and injured himself. The mother went after him and hurt her ankle on the slippery rocks. The French couple with their very well behaved boy were equally appalled. As we had no desire to spend another day with them, we sacrificed the planned and paid-for snorkelling trip the next day and paid extra for a private guide for another hike. Fortunately, another guide Leo was free and he was fantastic. When we explained why we wanted to do this, Stephen was very accommodating and sympathetic. Obviously he cannot legislate for guests but if it were me, I would have offered Leo's services for free as a gesture of goodwill...
After our hike with Leo, we went down the hill to explore the private beach - we had it to ourselves and it was a perfect little paradise, with more coati-mundis mooching around and howler monkeys in the trees right above. When the latter started chucking stuff at us we had to take shelter, but what a 'complaint' to have!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

I'm soory that these guests stay was less than perfect due to some children that were in the group that they arrived with. I'm glad they were able to escape with another guide and have a perfect day. I do feel bad that they were charged extra for the guides services considering the circumstances and will talk to Steven, the resident manager, about that and clear up any doubts about our policy. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to Casa Corcovado mainly for hiking and birding. Completely enjoyed the stay. The food was the best! This hotel is paradise found in the most peaceful of settings!
I want to take my family back one day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piano1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

I do hope that you come back and stay with your family. Glad that you had a good stay, all the best. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our group of 16 birdwatchers and photographers spent three glorious days exploring the grounds and nearby Corcovado National Park. The staff could not have been more accommodating, the food was delicious and plentiful and the guides were knowledgeable, friendly and super birders. Special thanks to Stephen, the manager, for his efficient and caring response to one of our group that needed some medical attention. Our guides, Jacob and Mauricio were proficient as well as just great people and super helpful to some of the less-experienced in the group. Thanks to Leo for stopping to find the red-footed boobies - a life bird for most! The rooms were well-appointed, comfortable and clean and beautifully located throughout the property. Waking up to the sounds of howler monkeys was a special treat! If you just want to relax, the pools and beach were perfect and evening cocktails on the sunset "deck" should not be missed! Thank you to everyone who made our stay so wonderful!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gretchen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

I'm glad that this group had a great time with us at Casa Corcovado. I do think that it is an incredible place for Birders and photographers. Thank you for your nice comments. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
480 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
188 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: £356 - £1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing