We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Decline”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corcovado National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta Marenco Lodge
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise in Decline”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Like other travelers to Punta Marenco Lodge, my small travel group found the scenery and surroundings stunning, and the sunset from the restaurant not to be missed--especially with a Mojito in hand! Our waiter was lovely, totally sweet, and the food was nice. My friend and I were also lucky to get one of the beach-facing cabins, though not one of the better ones. It was filthy, and housekeeping consisted of straightening the sheets but not sweeping floors or cleaning the bathroom. The place had a run-down feel, and our general impression that it was not managed well was confirmed when the valuables and food items we were requested to deposit with the owner (which were then ritualistically sealed in plastic bags) could not be readily retrieved and prompted an extended game of "is this your bag?" (peek at someone's items) "no" "well, is this it?" "No" etc. After several rounds of being offered other people's deposits, we retrieved our passports, but not our food ("sorry, this has never happened before"). I'm sure.
Secondly, the guide that took us to Corcovado, who is employed by the Punta Marenco resort, told us that the owner often doesn't pay personnel for weeks or months at a time (he hadn't been paid in 3 months and was about to quit) or retrospectively had their wages lowered. This might explain the poor morale of the cleaning staff as well, perhaps. We were not pleased to hear this, as we had booked our tour with a 'socially sustainable tourism' provider.

We would love to return to the area, but cannot recommend this Lodge, despite its incredible natural assets.

Room Tip: beach-facing bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
34
64
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the time we arrived on the boat the lodge was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and the food was fantastic. You can't beat the location. My wife and I took a guided rainforest hike and went snorkeling (we suggest both). Each individual hut is spacious and some offer a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bathroom has no hot water. But it was more than we expected being in the middle of the rainforest. If you go to Costa Rica, this Lodge is a must.

Room Tip: All are beautiful, simple but beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roslyn, new york
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

There is no doubt that the location of Punto Marenco lodge is one of the most beautiful spots anywhere. The lodge itself is fairly priced and is honestly represented. Here are the cons and pros you should know.
Con - The e-mail site for the hotel is owned by a family member - Pedro who is NOT in FULL COMMUINICATION with the lodge itself. We thought we were in direct communication with the lodge. E-mailed back and forth...paid and confirmed the week before - Yes, we changed a flight..... 3 months before... and notified and confirmed with Pedro... yet.. WE WAITED 3 1/2 HOURS IN THE SUN on the beach at Drakes Bay for our boat. The boat Pedro sent was coming from the North... and despite knowing we were there... he did not send in any other boat for us... and made up a story about the tide . He kept on telling us the boat was coming
.
We had requested a special cabin. Of course the person who he claims he had spoken with was not there and they knew nothing.
Despite our communication with the owners of the lodge and it's management PEDRO still owns the site and books. DO NOT USE puntamarencolodge.com You are dealing with Pedro.

The lodge caters to travelers from the Netherlands. There are approx 11 cabins facing the ocean and 7 morefacing a garden. The ocean facing cabins are the only ones to stay in. The garden ones are like dorms. I suggest cabins 1, 4, and 5 as the best. They all have large spaces and are not surrounded by other cabins. (4 and 5 are at angles).
The guides are adequate and nice. They do not have the binocular equipment to see animals and birds at a distance.They have not received a formal education in their habitat. We travelled to an island for snorkeling... (very beautiful ) Our guide dropped us approx 1/4 mile from the "Gardens". He was not feeling well that day, and did not join us in the water. The current was rough ,the swimming exhausting. My friend got a tic bite on the beach . It was not warned or identified at the lodge or in San Jose. Upon return to the states... the tic was removed in tact.
I drank the water and ate Fish from the sea and caught a parasite

Pros. The grounds of the lodge, the Reserve the beach, the walks, birds, monkeys, sunsets are PARADISE. The people at the lodge were nice... the food fine, The cabins and baths were clean.... who needs hot water and electricity. ..
For the price, the place is beautiful and the people at the lodge did try. DO NOT BOOK WITH PEDRO - I believe if you go through Trip Advisor you ARE DEALING WITH THE CORRECT SITE. If this is what you can afford... go before the tourist kill the jungle. If you can afford more... upgrade to a better place

Room Tip: Book Ocean Cabins -not Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank res5137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Love the place, a little pricey but they actually offered part of their land to transform into a national reserve... I give points to that! The area around it is astonishing. The beaches, the trails, the animals: monkeys, scarlet macaws....

The family owning the place is really amazing. I recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank central-american
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great little ecolodge. The family who runs this lodge are fabulous. They go above and beyond to ensure that you enjoy your stay.
The snorkelling and corcovado tours are great. The guide was very knowledgeable and clearly has a passion for the area and environment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristin0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I think you need to take most of these reviews with a grain of salt. Rember, this is not a town home community in the States, it's remote Costa Rica. The building construction and plumbing are very basic, as is the food. They don't even have a freezer, and this is VERY common, even in upscale restaraunts. The deserts were really good, as were the Tico breakfasts, lunch, and fresh fruits. Oh, and they make some really good sauces and dressings, the best we had on our trip. The grounds are beautiful and the cabinas are peaceful with a wonderfull view and the sounds of the ocean. They were close together, but it was not bad. As far as security, you should keep you money and passport in the lodge safe. The family who run the lodge are very trustworthy. I thought my wallet was stolen, and after having a minor meltdown, found that I had left it sitting in the lodge, where an employee picked it up and it was returned to me. The other issue is the monkeys. They will come in your cabin, so put your small items in your in room lock box. One made off with my comb, and unwraped my husbans birthday gift! On that note, the lodge made him a surprise birthday cake, and after dinner dimed the lights and we all sang!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepblue595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We had been looking forward to visiting Corcovado NP for a number of years. Punta Marenco Lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive; the cabin was comfortable and clean, location was awesome (overlooking the Pacific with a cooling breeze - virtually no bugs and mosquitoes). The wildlife was abundant, lots of exotic birds and monkeys at your doorstep. The surrounding Rio Claro reserve was a beautiful area to explore with a safe swimming beach. The food was filling and tastefully served. In short, we had a wonderful time and hope to return. We took the Canyo Island tour and thought it was great (we saw Ballena whales and dolphins on the way) with a lovely coral reef and tropical fish easily observed with snorkeling. We also took the tour to Corcovado NP which was enjoyable (going in through San Pedrillo) , although I think next time we would prefer to somehow manage a trip to the Park going in through the Sirena entry. That would be difficult from Punta Marenco because of the distance. Thanks to all the staff for a relaxing five days. We miss you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
2.3 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
2.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
24.4 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Marenco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Marenco Lodge

Property: Punta Marenco Lodge
Address: Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Corcovado National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own by a Costarican family Punta Marenco Lodge is located 20 minutes by boat from Drake Bay in the Osa Peninsula south pacific coast of Costa Rica. Our bungalows are located in a little hill very close to the beach. The Lodge is part of the Punta Rio Claro National Wild Life Refuge, with miles of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest to explore near the Corcovado National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Marenco Hotel Corcovado National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing