We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the jungle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corcovado National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta Marenco Lodge
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a hotel with basic standard but with a great view over the ocean. The resort is a 10 minutes boat ride from Drake Bay over viewing the jungle and the see. In the horizont you can see Canoy Island. The resort has friendly staff which do their best to support you during your time at the resort.

It's a place wher there is electricity during the evening for 5 hours so you can recharge your cameras, iPads and mobiles. Here you can relaxe and listen to the sounds of the birds and monkeys and the waves in the ocean.

The meal is fixed at 6am, 1pm and 7pm if you are at the resort all day.

We did one hiking tour with floting in Rio Claro and a tour to Canoy Island, both where great.

If you want to leave internet and mobile life go here and relaxe.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mikael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We traveled to Marenco with our student group. The cabins are very simple, screened in, wood floor cabins. Before you go you need to know that you can only use electricity for a few hours a day because they use a generator. The food is mediocre. The staff unfortunate remained drunk for a lot of the time while we were there. The wildlife was spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EduTravelCentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I traveled with an university class and we were highly satisfied with the service and helpfulness of the staff. our guide and staff were very helpful and friendly. overall a great experience. highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeeeeeeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you love nature and don't mind roughing it a bit, this is a great place, away from it all. In fact, it can be reached only by boat, and the closest village (a handful of houses really) is a ten-minute boat ride away. But don't expect any luxuries--rooms are very basic, electricity runs only from 5 to 10 p.m. (you need to charge your phone and camera at a central charging station in the dining room and every night it's a race for the last available plugs), no hot water. Meals are good, but basic, too. On the other hand, you are surrounded by wildlife. From the dining room, we saw macaw, toucans, monkeys and snakes. The sunsets are unbelievably beautiful. The staff is very friendly, constantly making sure that everything is okay. Everest, the resident guide is fantastic. We spent two wonderful days with him in Corcovado National Park and snorkelling at Cano Island. He is passionate about the area and the wildlife and makes every effort to show you the best. We stayed three nights and loved every minute of it, but also felt that it was enough. Our only concern was the price-quality ratio. Although we didn't mind roughing it and found that it contributed to the charm of the place, we also find that it is overpriced. In short, either prices need to come down or they need to bring this place up to standard with other lodges in the same price class, preferably the first to give people on a tight budge the opportunity to experience a remote lodge vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view cabana. I think they may have better ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you go there you are NOT going on a luxury vacation. Expect cold showers, limited electricity, bugs in your room, a long boat journey to get there and a steep and sometimes slippery slog uphill to reach the place. Believe me, Deet is your friend! (Other insect repellents are available, but don't work as well).

However, the location is fabulous, great sunsets, nice beaches, amazing wildlife - for instance a sloth in the tree outside our chalet, and friendly people. It is definitely for the more adventurous and being slightly fit will help.

Here you'll probably meet other tourists who love the wildlife and the slight whiff of adventure... I'm still scratching my bites but would certainly recommend it ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We have spent in this lodge 3 days and they have been the best of our tour! The place is fantastic, far from any human contamination. Rooms are very peculiar without walls but just nets you sleep cocooned by the sound of the ocean and the voice of the animals. The view is amazing. Electricity is on only from 5,30pm to 10pm and this allows you to stay more in touch with nature and live on its path. Dinner is served at 7 pm all together so we have found travel lovers like us with whom sharing our experiences. We had a wonderful walk to Rio Claro with guide Oscar, and discovered a piece of paradise. There we have also met a very special man spending his life to save turtles. We had a day to Isla del Cano to do snorkeling. Then last day a wonderful walk with guide Evaristo in Corcovado park. Guides are really passionate with their job and very professional. We have found all the people working in the hotel very kind and efficient. Thanks to all the staff! Absolutely recommended to all those people who like nature and want to spend some days in deep contact with it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

At Punta Marenco, you will be staying in a rustic cabin. There is electricity only during certain hours of the day, and the shower is a cold water shower. There is internet at the lodge, but is is slow. You will be lucky to be able to check your e-mail during your stay. In order to get to Punta Marenco, you must take a very bumpy multi-hour boat ride(check out the end of my review for more information about the boat ride). If all of that didn't turn you off, read on.

Punta Marenco is in an unbelievably gorgeous setting. Our cabin had an ocean view, and in order to see monkeys, toucans, sloths, and scarlet macaws, all we had to do was sit on the porch for a while. There is are several beaches within walking distance that are stunning, and you will be on the beach by yourself. The hiking possibilities were endless.

In the beginning, it was a little bit difficult to figure out who was "in charge". We were persistent, and asked around, and eventually we were able to get all of our needs met. The staff was incredibly friendly. Oscar gave us a hearty greeting when we landed on the beach, showed us around the property, and took us on a really nice hike our first day. Karola was extremely helpful in getting us extra towels, laundry service, and anything else that we needed. Juan, our server in the lodge restaurant, was awesome, and overall a great guy. When we first arrived to Punta Marenco, we were on the boat with a new employee who was very friendly and made us feel welcome at PM even though he was unfamiliar to the place himself. He checked on us every day. However, in the middle of our trip, he left PM, saying that he was not being paid well, and was being made to work too many hours (19 hours in one day). That didn't sit well with us.

The food- I was a little worried about the food, as we were in the middle of nowhere, and there are no other restaurant options. My fears were unfounded. While the food is not gourmet, it is decent food, and plenty of it. While another reviewer stated that there were fresh juices at every meal, in our stay at PM, there was always something to drink other than water, but it was definitely a juice drink from a powdered mix.

The other guests- we had a wonderful time socializing with the other guests staying at the lodge. Everyone eats dinner together at the same time- 7PM, and it is a great time to talk about experiences from the day, and share pictures. During our stay, there was always a giant group of European tourists (20+ people) who rotated out every two nights. I would say that this was negative, as they didn't socialize with anyone else, tended to be quite loud, and always took the table with the best ocean view for themselves.

The weather- we were at PM in December and it was hot, hot, hot. A negative for us was that there wasn't even a fan in our cabin. It was difficult to sleep, sometimes even impossible to sleep, it was so hot.

The animals- You should note that the monkeys are easily able to access the cabins (in our cabin, they just lifted the roof up). The monkeys stole from us- all of our food (stupid error on our part- take your food up to the lodge, they will secure it for you), bottles of sweetened tea, dental floss, Pepto-Bismol tablets, an entire bottle of Tums, facial wipes, plastic ponchos, and tampons (unused in the wrapper). Do a better job of securing your stuff than we did!

The boat ride to the lodge (Costa Rican shenanigans)- we were instructed to meet the boat at 11:30 at the Bar Las Vegas in Sierpe. We arrived to Sierpe at around 9:30. Our shuttle bus (Easy Ride) dropped us off at the Perla del Sur and refused to take us to the Bar Las Vegas, saying that the boat came to the Perla as well. We were immediately accosted by a man (Man #1)who asked us about our boat arrangements, and demanded to see our reservation paperwork. We had a lot of luggage,and I had difficulty locating the paperwork. He then called Punta Marenco to confirm our reservation. This all seemed very shady. I asked my husband to walk down to the Bar Las Vegas. At Las Vegas, my husband found a boat that was leaving immediately. When we were collecting our belongings, Man #1 tried to prevent us from leaving, he even called Punta Marenco. Punta Marenco convinced us to wait for the 11:30 boat, saying that the boat we were trying to take wasn't safe and didn't have insurance (unsure of the implications of not having insurance). So we waited. A long, boring wait at the Perla del Sur. It turns out, the boat did indeed come to the Perla del Sur, and when the boat did come around, Man #1 was no where in sight. I assure you the boat is nothing fancy. A big metal boat with a canopy roof and an outboard motor. Everyone sits on benches and your suitcases go into a hold in the bow of the boat. In the middle of the trip, the boat ran out of fuel. Everyone got off before we got to Punta Marenco, so it was a long ride. They even changed boat captains in the middle of the trip. Another couple that we met on the trip did take the earlier boat ride. The folks in Sierpe told them that the boat was unsafe, had no lifejackets, and that it would sink. When they persisted in taking the earlier boat, they were told that a boat captain would not be willing to take from the lodge back to Sierpe. They made it to the lodge just fine, and in case you were wondering, the boat did take them back to Sierpe after their stay.

Boat costs- (more shenanigans)We paid the boat captain $20 per person directly. While at Punta Marenco, we heard that some people paid $15 per person, others paid $20 per person. On the way back to Sierpe, we paid $15 per person to the boat captain, and he didn't even flinch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelaksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
2.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
487 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
570 reviews
24.1 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
0 mi away
Marenco Beach & Rainforest Lodge
Marenco Beach & Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 9 in Corcovado National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Marenco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Marenco Lodge

Address: Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own by a Costarican family Punta Marenco Lodge is located 20 minutes by boat from Drake Bay in the Osa Peninsula south pacific coast of Costa Rica. Our bungalows are located in a little hill very close to the beach. The Lodge is part of the Punta Rio Claro National Wild Life Refuge, with miles of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest to explore near the Corcovado National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Marenco Hotel Corcovado National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing