We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURCOTOURS IS DEFINETIVELY THE BEST WAY TO EXPLORE CORCOVADO”

Sirena Ranger Station
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SURCOTOURS IS DEFINETIVELY THE BEST WAY TO EXPLORE CORCOVADO”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Just incredible!!
We were not so sure about going to Corcovado, it was quite complicate to arrive and we had few days left of our hollidays. But since we got place in La Sirena we decided to go and see the park, and it became one of the best experiences of the hole trip!!
Nito from surcotours was our guide for the tour, and it was an unforgetable tour!!He showed us so many things about the park that we would have never discovered without him: hidden bats, butterflys life, birds, antslife, monkeys, tapirs... just amazing! Never thought about antslife could be any interesting for me..
We got to see the Pumaaaa as well!!
We staid in Puerto Jimenez in Backpakers hostel (Federico the owner was just great with us). Nito picked us there and we took a "camion" to Carate (something to experience) and from there walked to La Sirena. We decided to stay in la Sirena next day and return by plane wich let us one hole day to explore La Sirena and to see the Puma!!
Nito cooked for us (really good spagettis!!hahha), and it felt like travelling with a friend that knows everything about nature!!
I will definetively recomend a tour in Corcovado, but also i will definitevely recomend to hire a guide, and surcotours seemed to be the best place to do it.
We paid about 250 dolars for 2 people for 2 days for the guide, plus 50 dolars each for the plane, plus sleeping cuote in La Sirena.. IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY!!.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Crisrastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    17
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Definitely Do This!”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We did a day trip to Sirena Station with Mirador--a great tour company. We were worried that we wouldn't see much during a single day at Sirena, but we ended up having a fabulous time. With our tour guide, Rebecca, we saw a tapir, an ant eater, white lipped peccaries, and countless birds, reptiles, and insects! She was really knowledgeable and so fast with her scope that our entire group could get a really good view of nearly every animal she found! We still think it would be worth it to do an overnight at Sirena Station to see more wildlife and maybe a big cat! Next trip maybe....

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“THE place for wildlife in the entire country. Amazing.”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Sirena ranger station is located in one of the truly wild places on this planet. The forest is bursting with life, the shoreline is dramatic, ocean waves pound the shoreline. It is a place where people need to be careful and truly respect nature, lest they fall victim to it.

It is not an easy place to see--booking a stay and food is a pain, the food is extremely expensive, transportation is a chore, the sleeping/bathroom facilities leave a LOT to be desired, the heat and humidity can be overwhelming, and there are plenty of biting insects. All of these can be overcome with planning and common sense (cover up and use bug repellent--sweating goes away long before itching does). And the payoff is remarkable. You don't know exactly what you will see, but it will be wonderful and exhilarating. Bull sharks, tapirs, scarlet macaws, even wild cat sightings are not unusual.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The guide made our trip”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We recently just came back from a three day trip into Corcavado natinal park and in was the highlight of our central america trip..We did a lot of searching for a guide before the start and ended up going with a company called Surcostours and we were able to request a guide, but since we did not know any we took who they gave us...and we lucked out!!!The Guides name is Bolivar.He had a true passion for the area,he was patient with us,funny and his english was excellent.He had a true love for the park and the country.I've never wrote a review but feel its impotant to share our experience to others wanting to do a similar trip..

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank toms_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Abundance of wildlife, like nowhere else in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We did a day trip to Sirena Ranger Station out of Drake Bay and couldn't believe how much wildlife we saw! It really is a worthwhile trip in everyway, if you want to see wildlife. It is often referred to as a trek but it is more of a wildlife stroll!
We started with a boat journey out of Drake Bay to get around the National Park and very quickly saw a family of humpback whales and so close (we quickly learnt that nearly every boat trip taken out of Drake Bay involves the chance to see whales and dolphins and one time we saw two turtles mating).

Once in the park spotting the wildlife was non stop! We saw crocodiles, pecary, macaws, sloths, 3 tyoes of monkey, racoons, stunning birds...the list goes on and best of all a baby tapir! Our guide also had pictures of puma he has seen there quite often but sadly they evaded us.

It is nearly all flat, very easy walking, but it can be a little muddy. You tend to see other groups on the walk as you are usually based quite close to the ranger station. It really is a special place of secondary forest (this means that it is fairly young thus less dense than primary forest which is why the wildlife is so abundant) and deserves to be respected. It was a little frustrating seeing/hearing other groups being loud, which of course scares the wildlife!

We had an amazing guide Kenneth Mora, who has lived in Drake Bay all his life. What he doesn't know about the flora and fauna there is not worth knowing!! He nearly gave David Attenborough a run for his money. He also worked really hard to find us a diverse range of animals, with an inherited instinct of where to look (his father apparently used to be the park ranger). We booked him in Drake Bay but I think you can also book him through this website: http://www.corcovadoinfocenter.com/index.html

It is possible to camp over night at the ranger station and we saw the sleeping quar ters which looked very comfortablbasic but adequate. We regret so much that we didn't have the time to go back again and do an over night trip! The ranger station is also a short walk (5 mins) from the boat drop off point so really easy for dropping off your rucksacks!

You can only access the station on a guided tour. Your guide will arrange all transport in by boat, food and your permit. If you get the right guide they should also be able to sort out all that you would need to camp over night too, sleeping bags etc. It is very easy! Our guide had a telescope which meant we could view the wildlife in the trees in detail.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank Caz108London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sirena Ranger Station also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Sirena Ranger Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing