We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a Lifetime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corcovado National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campanario Biological Station
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Campanario offers the most amazing rainforest experience! Our family loved it. The journey starts with a beautiful 1.5 hour boat ride from Sierpe for Campanario. Pulling up to shore, we were amazed by the beauty and remoteness of the biological station. The beach is gorgeous and you can watch the monkeys play in the trees while relaxing in the waves. This is definitely not a resort, but it does have clean and comfortable facilities. Our cabins were very roomy and had a nice view of the ocean. However, they are up a pretty steep path, and don't have electricity or hot water. We thought those added to the experience, but other people may not think so. The food is delicious and we all enjoyed the dinners lit only by candle light.

Our hikes were incredibly memorable and our guide, Arnulfo was incredibly knowledgeable. We learned so much about the flora and fauna of the rainforest and saw many animals that we would have missed if we were just hiking on our own. We saw monkeys, sloths, a boa constrictor, anteater, and numerous others birds, reptiles and animals. We also loved swimming in a waterfall in Corcovado National Park.

Our whole family highly recommends Campanario for a truly unique off the beaten path experience.

Room Tip: Cabina 5 has a little more privacy since it's a the top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdC_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

My partner and I stayed at Proyecto Campanario in April for 3 nights. I can't begin to explain how amazing this place is. Arnulfo (the main guide) was an incredible guide and wonderful company. The cooks were amazing! Perfect for nourishing the body and satisfying the taste buds after many hours of hiking. We opted for a vigorous programme of hiking but wouldn't have changed a thing. Arnulfo know great spots, has an incredible eye and is very patient.

The huts are simple but placed on the top of a hill with the most wonderful view and the best spot to catch the tropical breeze. The outdoor jungle toilet and shower area are great! Very invigorating cold showers.

We loved every second of our trip and our stay at Campanario. Leslie who helps organise transport etc. is very helpful and lovely to communicate with.

Magic. Pure jungle magic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Get away and off the beaten path. Campanario is the place to stay near Corcavado National Park. The staff in San Jose and in Campanario are excellent. The 2 cooks are superb! We probably gained weight despite the hikes. Our guide, Arnulfo, was key a great experience. He was knowledgeable and worked to help make our experience memorable. He can spot animals like nobody's business (puma, sloth, tiny frog, iguana in a tree, etc.)

Leslie helped arrange transportation before and after our time at Campanario. What a help!

The cabins were sparse and comfortable. We loved it and so did our 5 year old. Boat rides, hikes, beach play, and a school visit all made for a great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solblomst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is my wife and I second visit to Proyecto Campanario, however this time we had brought more family members with us. Nancy the owner continues to make this place truly amazing. If you are looking for a place to stay that is off the beaten path where you really can experience nature and stay in one of the most sustainable lodges (I am developer that develops sustainable buildings) this is place to stay. The one thing this place allows you to appreciate is how lucky you are to have modern amenities. The rooms do not have electricity or warm water (its a very basic cabin with the bathroom outside the room), however we absolutely loved that about this property. It was nice to go to bed to the sunset and wake up to the sunrise without hearing the ring of a clock alarm. What wakes you up are the sounds of the macaques or the monkeys jumping around in the trees. In addition, we really enjoyed the cool fresh water that comes from a natural spring that you shower in. Actually the water that comes from the spring is cleaner that the water that comes out of our faucet at home.

Beyond the room, the property sits on its own private black sand beach with a small river running through it. It is one of the most beautiful properties I have ever come across. After hiking all day in the rain forest, it was so wonderful to take a dip in the ocean or sit and read a book at the lodge while watching the sun set in the background.

However the best part about staying at this biological reserve was the amazing guides and its proximity to the national park. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the rain forest and could spot every kind of animal you could ever dream of in the rain forest (the only thing we couldn't find was a jaguar or puma). In addition, the owner Nancy had made sure that my 13-year-old brother in law learned everything he can about the rain forest. She created a workbook for him to read about the rain forest and every night at our candle light dinner my brother in law had to talk about all the animals and plants he saw that day and Nancy would then go into a lesson about the rain forest.

Overall, if you are looking for a hotel where you get to appreciate your surroundings and really enjoy nature, do not mind living in basic conditions for a few days, have access some of the best guides and most knowledgeable people about the rain forest, a property that is on its own biological preserve with its own trails and want a place off the beaten path where the only way in or out of the property is either by boat or hiking through the rain forest, this is the place to stay. We cannot wait to return. Thanks for the amazing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the rooms up on the hill. You will need to hike up a hill to get your room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlichtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Campanario's outstanding service began when Leslie in their San Jose office did the booking for transportation for our entire trip before we arrived. Loved the walk through the mangrove 'jungle gym' on our boat ride to Campanario. The entire 5 days were a sensory delight. Camaraderie, guides, food, and educational program all first rate. Our hike into Corcovado National Park and the bat cave were highlights. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We were so fortunate to be able to experience the wonder of the rainforest, ocean, rivers and mangroves at Proyecto Camapanario. From the moment we boarded the boat, we were on the adventure of a lifetime. With the knowledge and experience of our hosts and guides, we were able to safely explore and see all the natural beauty of Corcovado, monkeys, sloths, whales, dolphins, crocodiles, birds and so many beautiful plants. We were well fed with delicious home cooked meals. We rested well at the end of our full days in cosy cabins with beautiful ocean views and the sound of waves. We are a family of five, our three children are 17, 15 and 14, we stayed for six nights, and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Schaible_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I just spent 4 night/5 days at Proyecto Campanario with my Wife and our five children ages 15 to 23. It was the highlight of our 11 day vacation in Costa Rica! Not many people know about this Eco-lodge. This lodge is one of the closest lodges boarding Corcovado National Park. This lodge has both private cabins bathrooms and dorm rooms that are attached to the dining hall and the field lab. We stayed in three of the cabins. Accommodations are very basic and clean. Cabins are a short hike up a steep hill side of dirt stairs and cement blocks. All of the building has been done environmental friendly from the water treatment to solar powered energy. The property sits on 170 acres of pristine beauty that contains multiple trials to hike, waterfalls, a cave that has bats that fly out every evening (an amazing experience)a private beach and access to other beautiful beaches. The staff made this place amazing. Nancy, the director of this lodge, has extensive knowledge about the rainforest ecosystem and ecology in general and is great about sharing that knowledge. She was also great at making us feel welcome and comfortable. Arnulfo, our guide during hikes, was exceptional. His keen spotting skills ensured that we saw all there was to see our exploration. Kitchen staff were friendly and meals were tasty, hearty Costa Rican food. Leslie, our reservation staff person was is very helpful and friendly, answering many questions via e-mail. I booked our stay via their website. http://www.campanario.org. We also had the opportunity to met Jeanette, a film maker working to develop a video about Campanario. Jeanette’s enthusiasm and friendliness added to a great experience.

Down sides??? Bugs, Humidity and Mud all of which are manageable (and actually add to the experience) if you follow Campanario’s packing instructions that Leslie will provide you with. Insect really weren’t that bad and there were hardly any mosquitoes, ants were a little pesky, bring natural and DEET repellants and you should be fine. Bring clothing that dries quickly, performance nylon. Bring rain ponchos!!!(especially if you are traveling in the rainy season – which we were). Bring hiking shoes/boots and extra shoes, your boots will get muddy and stay wet and you have to walk around with shoes on most of the time because it is a biological reserve all animals can room freely including snakes. Pack in zip lock baggies and bring extra plastic bags. Ask Lesley lots of question.

The price is extremely affordable and your stay here will be extremely memorable and very educational. Overall, I will return to the place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OregonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
22.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poor Man's Paradise
Poor Man's Paradise
#29 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
117 reviews
21.3 mi away
La Leona Eco Lodge
La Leona Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Carate
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanario Biological Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanario Biological Station

Address: Osa Peninsula, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Proyecto Campanario)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Corcovado National Park
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Campanario Biological Station is a remote environmental education center for students, families, and those adventurous individuals who would like to disconnect from "civilization". We offer the simple comforts of life - plenty of good food, clean facilities, and comfortable sleeping arrangements. Jungle living generally requires a change of habits. The sun rises early, and most everyone is up with the sun, be this for bird watching, for taking a swim at dawn, or for just having coffee on the front porch to watch the splendid colors over the ocean. Campanario is off-the-grid in most every way: no roads, no national system of electricity or water service, no mail delivery or trash pick-up, no internet service, no washing machines, TVs or air conditioners, etc. Etc., Living at Campanario is generally a life style change for most. We generally adapt to the environment rather than adapting the environment to suit us. We are doing everything possible to keep our ecological footprint small. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing