We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay,”
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Villas Gaia could be a fantastic place to stay, but the nearby "highway" ruins a part of the charm of this hotel, especialy in the restaurant or when you stay in a room situated on the road side. The villa we stayed in was very large, with a nice little terrace and a jungle view. One day, we had a large group of monkeys visiting... A thrilling experience for our 18 months old daughter. The garden trail organised by the hotel was nice, altough we didnt see much wildlife. Astonishing view on the ocean from the pool. The food served in the restaurant was great. About the staff, well, they didnt seem very intrested in the guests... Not far from the hotel, you have a narrow dirtroad leading to Tortuga Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches we ever saw. About the shower, one time they ran out of hot water, but in generaly no complains.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had arguably the best cabin on the property, with a stunning ocean, jungle, and pool view. Our private terrace was the perfect lounging and bird watching spot. The cabins are quite rustic, but spacious and breezy. The pool was fantastic! The self-serve bar area, with its amazing view, was great for a late night drink.

We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

~Villas Gaia everything it says it is and more.
~We saw all we came to see and relaxed.
~The food is very good.
~The views spectacular in the area, and we saw a good portion of the country just getting there and leaving.
~The employees are extremely helpful and friendly.
~For swimmers, you can get in 10 strokes in the pool before ya turn around, i believe big pool for down that area.
~Ginger lemonades, (a favorite of mine), were a grand treat to the palette in the afternoons.
~The bar by the pool was a fine place to keep cool, socialize and take in the views and watch the local critters.
~The resources of the area they provide was very informative and helpful. Regret to say we couldn't see it all.
~ We made friends there, we will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleen_mike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The grounds are rustically beautiful with tall trees, plants,and flowers along the path from /front desk to the bungalows. You will walk quite a way to your room if you have one at the top of the path but I felt we had nice privacy by being so far from the front desk area. We couldn't hear any sounds from neighboring bungalows or front any road traffic. The room was modest but clean and big enough for the three of us. There was a nice patio off of the sliding doors to the room. It was really like being right in the jungle. I really enjoyed their pool which was modest sized but set up above the surrounding area. At dusk, a Toucan finally flew just over the pool after calling to a mate for over an hour in nearby trees.
The restaurant was nice, but just a little bit pricey. We found another restaurant just across the road which was very strange. It was run by French owners and had an Swiss Family Robinson tree house feel to it. If it's still there you might want to dine there to see the open design, the room with pillows, hammocks, fans and a cool island feel in general. We weren't crazy about the food or the service and the ambiance barely made up for it so we went back to eat at Hotel Gaia. We drove to Manual Antonio and found a lot to do. We hiked to a waterfall and found a beach with a giant iguana. This big guy appeared to live there and even came up to me to 'beg?' for food. A troupe of Spider Monkeys in the forest collected pods off the ground to eat from a recent rainstorm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellHeeledTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We are a family of 5 (2 teenagers, 25 yr old daughter, husband and self). This is our 3rd visit to CR, but our first visit to south pacific area as we have travelled the entire country and making our way down south.
We very much enjoyed our stay here, we stayed in the 2 bedroom casita and for the cost of the unit I will say it was outstanding value. Some of the rooms are very close to the hiway so it can get somewhat noisy throughout the night but I could also here the traffic from the back of the resort so take what you will from this comment.
The grounds are very nice and well groomed and the pool area is welcoming. There is a honour system bar near the pool area that was used by all the guests. A nice relaxing covered area with couches to read or rest also near the pool area. Spectacular view of the ocean from the pool area, also a trail from the resort leading to the ocean (use at your own risk).
The staff was sparce with just a few hands at the restaurant station, and the maids during our 3 day stay the pool was filling with tree debris so we were wondering when someone was going to clean it.
The food was ok, not a CR diet but more European cuisine. The food across the road at a smaller, still developing hotel was awesome. There was a young fellow at Gaia named Casper who was training in hospitality, he was very friendly and seemed to be the only one willing to engage in idle conversation.
Although some comments are not overly positive our stay at Gaia was a great experience, we would definetely return here if in the area again. Best bang for the buck. We have stayed at many hotels during our 3 visits to the country and this hotel will caring some fond memories for us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravelwithhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This is a very comfortable place to stay while exploring this area of Osa. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Edgar, the manager, and Anna, the owner, were very helpful to us during our stay and went beyond the call to help us out. We have travelled extensively in Costa Rica for the past 15 years and have passed this hotel several times. Well, that won't happen again, we will definitely be returning to enjoy their superior hospitality. Oh, and the food is great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Villas Gaia on the recommendation of a friend. We are budget minded, but were traveling with small children, so we didn't want to cut too many corners. This hotel has a very nice restaurant where we ate several meals. Our "casa" was clean although not fancy; however, it was exactly as described in the hotel website, so no surprises. The pool was nice, and the landscaping beautifully done. Several very fine restaurants are within a short driving distance. The hotel was very quiet since it is a low tourist season, which was fine with us. The hotel helped us find a guide for kayaking, which my elderly in laws loved. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankie771962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
1.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
221 reviews
17.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
5.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
634 reviews
18.8 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
598 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ranchos Remo
Ranchos Remo
#9 of 45 in Uvita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing