We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return - part 1”
Review of Osa Resort Club

Osa Resort Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osa Resort Club
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
East End L.I. , N.Y.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return - part 1”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

"Osa vacations" planned our itinerary and couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. Ronald handled all our transfers in San Jose (he was right there waiting when our flight arrived from Atlanta at 4 a.m. - due to storms). Osa vac. arranged our stay at the Alta Hotel - each room has a magnificent view & balcony. The lobby and promenade should be featured in a magazine as should the interior of its La Luz restaurant. While a bit pricey - a salad, soup or appetizer is really needed to compliment the adequate but modest entree portion - I'm VERY glad we treated ourselves to La Luz on the last night of our trip. At least we had room for desserts- which were not over priced - and were yummy.
We spent a night at Casa Roland in Golfito. Gorgeous - Mahogany and granite, GREAT food - great value, fabulous pool with fabulous lounge chaises & umbrellas, fabulous gym, free computers with internet, will definetly go back to just enjoy pool and food. The town of Golfito seems very spread out - not too conducive to exploring/shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveourpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We came here for fishing which was excellent for tuna , dorado, and sailfish. Our boat was a 33' wellcraft express with twin Yanmars with a 25 knot cruising speed. The resort has a small office in front and 6 or 7 2 room cabins arranged in an arc. Next to the cabins is a small pool which is beside the main open air lodge where you eat, meet people, and relax. The grounds are well maintained and the cabins cleaned daily. They also have a free laundry service. The food at the lodge is excellent. The chef is young and very eager to please. I can't say enough about their staff. They were the best. I wish I could take them to my business, their attitude was that good. The price was less than other outfits in this area which was an added bonus. We are hoping to return

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thebug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont,MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We were treated great from our driver in SJO, arrival in Gifito, pick up by boat for snorkeling,back to Puerto Jimenez. Our stay there at OSA club was very nice, staff great,tour to the tip of the OSA was fun and interesting with Juan Carlos. The guides who took us out in two person kyakes fun. We wish we had spoken more spanish at times.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeygrr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tysons Corner Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Having read all of the other reviews..not sure they knew where they were going. Having traveled all over Central and South America the rooms exceeded my expectations with AC and hot water that worked fine. Staff on San Jose and Osa side were terrific and Chef Marlon ( Wonderboy) treated us to fine cuisine in the jungle. This was probably the best food i have ever had at a destination like this. We fished three days and caught Sails, Dorado and snapper. The crew was uniformed, professional and showed us a great time. The boat was in top shape, very unusual for this type of destination. The staff made us feel more like a friend than a guest. I highly recommend this place. If you are looking for "Concrete Jungle" try Myrtle Beach. If you would like some real down time in beautiful surroundings pampered by a good team....you cant go wrong at Osa Resort! ...Thanks Dave Saenz

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TycoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
158 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This review has taken me quite some time to complete, and frankly I completely forgot about my experience at Osa until my annual journey with friends came up again this year. This was booked by friends in Chicago and we anticipated a first class experience as all billing and marketing material suggested. Wow! What a disappointment. We anticipated an overnight stay in San Jose which was fine. However, once we got to Osa, the only thing that was acceptable was the food that was freshly cooked each night. Upon arrival into Puerto Jimenez, you immediately feel like you are in the middle of no where, which is fine. If I'm staying at a place in Costa Rica, I want it to feel like Costa Rica, not a plush hotel in any city USA. However, I was not expecting all dirt roads (with the exception of the main road), with huge pot holes. Fortunately the airport is close to the Resort and not much driving was necessary.

The fishing was fine, nothing spectacular. The Captain was not too friendly and we even felt like we were causing him to go out of his way to be nice and conversational. The first mate was very good and was far more worth his weight than the Captain.

The rooms at the Osa are nothing larger than storage sheds with horrible beds, bedding and we never had hot water the entire time we were there. The pool is ridiculously small and at no time did this place, or staff, spoil you as one would expect for paying what we did. We were there when one of the "owners' or one of his "representatives" was there and we heard nothing but sales spiel the entire time. Even the staff was making fun of this person behind his back.

I have no doubt that they try to do the best they can with what they have to work with, but, make sure you do not over anticipate what to expect on this vacation. The beaches are not good at all, the town is extremely backward and the only positive experience about the town is the grocery store, which was surprisingly large and clean.

On another note, we would strongly suggest that you make your own arrangements when you want to book excursions. The prices through the Resort are elevated significantly.

In short, overpriced, poor service, unkempt, unfriendly and absolutely no accountability. Always blaming someone else, or something else. The staff take no responsibility for anything.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The management takes advantage of you whenever they can. They ordered "over-priced" adventures for us which we found out at the end were actually cheaper than they claimed if we were to order it on our own. Accommodations were very basic, AC did not work properly, sometimes we had reasonably warm water, but the price we paid was if we'd stayed in a 4-5 star hotel in North America. Food was amazing (compliments to their chef!). Bikes which were supposedly included were not suitable for use. Tiny swimming pool. At the end, we had to go through the real-estate presentation. However, Costa Rica is beautiful, locals are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I wouldn't recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleksandra_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I took my teenaged sons to OSA Resort over spring break 2009 and had one of the best trips that I've ever taken. The resort staff were exceptional and made sure that we had everything that we needed during our stay. The fishing was a little slow but the crew was still able to make sure that my boys each boated their first sailfish.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Resort Club

Property: Osa Resort Club
Address: Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Sport Fishing / Eco-Tourism Capital of the World” The Osa is a rugged natural paradise that is home to Costa Rica's most rare and endangered animal species, including the Puma, Jaguar, Harpy Eagle and Scarlet Macaw. Noted by National Geographic Magazine to be “One of the Most Biologically Intense places on Earth”The Osa, as it is known to locals and residents, is Costa Rica's southernmost peninsula, a large expanse of which is dedicated to Corcovado National Park. It is the single largest expanse of a lowland tropical rainforest in Central America and is “One of the Tallest Rainforests in the entire World”, including the largest single tree in all of Central America, standing at seventy-seven meters tall. The best way to enter the park is via the town of Puerto Jimenez, located on the inland side of the park, where there is a ranger station and where an extensive network of trails converges. The fishing waters off the Osa Peninsula are a Mecca for Sport Fishing, not just for Costa Rica but for all of Central America. With over 100 World Records, the Osa Peninsula is the “Destination of Choice” for the Serious Sport Fishing Enthusiasts. Offering Marlin, Sailfish, Wahoo, Tuna, Snapper, Grouper, Dorado, Snook and the famed Rooster Fish. It is common to catch 10-15 Sailfish a day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Osa Resort Club Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing