We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bolita Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
131
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoison dart frogsno electricitycorcovado parkcosta ricathe ownercharging stationwaterfall swimtouristic placeshiking trailslove natureamazing trailsunique experienceflush toiletsdos brazosflora and faunaamazing placemaintained trails
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at Bolita five times now. It's run by friendly Canadians who know everyone in town and who are respectful of local culture and very environmentally conscious. They have created the most amazing getaway in the jungle, only a 40 minute walk from town through the rainforest to a clean, comfortable hostel with flush toilets, showers, and kitchen with gas and solar lights, but completely integrated with the forest. From the house, there are all kinds of trails you can take and trail maps are provided, right next to Corcovado National Park but without any need for a guide or park fees. This is exactly what I was looking for, no other hotels, no ziplines, just nature doing its thing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

If you are a person who like to touch the nature, wildlife, or wanna to give yourself a real nature life moment. Don’t miss out this little spot – Bolita Lodge (right at the boarder of Corcovado national park).
Which’s 61 hectares in the Osa Peninsula forest reserve, near the village of Dos Brazos, only 14km from Puerto Jimenez, and surround by primary rain forest. 5-6 amazing trails to waterfalls destinations and swimming in waterfalls, I did the longest amazing trails, unforgettable experience, and bird watching, the most of seen in there. The rest of my days just relax in a hammock enjoying the nature, listen the birds and the sun, and staying in a simple rough lodge, reading book, you may found my painting on the roof! Its worth it. Friendly owners and they support eco system and doing recycle system.
Adventure in the remote jungle, get into the nature and listen to it, imagine as you as Taza.
So, good luck for all and be safe!

Room Tip: all are good, no worry.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I found Bolitas the perfect place to stay. I went to Puerto Jimenez to explore Corcovado but found the jungle bordering it to be more fascinating than I had ever imagined. The hostel is amazing too. I don't know how they did it, but Ron and Val have made a little slice of heaven within the most biologically intense jungle in the world. Potable running water, hot showers and excellent plumbing were just a few things that surprised me. The rustic kitchen (with solar lights at night) was great as were the living areas and bedrooms. Great hikes to lookouts and waterfalls also help to make the Bolitas experience a true highlight of my Central America trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatRojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Fantastic spot. Right on the border of Corcovado National Park with lots of well made trails to scenic lookouts, waterfalls, and creeks. Saw a lot of wildlife, howler and capuchin monkeys, tons of birds, jesus christ lizards, a coral snake. Amazing. This hostel is totally unique. It is about a 20minute hike through the jungle to reach it and the accomedations are very nice but also rustic and blend nicely with the jungle environment. It has a nice kitchen, delicious fresh water, tile showers. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ErinL137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you travel to Costa Rica for nature, adventure, peace, and tranquility, Bolita is the the best spot you can find. We stayed for three nights at the end of December, and watched the first sunrise of the new year from Gotogo Lookout on the Bolita property.
Bolita is totally unique- it's not just another hostel, guided tour, standard costaricanripoff type of place. It has real charm, character, and an independent spirit. It is a house deep in the jungle, with stunning views of golfo dulce, tons of great hiking trails, spectacular waterfalls, active wildlife, and just the right ammount of facilities. While more rustic than what many travelers are used to, it is totally worth the little extra effort to enjoy seclusion in nature.
We were alone at Bolita for three days, an hiked almost every trail, ate wonderful food we prepared in the great kitchen under the moonlight, and nourished ourselves with the fresh spring water that flows from the tap. We ran around in the jungle, got woken up by monkeys every morning, and absolutely loved our lives up in this tropical paradise. If you are going to Costa Rica, GO TO BOLITA. It will be way better than any tour to Corcovado, and will cost you a lot less.

Val & Ron are wonderful people and need the support of independent minded travelers to keep this unspoilt gem up and running.
Their effort is unbelievable, and it rubs off on guests. If you build it, they will come. An we will come back, again and again.

Joey&Jennel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews