We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most romantic place”
Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“the most romantic place”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

It was a good luck that we found this place. Me and my boyfriend we spent here 3 amazing days. It was exactly what we wanted to find - quiet place with beautiful nature around. Owners made here some trails and especially the trail trough the river basin was amazing experience. You can see there many animals, waterfalls where you can swim naked because no one is there or closer to the village few gold seekers. It is good and cheap way to get to know Costa Rican wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My boyfriend and I are both biologists and Costa Rica came as a highly recommended spot to see nature. After backpacking across the majority of Costa Rica it was fairly disappointing to find that the only way to get into remote natural areas was eco-lodges which were out of our budget. The Osa is known to be one of the nicest natural areas in Costa Rica but even getting into the National Park is a hassle and also expensive.

This being said, finding Bolita was a miracle! The owner is amazingly friendly and helpful. The hike up to the cabin is gorgeous by itself (but moderately difficult if you have all your bags), but the trails and views from the property are what captured our hearts. The rustic accommodations might not be for everyone but they were prefect for those trying to escape the big cities and enjoy wild Costa Rica. For those who are naturalists the property has feeding grounds for Chestnut-mandibled Toucans and Scarlet Macaws, a friendly endemic frog (Gulfo-Dulce Dart Frog) enjoys the shower with you and there is so much interesting wildlife. The forest here is the same as that in the park and some trails even connect. Bolita was the highlight of the two months I spent in Costa Rica. I would definitely return whenever possible.

Room Tip: Tents are available for camping as well as lodging in the main cabin. There is only one private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at Bolita five times now. It's run by friendly Canadians who know everyone in town and who are respectful of local culture and very environmentally conscious. They have created the most amazing getaway in the jungle, only a 40 minute walk from town through the rainforest to a clean, comfortable hostel with flush toilets, showers, and kitchen with gas and solar lights, but completely integrated with the forest. From the house, there are all kinds of trails you can take and trail maps are provided, right next to Corcovado National Park but without any need for a guide or park fees. This is exactly what I was looking for, no other hotels, no ziplines, just nature doing its thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

If you are a person who like to touch the nature, wildlife, or wanna to give yourself a real nature life moment. Don’t miss out this little spot – Bolita Lodge (right at the boarder of Corcovado national park).
Which’s 61 hectares in the Osa Peninsula forest reserve, near the village of Dos Brazos, only 14km from Puerto Jimenez, and surround by primary rain forest. 5-6 amazing trails to waterfalls destinations and swimming in waterfalls, I did the longest amazing trails, unforgettable experience, and bird watching, the most of seen in there. The rest of my days just relax in a hammock enjoying the nature, listen the birds and the sun, and staying in a simple rough lodge, reading book, you may found my painting on the roof! Its worth it. Friendly owners and they support eco system and doing recycle system.
Adventure in the remote jungle, get into the nature and listen to it, imagine as you as Taza.
So, good luck for all and be safe!

Room Tip: all are good, no worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I found Bolitas the perfect place to stay. I went to Puerto Jimenez to explore Corcovado but found the jungle bordering it to be more fascinating than I had ever imagined. The hostel is amazing too. I don't know how they did it, but Ron and Val have made a little slice of heaven within the most biologically intense jungle in the world. Potable running water, hot showers and excellent plumbing were just a few things that surprised me. The rustic kitchen (with solar lights at night) was great as were the living areas and bedrooms. Great hikes to lookouts and waterfalls also help to make the Bolitas experience a true highlight of my Central America trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, MT
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Fantastic spot. Right on the border of Corcovado National Park with lots of well made trails to scenic lookouts, waterfalls, and creeks. Saw a lot of wildlife, howler and capuchin monkeys, tons of birds, jesus christ lizards, a coral snake. Amazing. This hostel is totally unique. It is about a 20minute hike through the jungle to reach it and the accomedations are very nice but also rustic and blend nicely with the jungle environment. It has a nice kitchen, delicious fresh water, tile showers. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you travel to Costa Rica for nature, adventure, peace, and tranquility, Bolita is the the best spot you can find. We stayed for three nights at the end of December, and watched the first sunrise of the new year from Gotogo Lookout on the Bolita property.
Bolita is totally unique- it's not just another hostel, guided tour, standard costaricanripoff type of place. It has real charm, character, and an independent spirit. It is a house deep in the jungle, with stunning views of golfo dulce, tons of great hiking trails, spectacular waterfalls, active wildlife, and just the right ammount of facilities. While more rustic than what many travelers are used to, it is totally worth the little extra effort to enjoy seclusion in nature.
We were alone at Bolita for three days, an hiked almost every trail, ate wonderful food we prepared in the great kitchen under the moonlight, and nourished ourselves with the fresh spring water that flows from the tap. We ran around in the jungle, got woken up by monkeys every morning, and absolutely loved our lives up in this tropical paradise. If you are going to Costa Rica, GO TO BOLITA. It will be way better than any tour to Corcovado, and will cost you a lot less.

Val & Ron are wonderful people and need the support of independent minded travelers to keep this unspoilt gem up and running.
Their effort is unbelievable, and it rubs off on guests. If you build it, they will come. An we will come back, again and again.

Joey&Jennel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Tropicales
Cabinas Tropicales
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Utopia Tica Organic Farm & Hostel
Utopia Tica Organic Farm & Hoste...
#5 of 26 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Property: Bolita Hostel
Address: town of Dos Brazos (Tigre) | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing