We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bolita Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Luna Lodge(Carate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corcovado Beach Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
131
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoison dart frogsno electricitycorcovado parkcosta ricathe ownercharging stationwaterfall swimtouristic placeshiking trailslove natureamazing trailsunique experienceflush toiletsdos brazosflora and faunaamazing placemaintained trails
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Thanks to the awesome staff we had the most of our experience in the Bolita hostel and the surrounding forest around. Seeing the animals just lazying around in a hammock with a light breeze and a 100% bio lemon grass tree (which grew just next to the place) is just priceless.
As well all the trails are very well marked and maintained.
On top of that you don't need to carry up any dishes or cookware (it is about a 30min hike from the village) since there is a fully equipped (and suprisingly clean :-) ) kitchen and even some basic food to purchase.
And even if you have such a strange wish like an internet connection in the middle of nowhere, they can make it happen. Simply brilliant!
Thanks Ronnie & Val!

Room Tip: There is 6 single beds dorm-style and one double bed. As well if you want more privacy, new rooms are being built nearby, they're not fully finished yet, however they are usable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

It was a good luck that we found this place. Me and my boyfriend we spent here 3 amazing days. It was exactly what we wanted to find - quiet place with beautiful nature around. Owners made here some trails and especially the trail trough the river basin was amazing experience. You can see there many animals, waterfalls where you can swim naked because no one is there or closer to the village few gold seekers. It is good and cheap way to get to know Costa Rican wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My boyfriend and I are both biologists and Costa Rica came as a highly recommended spot to see nature. After backpacking across the majority of Costa Rica it was fairly disappointing to find that the only way to get into remote natural areas was eco-lodges which were out of our budget. The Osa is known to be one of the nicest natural areas in Costa Rica but even getting into the National Park is a hassle and also expensive.

This being said, finding Bolita was a miracle! The owner is amazingly friendly and helpful. The hike up to the cabin is gorgeous by itself (but moderately difficult if you have all your bags), but the trails and views from the property are what captured our hearts. The rustic accommodations might not be for everyone but they were prefect for those trying to escape the big cities and enjoy wild Costa Rica. For those who are naturalists the property has feeding grounds for Chestnut-mandibled Toucans and Scarlet Macaws, a friendly endemic frog (Gulfo-Dulce Dart Frog) enjoys the shower with you and there is so much interesting wildlife. The forest here is the same as that in the park and some trails even connect. Bolita was the highlight of the two months I spent in Costa Rica. I would definitely return whenever possible.

Room Tip: Tents are available for camping as well as lodging in the main cabin. There is only one private room in the cabin that fits two people. The trails are also available for day hikes if you chose to not stay overnight.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at Bolita five times now. It's run by friendly Canadians who know everyone in town and who are respectful of local culture and very environmentally conscious. They have created the most amazing getaway in the jungle, only a 40 minute walk from town through the rainforest to a clean, comfortable hostel with flush toilets, showers, and kitchen with gas and solar lights, but completely integrated with the forest. From the house, there are all kinds of trails you can take and trail maps are provided, right next to Corcovado National Park but without any need for a guide or park fees. This is exactly what I was looking for, no other hotels, no ziplines, just nature doing its thing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

If you are a person who like to touch the nature, wildlife, or wanna to give yourself a real nature life moment. Don’t miss out this little spot – Bolita Lodge (right at the boarder of Corcovado national park).
Which’s 61 hectares in the Osa Peninsula forest reserve, near the village of Dos Brazos, only 14km from Puerto Jimenez, and surround by primary rain forest. 5-6 amazing trails to waterfalls destinations and swimming in waterfalls, I did the longest amazing trails, unforgettable experience, and bird watching, the most of seen in there. The rest of my days just relax in a hammock enjoying the nature, listen the birds and the sun, and staying in a simple rough lodge, reading book, you may found my painting on the roof! Its worth it. Friendly owners and they support eco system and doing recycle system.
Adventure in the remote jungle, get into the nature and listen to it, imagine as you as Taza.
So, good luck for all and be safe!

Room Tip: all are good, no worry.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews