We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bolita - cool hostel in the middle of the jungle!”
Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you love to be surrounded by nature, watch toucans from the backyard, and swim in a waterfall, but you also like to have nice bathroom and kitchen facilities, Bolita is the place to go! The owner is so friendly, that you feel like hanging out at your own jungle cottage. So relaxed. So peaceful and refreshing! Go for a hike on trails around or just lie in the hammock - the animals will come either way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was one of my favorite experiences from my month long trip to Central America. The owner is such a nice and genuine guy, and very helpful with trail and hiking advice. The long, difficult hike with all my gear out to the tree house was amazing-we crossed a river, squeezed under a tree, dodged a snake, and one girl almost fainted. It was all worth it to be greeted by such a beautiful, green view. Bolita has everything you need-cooking equipment, mattresses, mosquito nets, and running water. Oh, and there's even a small honor system pantry complete with liquor. We only stayed one night on our way up towards Dominical from Panama, but I would go out of my way to visit again the next time I'm in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubnknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Thanks to the awesome staff we had the most of our experience in the Bolita hostel and the surrounding forest around. Seeing the animals just lazying around in a hammock with a light breeze and a 100% bio lemon grass tree (which grew just next to the place) is just priceless.
As well all the trails are very well marked and maintained.
On top of that you don't need to carry up any dishes or cookware (it is about a 30min hike from the village) since there is a fully equipped (and suprisingly clean :-) ) kitchen and even some basic food to purchase.
And even if you have such a strange wish like an internet connection in the middle of nowhere, they can make it happen. Simply brilliant!
Thanks Ronnie & Val!

Room Tip: There is 6 single beds dorm-style and one double bed. As well if you want more privacy, new rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

It was a good luck that we found this place. Me and my boyfriend we spent here 3 amazing days. It was exactly what we wanted to find - quiet place with beautiful nature around. Owners made here some trails and especially the trail trough the river basin was amazing experience. You can see there many animals, waterfalls where you can swim naked because no one is there or closer to the village few gold seekers. It is good and cheap way to get to know Costa Rican wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My boyfriend and I are both biologists and Costa Rica came as a highly recommended spot to see nature. After backpacking across the majority of Costa Rica it was fairly disappointing to find that the only way to get into remote natural areas was eco-lodges which were out of our budget. The Osa is known to be one of the nicest natural areas in Costa Rica but even getting into the National Park is a hassle and also expensive.

This being said, finding Bolita was a miracle! The owner is amazingly friendly and helpful. The hike up to the cabin is gorgeous by itself (but moderately difficult if you have all your bags), but the trails and views from the property are what captured our hearts. The rustic accommodations might not be for everyone but they were prefect for those trying to escape the big cities and enjoy wild Costa Rica. For those who are naturalists the property has feeding grounds for Chestnut-mandibled Toucans and Scarlet Macaws, a friendly endemic frog (Gulfo-Dulce Dart Frog) enjoys the shower with you and there is so much interesting wildlife. The forest here is the same as that in the park and some trails even connect. Bolita was the highlight of the two months I spent in Costa Rica. I would definitely return whenever possible.

Room Tip: Tents are available for camping as well as lodging in the main cabin. There is only one private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at Bolita five times now. It's run by friendly Canadians who know everyone in town and who are respectful of local culture and very environmentally conscious. They have created the most amazing getaway in the jungle, only a 40 minute walk from town through the rainforest to a clean, comfortable hostel with flush toilets, showers, and kitchen with gas and solar lights, but completely integrated with the forest. From the house, there are all kinds of trails you can take and trail maps are provided, right next to Corcovado National Park but without any need for a guide or park fees. This is exactly what I was looking for, no other hotels, no ziplines, just nature doing its thing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

If you are a person who like to touch the nature, wildlife, or wanna to give yourself a real nature life moment. Don’t miss out this little spot – Bolita Lodge (right at the boarder of Corcovado national park).
Which’s 61 hectares in the Osa Peninsula forest reserve, near the village of Dos Brazos, only 14km from Puerto Jimenez, and surround by primary rain forest. 5-6 amazing trails to waterfalls destinations and swimming in waterfalls, I did the longest amazing trails, unforgettable experience, and bird watching, the most of seen in there. The rest of my days just relax in a hammock enjoying the nature, listen the birds and the sun, and staying in a simple rough lodge, reading book, you may found my painting on the roof! Its worth it. Friendly owners and they support eco system and doing recycle system.
Adventure in the remote jungle, get into the nature and listen to it, imagine as you as Taza.
So, good luck for all and be safe!

Room Tip: all are good, no worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Address: Town Of dos Brazos | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing