We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bolita is a paradise - better than Corcovado Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bolita is a paradise - better than Corcovado Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

When you arrive in Bolita, you immediately feel at home. There is a feeling of peace, there are never not more than a handfull of people there, its a place to chill out and come down. Its not so full as Sirena-Station, its a place of silence. What makes Bolita so special is that man is at one at nature.
Bolita is realy well placed on a hill, in a clearing in the middle of the jungle. From here you have an incredible view of the Golfo Dulce.
The animals come directly to the house, you are awoke by the howler monkeys and in the evening, the tukans will come very close to you.
Everything that you need is here. A clean and well equiped kitchen, dining area, hammocks, clean showers and toilets. You need to bring your food, but the basics like pasta, rice, tomatosauce you can buy there.
There are many well prepared trails, you can swim in the waterfalls and also take a long hike along the Rio Tigre. There is also a lookout with an fantastic view to the jungle and the Golfo Dulce. There is a possibility to walk directly into the Corcovado.
Ron, the owner, is superfriendly and a wonderful host. He has created a realy special and unbelievable place. A place, that is very rare to find.
All in all I can say, Bolita was the highlight in our 4-week vacation, Bolita was the best.
Thanks Ron, for the wonderful time. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaKarlsruhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
327 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I was lucky that I and my friends come across this extraordinary place. We stayed there 2 days and we enjoyed every single moment here in the middle of nowhere. For me it was the best place I stayed in Costa Rica, the place where you can relax in hammock and watch toucans, scarlet macaws and monkeys to play around and sip the fresh lemon grass tea. The owner Ron is extraordinary friendly and helpful and will gladly advice you which trail to take and what you can see. This comes just for 12$, accommodation in the cottage and using the trail. There is well equipped kitchen, bathrooms and two clean small dorms and double room plus new rooms for sleeping in the tents. If you are lazy to carry the food your own food you can get some basics such as rice, beans pasta, soups in the kitchen + plus alcohol. Be honest and pay for it. You can even recharge your camera or notebook.

The trails are well signed, maintained and maps are provided. You can even refresh in the waterfalls, great! This is great alternative to Corcovado national park but you do not have to pay the park entrance and the guide.


To get there you have to get to village Doz Bazos and then from the office you have to walk about 30 minutes crossing twice the river, but why not. Be advice that there is no weekend service from Puerto Jimeneze, during the week the bus from Pto Jim at 11 Am and 4 PM.

So do not be shy and come here to relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you love to be surrounded by nature, watch toucans from the backyard, and swim in a waterfall, but you also like to have nice bathroom and kitchen facilities, Bolita is the place to go! The owner is so friendly, that you feel like hanging out at your own jungle cottage. So relaxed. So peaceful and refreshing! Go for a hike on trails around or just lie in the hammock - the animals will come either way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was one of my favorite experiences from my month long trip to Central America. The owner is such a nice and genuine guy, and very helpful with trail and hiking advice. The long, difficult hike with all my gear out to the tree house was amazing-we crossed a river, squeezed under a tree, dodged a snake, and one girl almost fainted. It was all worth it to be greeted by such a beautiful, green view. Bolita has everything you need-cooking equipment, mattresses, mosquito nets, and running water. Oh, and there's even a small honor system pantry complete with liquor. We only stayed one night on our way up towards Dominical from Panama, but I would go out of my way to visit again the next time I'm in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubnknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Thanks to the awesome staff we had the most of our experience in the Bolita hostel and the surrounding forest around. Seeing the animals just lazying around in a hammock with a light breeze and a 100% bio lemon grass tree (which grew just next to the place) is just priceless.
As well all the trails are very well marked and maintained.
On top of that you don't need to carry up any dishes or cookware (it is about a 30min hike from the village) since there is a fully equipped (and suprisingly clean :-) ) kitchen and even some basic food to purchase.
And even if you have such a strange wish like an internet connection in the middle of nowhere, they can make it happen. Simply brilliant!
Thanks Ronnie & Val!

Room Tip: There is 6 single beds dorm-style and one double bed. As well if you want more privacy, new rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

It was a good luck that we found this place. Me and my boyfriend we spent here 3 amazing days. It was exactly what we wanted to find - quiet place with beautiful nature around. Owners made here some trails and especially the trail trough the river basin was amazing experience. You can see there many animals, waterfalls where you can swim naked because no one is there or closer to the village few gold seekers. It is good and cheap way to get to know Costa Rican wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

My boyfriend and I are both biologists and Costa Rica came as a highly recommended spot to see nature. After backpacking across the majority of Costa Rica it was fairly disappointing to find that the only way to get into remote natural areas was eco-lodges which were out of our budget. The Osa is known to be one of the nicest natural areas in Costa Rica but even getting into the National Park is a hassle and also expensive.

This being said, finding Bolita was a miracle! The owner is amazingly friendly and helpful. The hike up to the cabin is gorgeous by itself (but moderately difficult if you have all your bags), but the trails and views from the property are what captured our hearts. The rustic accommodations might not be for everyone but they were prefect for those trying to escape the big cities and enjoy wild Costa Rica. For those who are naturalists the property has feeding grounds for Chestnut-mandibled Toucans and Scarlet Macaws, a friendly endemic frog (Gulfo-Dulce Dart Frog) enjoys the shower with you and there is so much interesting wildlife. The forest here is the same as that in the park and some trails even connect. Bolita was the highlight of the two months I spent in Costa Rica. I would definitely return whenever possible.

Room Tip: Tents are available for camping as well as lodging in the main cabin. There is only one private room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Tropicales
Cabinas Tropicales
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Utopia Tica Organic Farm & Hostel
Utopia Tica Organic Farm & Hoste...
#5 of 26 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Property: Bolita Hostel
Address: town of Dos Brazos (Tigre) | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing