We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bolita!”
Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Bolita!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Bolita is a very nice place for Backpackers. Near the border of Corcovado you have a lot of hikes and wildlife to see for a budgetprice. Because there are no borders for animals you can see a lot of the wildlife you also see in the more expensive places to stay in Corcovado. Ron (the owner of Bolita) does a great job. I will remember him as a friendly man with a strong vision for nature, green energy and recycle materials we don't use anymore. I really enjoy Bolita!

Michiel, The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I really enjoyed my one-week stay at Bolita. The hostel is adjacent to Corcovado National Park, but there is nothing separating the two, so staying there is no different to staying in the actual park. There are many different trails to explore, with many beautiful views of the surrounding forest (including primary forest), waterfalls, and rivers. There is also an abundance of wildlife. Whilst there i saw many species of birds (including Toucans, Manakins, Trogans, Hummingbirds), Spider Monkeys, White-faced Capuchins, Mantled Howler Monkeys, bats, and many species of frogs (including poison dart frogs and tree frogs), and reptiles. The hostel is comfortable, clean and practical, and is one of the only places I have been to which is making a very real effort to minimize their impact on the environment. The owner is very friendly, considerate, generous and helpful. If you like using fruit and veggies in your meals you should get them while your in Puerto Jimenez, as the two shops in Dos Brazos don't always have them; but they do have most of the other basics. There is also a small selection of ingredients (rice, noodles, snacks, drinks etc) available for purchase at the hostel. Definitely worth the trek to get to it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KTL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at Bolita Hostel for 2 weeks, and would have loved to stay longer! The tree house has everything you need to make your stay comfortable, pretty impressive in the middle of the jungle. Clean kitchen, fresh drinkable spring water, solar powered chargers for camera and phone, nice showers and toilets. The views of Golfo Dulce, el Rio Tigre, and Corcovado National Park are incredible, and seeing them from your own private trail can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a fantastic place to see one of the last remaining lowland jungle rain-forests in Central America. The place has everything you need to comfortable and still truly enjoy the great nature around you. This place cannot be beat for value. The Hostel is practically in Corcovado and you will see all the same animals and views and then some. Good kitchen even has a small honor system bar. Also has an extensive system great trails to hike with some breathtaking views. Its a bit of a trek to get here but its worth every minute and every dollar!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvar Island, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Bolita is an AMAZING place. The trails are extensive, bringing you to different levels of the rainforest... canopy, valley, forest floor, hidden away waterfalls... Lots of amazing hiking and wildlife. After Bolita we did a tour in Corcovado - also wonderful - where we hired a guide. We saw lots of wildlif in Corcovado but actually saw MORE birds/frogs in Bolita, including poison dart frogs that are endemic to the region.

Definitely going to be a highlight of our whole time in Costa Rica!! Beautiful and so lucky to have come across Bolita!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha_overduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were travelling around South- and Central America for over 3 months and Bolita was by far the most exciting and beautiful place we stayed.
It started with a friendly welcome through the hostel owners and a exhausting but nice hike through the rainforest to get to the house.
During the 3 days we saw many different animals and plants, enjoyed the well mainteaned and amazing treks (walking through the Rio Tigre is a "must do") and relaxed in the hammocks.
Best thingg is that it is right next to Corcovado NP so you do not have to pay a lot of money going there since you have Bolita which in my opinion is much better.
Thanks a lot to Ron. You are doing a great job...
Anna & Alex (from Germany)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

When you arrive in Bolita, you immediately feel at home. There is a feeling of peace, there are never not more than a handfull of people there, its a place to chill out and come down. Its not so full as Sirena-Station, its a place of silence. What makes Bolita so special is that man is at one at nature.
Bolita is realy well placed on a hill, in a clearing in the middle of the jungle. From here you have an incredible view of the Golfo Dulce.
The animals come directly to the house, you are awoke by the howler monkeys and in the evening, the tukans will come very close to you.
Everything that you need is here. A clean and well equiped kitchen, dining area, hammocks, clean showers and toilets. You need to bring your food, but the basics like pasta, rice, tomatosauce you can buy there.
There are many well prepared trails, you can swim in the waterfalls and also take a long hike along the Rio Tigre. There is also a lookout with an fantastic view to the jungle and the Golfo Dulce. There is a possibility to walk directly into the Corcovado.
Ron, the owner, is superfriendly and a wonderful host. He has created a realy special and unbelievable place. A place, that is very rare to find.
All in all I can say, Bolita was the highlight in our 4-week vacation, Bolita was the best.
Thanks Ron, for the wonderful time. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaKarlsruhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Backpackers
Drake Bay Backpackers
#7 of 45 in Drake Bay
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corcovado Wild Hostel
Corcovado Wild Hostel
#7 of 22 in Puerto Jimenez
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Property: Bolita Hostel
Address: Town Of dos Brazos Tigre | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing