We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purest place on Earth”
Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Purest place on Earth”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It was and still is the most amazing place on Earth I ever been. This sacred place, full of life and good vibration is perfect to reconnect with nature. Be aware of the jungle tho, this isnt a resort on the beach, its real life in a real jungle. The best part is the naked swimming part in the river (if you want and you are alone (you will most likely be)), and walking hehe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pure unadulterated nature with great people, an amazing place in the forested mountains of the beautiful OSA peninsula. The owners are really friendly and relaxed. The trails are really well maintained present breathtaking views and landscapes. We saw three species of monkey in one day as well as various other colorful and impressive flora and fauna. If you want the ultimate Eco experience this is it with waterfalls you can swim in and views you can practically eat.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A fabulous little wooden house high up in the jungles of the OSA peninsula!! Absolutely beautiful and a retreat and getaway like no other. At $12 a night, as a student backpacker the price was more than right and I would go back in a heartbeat. The treks to and around the hostel were just breathtaking and the abundance of wildlife amazing. Not to mention the surreal waterfalls that dot the treks. I recommend this little hostel highly and cannot wait to go back myself!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It was super fun and interesting! I had such a good time in this unbelievably beautiful place. Everyone must see it once in their life. The host was great, everything was kept in good working order and the trails were in perfect condition. Truly paradise!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend -- now fiancé -- and I had an amazing three-night visit at Bolita this January. The trek from the office in Dos Brazos was challenging but well worth the effort. We were greeted by Ron, the owner/operator, at the hostel soon after our arrival. He personally set us up with a mattress and mosquito net in one of the four open-faced cubicles set apart from the main hostel -- perfect for us as a slightly more "mature" couple looking for quiet and privacy. He gave us lots of useful info about the trails and even shared a few cooking tips. (We will never make pasta the same again!) The kitchen, by the way, was very well equipped with pots and pans and had plenty of counter space, so cooking was no problem. We saw all kinds of cool wildlife on the trails and around the hostel itself. (Bolita is situated adjacent to Corcovado Park. We actually crossed into Corcovado for a short hike. We couldn't tell any difference between the flora/fauna in Bolita and what we saw in the park.) To give just a short sample of the animals we saw at Bolita: Toucans (Chestnut-mandibled & Fiery-billed Aracari), one Coati (who just wandered by the hostel), a Laughing Falcons, Golden-naped Woodpeckers, Scarlet Macaws, termites (which you can eat and taste like black pepper), and a black-and-green frog (which I'm pretty sure you shouldn't eat).

The highlight of our visit was the Banana/Valle Frijole/Bonanza/Rio Tigre hike: a multi-hour trek that takes you to two beautiful waterfalls. It was at the first of these waterfalls that I proposed to my then girlfriend. I was waiting for the perfect place on our Costa Rica trip to pop the question and knew I had found it. It was just the two of us wading in the small pool around the falls with the sounds of the jungle around us. The rest of the trek was a blast as we splashed, slid and crab-walked our way down the Rio Tigre. So if your looking for adventure or a romantic getaway to ask the BIG question, then Bolita is your place!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent alternative to the pricey Corcovado. We chose Bolita because we wanted the Corcovado jungle experience but weren't interested in paying for an expensive guided tour. We compared notes with some other travelers and we actually saw more wildlife than they did.

Getting there was easier than expected. We flew to Puerto Jimenez and took a cab to the Bolita office it was not too expensive and saved us lots of travel time. We arrived late and had to hike up in the dark which was a bit scary, fortunately the owner's instructions were excellent and easy to follow.

There are rice, beans, and booze payable through the honor system. The water is clean and some of the best we've had. We brought our own supplies and there is propane stove for cooking there is no fridge. There is a small charging station which only worked when the sun was directly overhead.

We had the place entirely to ourselves for 2 nights. It gets dark early, make sure you bring cards or games to entertain yourself.

The trails were amazing, we saw lots of frogs including poison dart frogs, lizards, birds, 2 kinds of monkeys and the foot prints of a tapir. Highly recommend hiking up to the waterfall and down the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A grand adventure off the typical tourist trail! My brother and I were told about this hostel. Most of what I found out about this hostel was by word of mouth, not by flyers. Getting there is easy though may sound confusing. At first we were worried, as budget travelers, about getting to and paying for Corcovado NP but at Bolita, your in the heart of the forest and can even hike into the park with NO FEE. But hiking to the border of Corcovado is not necessary with Bolita's own trail system. Their trails take you to waterfalls and great overlooks. My brother and I did most trails in 2 days but i would definitely recommend AT LEAST 4 days here. The owner, Ron, had a handful of volunteers at the time adding on to the hostel and maintaining trails. They were great company and Canadian owner, Ron, was very nice and informative. Sunrise is beautiful after waking up to howling monkeys!

Room Tip: Bring bug spray. Wake up for the sunrise, if Ron hasn't done so himself. Hike the Bonanza trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagedylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Backpackers
Drake Bay Backpackers
#6 of 45 in Drake Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Property: Bolita Hostel
Address: Town Of dos Brazos Tigre | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing