We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty and Song”

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as the Santuario Silvestre de Osa . Owned by Carol Crews. $25 admission/donation. All proceeds go into the sanctuary.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty and Song”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary is like being in a music box with sounds of birds chirping and animal noises 24 hours a day. It's beautiful and filled with wildlife. Not a phone or internet to disturb the peace. A perfect way to experience nature

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 277LAK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    26
    15
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Meet your neighbors”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just go. There's nothing like seeing these animals in the wild, but sadly, for many reasons, the one's at the Sanctuary are there because they are not ready, or never will be for some, to re-enter the forests. The benefit as a visitor is twofold. One, you get to actually interact with many species (think howler moneys crawling on your head), and second...you are paying an entrance fee that goes to no better cause I can think of in this area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 5easons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I went into this with very high hoped based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. I was very disappointed.

Our guide was the owner of the sanctuary, who seemed like a nice lady. The facilities were just not what I pictured. Every animal except one monkey were caged. Carol would lead you around and open a few cages to let some people in and kind of prod at the animals, or feed them, to show them off a bit. We saw maybe half a dozen cages and that was that.

I suppose this is nice if you want to get up close to some animals, but really there are much better places. Going to Manuel Antonio or somewhere like that will allow you to see as many animals, but in their wild habitat, not caged up.

I was also disappointed that pretty much no discussion was given to what the actual process of rehabilitation involves, and there was no tour of the actual facilities they use for that process. It basically just felt like a very small Zoo (albeit one in a pristine setting). Would like to have learned much more about how they actually help the animals and re-release them.

Rosie, the resident spider monkey, was quite entertaining and very well socialized. However, our group was about 25 people so it basically wound up everyone trying to get in everyone else's way to pet the monkey and take a picture.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dr Doolittle of Costa Rica”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a DO NOT MISS event to get up close and personal with animals as well as learning about them as well. Carol is spectacular and explains the elements in an pleasant educational setting. Most importantly, this is all about the animals and their safety. There is no fee for this sanctuary, but a donation to support their efforts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smsp309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful mission, abrasive director”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a spectacular place and a admirable mission. A group from the Lodge all went together(8 of us) and were overjoyed to be there and support Carol in her mission. However, she singled out three well meaning, educated, professional women for 1. Making a monkey noise ( not knowing that was tabu) and was told they were responsible for scaring Sweetie( who simply swung 10 feet onto a perch) and then She told this woman who apologized and make a 'knuckle dragging gesture' to make fun of her apparent stupidity to ' possibly try to act like a human' and go make it ok w the monkey . Secondly she singled out a woman who to save space sat on her husbands lap, telling her 'can you stand like a big girl?'. Confused by the logic, looked confused and Carol said ' act like a big girl and stand in your own'... Needless to say the vibe among the whole group shifted. Several of us (upon Discussion once we returned) refrained from asking questions we would normally ask. The animals and mission are fantastic and clearly Carols heart is in the right place but I would suggest that she not bite the well meaning hands that feed her.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank BeautifulWorld111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osa Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing