We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly place!”
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Price range: US$7 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Ocean drive Beach, we have some tables just on the water, for a scenic sunset dinner with candlelight and Soft Eclectic Music. it is more than 14 years that Il GIardino is rising the bar of the quality of Food, Service and Ambient, establishing the comparative mark for local and not local restaurant. This Year we started serving, first in town ever, GRILLED WHOLE FISH AND ITALIAN STYLE " FIORENTINA " STEAK, obtaining great appreciation from our Guests. We try to use, the most is possible, local products for our plates, and we, as always, produce our homemade Pasta and Bread, being, again, the only one in this. We utilize only Local Farmer Meat, that we season following the Old Italian Tradition from Toscana and Piemonte, and we prepare it on the Grill, just in front of our Guests. Our BANANA-BOMBA dessert is an unique creation of us, and somebody says that "...it is the Tiramisu' of future!!" The Fresh Fruit drinks we prepare and the Cocktails are always made with fresh fruit and no prefabricated mix are involved in them. We are the Culinary experience you are looking for in the OSA!!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly place!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The owner is a very friendly man, and he makes nice and decent food.
Beware: The pizza's will fill you up ;-) But that makes them really good for either before you go into Corcovado Parc for a couple of days to keep you going, or when you get out of the parc when you tend to be a little hungry :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmkooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    50
    15
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“surprisingly tasty and various citchen for such a small town”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

You can sit inside, on the veranda, or directly near the water. Cook quick and tasty, the menu has everything for every taste, and you can ask some more from chief! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian on the peninsula”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here as a celebration of our last night in Puerto Jiménez and it was a great choice. We all loved our plates. The chef was also super nice and joked around with us.

Helpful?
Thank Shengxiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It has some things to improve”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The food, service and ambiance in this place is not bad. The bread, as many reviewers mention, is great. And the music is cool too. The heart of palm salad is very fresh and tasty. However, the shrimp starter is too small and a bit boring.

I would have rated this place higher if they didn't charge an extra fee when the customer pays with a credit card. In Costa Rica ALL restaurants MUST show the final prices in their menu, and they (restaurants) are not allowed to charge extra fees when customers pay with a credit card. So it was disappointing to see such a long standing restaurant not complying with national legislation....if many small sodas all around the country follow these rules, why cant larger businesses do so as well? You can do better Il Gardino.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlGiardinoPJ, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Yes, we agree, we have something to improve....it is more than 14 years that we are improving all the possible we can, but a lot is still to do.....because we will never be satisfied of what we do, despite hundred of positive to enthusiast reviews and comments everywhere in the web and traditional guides.
One thing that we have to improve, for sure, is communication with our customer....we are sorry that we couldn't explain to this person that we don't charge more if a customer is paying with credit card....on our menu is clearly written that to all our prices it is necessary to add the two charges that the law is asking us to apply: the 10 % for the service and the 13% of Sales Taxes.
And this is what we always apply, but if a customer is choosing to pay in cash, dollars or colones, we are applying a discount , because we don't have to give the 4-5% to the Card Company and we don't loose another 2-3% in the change from Dollars, the common value that Tourist credit card use, to Colones, the value of our Bank account, where the Card company is depositing the amount of the sales, and we don't have to wait several days for to have the full availability of the money, and there is no risk that something, as already happened , goes wrong and we lose the money ............
So, all our apologies to this Customer for the misunderstanding, but if he want to check what he paid with the prices of our Menu and add the two taxes, the 10 and the 13%, he will see that it is the exact amount we charged on his card, and we can do this control in any moment, in front to any judge....we are absolutely straight on this...and again, sorry for the fact that the person in charge couldn't explain clearly this details, but when there is one or two languages in between, this kind of things can happen.....
...and sorry for the Curry Shrimps with Pesto......yes, they are a small appetizer, we never sold them as a main plate, and this is reflected by the price of them....and the definition " boring" is not something that we can feel as we served something bad done, it is just a description of the mind condition of the customer and his personal way to define a plate that didn't presented any defect under the quality of the component or the way they had been prepared and served....simply he didn't got " excited " ......sometime...... our recipes can't bring our customers until that point that several of them describe as " ...a culinary orgasm ...." .......but, just sometime......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place! A jewel in the Osa Peninsula - your palata will thank you.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Giulio's B&B for 8 nights and could not bring ourselves to have evening meals anywhere but Il Giardino's.
Giulio is truly an outstanding chef & his tasty, creative dishes delight your palate without fail! You would expect to find someone with his culinary skills somewhere in the heart of Italy or at a 5-star resort, not in a tiny Costa Rican town.
We feasted on beautiful, mouth-watering fish dishes of grilled Red Snapper (my husband's fav) & fresh tuna always grilled to perfection and served with a medley of grilled vegetables. His use of herbs and spices is PERFECTION. I enjoyed the Thai Soup which was heavenly and we delighted in a number of Giulio's fresh pasta dishes. The sicilian & pumpkin ravioli dishes are absolutely to die for and the accompaniment of fresh toasted rosemary bread (croutons) is sinfully scrumptious! The beef tenderloin was seared to absolute perfection and the delicious chocolate ice-cream crepe was the perfect end to any meal.
Giulio, his beautiful wife Cecilia & daughter Irilia are not only marvelous hosts but they will spend as much time as you require to discuss the menu, make suggestions and explain dishes. He will make any requested substitutions if at all possible whilst the ladies will serve you exquisite wines (his selection is unsurpassed in that area - the man knows his wines!) and fresh fruit juices or fresh brewed ice tea. He also offers a lovely selection of local and imported beers - we became fans of Brahva, a Brazillian beer.
Our daily breakfasts of fresh, tropical fruits and home-baked bread was always a perfect start to the day.
Sitting at those quaint tables with the large green & yellow parasols along the Golfo Dulce enjoying the breathtaking views completes the absolute perfection of the experience!
If you find yourself in Puerto Jimenez and miss Il Giardino, you will have robbed yourself of an unforgettable culinary experience.
Il Giardino and its gracious chef/owner, Giulio are truly a rare pearl in the Osa Peninsula!!! We were only sad that we did not have enough time to taste more of his wonderful dishes but will certainly be back and make Il Giardino's our home-base again in PJ.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intlroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing