We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GPS Coordinates are N8d 30.790’ W83d 17.400’”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GPS Coordinates are N8d 30.790’ W83d 17.400’”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The GPS coordinates are for cabin 2 facing the beach. They work perfectly to get to the parking lot.

The place looks like a Marine Corps camp when you first drive into the condominium complex – you’re looking at the back of the buildings. Don’t be deterred; it gets lots better.

This is a US-style condo that has owned units and some available for rent. You’ll want one of the units that face the ocean rather than one of those that surround the pool or are back a bit from it. Depending on the other guests, the noise around the pool and the bar can get out of hand. The rooms facing the beach and away from the pool are the place to be. Our room (cabin 2, facing the beach) had a fridge, a huge bathroom, two double beds, and chairs. We could sit on the deck and watch the sun go down through the palms and the flowers. Nice. Very nice.

Breakfast is good. Vilma, the on-site manager, is a delight; she speaks very good English.

The evening meal’s not always available, depending on the number of guests. Go down the beach about 200m to the north and eat at Pearl of the Osa. It’s really good and they have two Costa Rican microbrews (who knew?) on draft. Both Segua Red Ale and Libertas Tropical Golden Ale were a treat. They are brewed by Craft Brewing in Cartago.

We only ate at a few places in Puerto Jimenez but the best food we found was at the dumpiest place. Restaurante Mirabella on the waterfront was pointed out to us by the crocodile guide and served the best ceviche we’ve ever had. It’s a tiny place and no one spoke English. Everything we ate there was wonderful. It was also the best price performer we found anywhere.

You’ll need a car to go anywhere – except walking down the beach to Pearl of the Osa.

The beach is wonderful. The view from the cabins that face the beach is great.

If you have trouble booking, contact Marijana Brown, a travel agent in Puerto Jimenez, at SolidCarRental@soldeosa.com

Be sure to feed the crocs at night – Marijana can arrange that also. They really like chicken. You can go back on your own the next day.

Agua Dulce did seem a bit expensive compared to the other dozen places we stayed in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins facing the beach. It can be noisy around the pool and the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LH314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaDulceLodge, General Manager at Agua Dulce Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear LH,

Thank you for taking the time to review Agua Dulce on Trip Advisor...and for the GPS coordinates! As the new GM & Marketing Director (Feb 1st 2012) I've taken steps to address many of the things you spoke about in your review. In fact, my first order of business was putting an entrance on the beach road, and moving the signs to point to the new entrance. This was completed by the end of my first week. The back entrance is now only for deliveries.

The restaurant and bar hours have beed changed. We will close at 10pm nightly. I've been a hotel GM in Jimenez for over 8 years, and I am sensitive to the fact that many of our guests are going to bed early in order to wake early up for tours, fishing, or catching the 7am flight, or the 5am bus. As we get busier I will test the closure time, but I tend to think 10pm is reasonable.

Speaking of the restaurant...My plan is to be open everyday to guests, and to the public (dinner only) starting in December 2012. I hope to create a fine dining experience, on the beach...in the jungle, and I am hunting for a chef as I write this. Wonderful dinners from $12 - $24 is my goal. Breakfast is now included in our regular rates and...

Speaking of the rates...I agree with you. I have made significant changes to our rate structure. Agua Dulce now has Rooms available starting at $90 double occupancy, including breakfast! That's $45 per person for a beachfront resort in Costa Rica! My goal is to provide a spacious, clean, comfortable lodging experience where Value is recognized in both our amenities and our outstanding service.

LH, I hope you will return again one day soon so you can experience the changes and transformation that we are undertaking first hand. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly through the Trip Advisor site or though our hotel website. I almost forgot...I am hoping to be able to purchase a shuttle van by the start of next season so we can pick up our guests at the airport as well as run a daily schedule back and forth to town. It's an amenity that other guests have asked for and I hope to provide soon.

Once again...thank you for the review and we hope to see you back at Agua Dulce soon!

Pura Vida!

Chris Langos, GM & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    97
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
96
143
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Agua Dulce in the sping of 2011. I write this review late ,now, because we just booked our trip for 2012. We are going back! We enjoyed very much the hospitality at Agua Dulce. Every detail was handled seamlessly. Our reservation was actually made at that time through one of the lodge owners (Tom). He was great at answering our questions and putting together the trip details. He even set us up with his preferred taxi driver in San Jose. When we arrived at the lodge, Velma was there to greet us with a welcome cocktail and show us to our rooms. She was awesome the whole trip, she took care of us and handled our every request, from calling taxis and setting up tours for us, to serving us our delicious meals. She would ask us every morning what we wanted for dinner that night. And the food was awesome. We really enjoyed the quality of the fresh fruit. Oscar would make us a spectacular dinner every night, complete with a fantastic homemade dessert. One day upon our return to the lodge with a load of fish we caught that day, Oscar prepared a fantastic fish dinner for us, starting with tuna sashimi and then cooking several types of fish two or three ways. It was great. The entire staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Even the grounds workers were super friendly. One of them befriended our wives and made it a point to come get them whenever the monkeys were around some area of the lodge. We felt like we were vacationing at our own private villa with a personal staff. (we stayed during the off season and for a couple of days, we were the only guests) A couple days into our trip, more rooms filled up and Tom the owner and his family arrived too. They were very helpful and nice. Tom even gave us a ride to the airport himself. The lodge is remote and secluded. It is right on the beach, which is nice. The surf was rough when we were there, nice to watch but not good for swimming. I don't think it is always that way, but I don't know. Its a great place for long walks. There is plenty of wild life around like monkeys and macaws. This beach is natural and beautiful in a rustic way. There are logs in the surf and hermit crabs in the grass. This is not a fancy, manicured beach. There are no beach umbrellas or sun tan lotion attendants. Just the natural beauty of the sea, the sand and the sound of the ocean breeze rustling through the palms. For us this is a great place to stay. It is not over the top luxury. It is a very nice lodge in a very rustic place. The staff is excellent and friendly.They will treat you like you are royalty.
The food is good. The rooms are nice and they are clean, and cleaned well every day. Everything seems to be maintained well. The grounds are constantly manicured, and the pool is cleaned at leat once a day. We had no problems with the appliances or plumbing in our rooms or any thing like that. Air conditioning and the cervesa mini fridge were a bonus too. The beds were comfortable for us, the furniture was clean and nice. We did not have any issues with bugs at all. Occasional gecko or little lizard here and there, but thats ok. We would have liked to have seen dressers and a room safe as well as wireless internet. Maybe they have dressers now. Tom indicated that was on the to do list-as this is a newly built and opened lodge.
The villas are a very nice arrangement for two couples. They are like two hotel rooms sharing a common sitting area and a common hot tub room. The lodge has a security guard patrolling the grounds all night. This added to our feeling of safety there.
You need to be able to plan your own fun here. This is not disney land. There are no yoga classes or activity night or any thing like that. That is just fine for us! But maybe not everyone.The night life at the lodge was non-existent while we were there, but we did walk to the bar at the neighboring resort one weekend night. (which was a little more lively)
We were happy to have most of our meals at the lodge. Town is a 10 minute or so taxi cab ride away, but did not look appealing for night life anyway. We had one fairly disappointing meal in town once. We were there to fish and also did some tours. We liked to hang out on the remote beach, and hike through the jungle on our own. The lodge was a great base of operations for us. For us, this was a great place to stay and enjoy this remote area, without having to give up basic luxuries. We just booked our trip for 2012. Can't wait to get back. As a side note, the fishing was excellent. We fished with Cory, the owner and fishing guide for Tropic Fins. They live in a house next door to the lodge. Best captain we have ever used, anywhere. Also, the big zip line is great ; and a local guide, Juan Carlos, does an excellent wildlife tour to Matapalo/Carate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The resort was beautiful in all respects, clean rooms, pool with a view of the ocean and swim up to bar at pool, a/c, wonderful talented staff always so accommodating.
Vilma and Marina served us delicious food American or with a costa rican flare. Fresh fruit everyday.
USA vacationers

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I spent a little over 2 weeks at Aqua Dulce and I feel like a different person. It was during the off-season and there were only a few people there, but I was made to feel very welcome. The lodge sits right on a beautiful secluded black sand beach, as a matter of fact the tag photo for this listing was probably taken while standing on the beach. Mitch, Tom, and Oscar (primary owners) are great hosts they really went out of there way to make me feel at home and I have never experienced that from owners of an establishment. It is a great destination all year round, It rained a little, primary because it was the end of the rainy season, but there where still a host of things to do

Room Tip: I stayed in the poolside room great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMayo1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Checked this place out on Fri, Nov. 11. Wanted to see if it had a nice restaurant to eat at. It appeared to have been a great place at one time but it is quiet with only a security guard there. He was nice and showed us around. Everything was locked up tight and quiet. Was shown throughout the units too...they were nice but not being used.Asked the taxi driver and he thought the place was for sale.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaDulceLodge, Owner at Agua Dulce Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear madam, With all due respect and apologies for our failure to have people on sight for your visit, we, and many resorts like us, must limit out resources during the rainy season. We cannot keep our lodge staffed when we have no visitors, or are limited by the lack of people traveling in the country due to klimited access because of the weather. If you would like to visit at another time, we would be very happy to accomodate you and demonstrate out hospitality and the amenities of our newly opened (one year ago) resort. We are very proud of Agua Dulce Lodge and have had many positive reviews and responses from those who have had the opportunity to spend some time with us when we asre prepared to receive visitors. My name is Thomas Boyle and I can be reached through this website or at tomboyleatlae @cs.com for further resonse or communication. Thank you, Tom Boyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The condos are great, the pool is fabulous, and the you're right on the beach! You're hidden away from everything, so there's no noise or traffic. Yet the town is just a short drive away, with a fantastic zipline, surfing, kayaking, horseback riding, shopping. And they have a personal chef who will fix you anything you like!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friel695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This resort is a hidden treasure. The main draw is deep sea fishing and we did not even do that - we are not fishermen. The living units were clean, comfortable and air-conditioned. A spectacular pool is great for lounging around and taking an occasional dip to cool off. Macaws and other cool birds are visible in the trees adjacent to the resort and flying overhead. A cool two story clubhouse blends beautifully into the surroundings. The clubhouse is open air and the columns are made of trees that are indigenous to the area. The top floor is an open air restaurant and bar that overlooks the beachfront location of the resort. Both the service and food were excellent. The evening meal often included a fresh fish entry that was caught that day. We were just at the beginning of the rainy season so some of the eco tours were not available, but the zipline trip was and that was really cool. Our children also took a kayaking trip and went surfing - not for beginners. We also took a trip to a beautiful lodge high up and overlooking the Pacific coast and saw white-faced monkeys in the trees on the way home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and due to the timing did not get to do all that is available in season. The only negative I can think of was the lack of closets or dressers in the living units but the owners said they plan to remedy that for next year. For a unique, tropical vacation, I highly recommend Agua Dulce!

Room Tip: Lower numbered units are closer to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimEsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
12.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Dulce Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Dulce Beach Resort

Property: Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Beach Road | Playa Platanres, Puerto Jimenez 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Dulce Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Dulce Beach Resort is the newest and most exciting property on the Osa Peninsula with all the amenities you would expect in an American Style Hotel and Resort. Located just 10 minutes from Puerto Jimenez on a secluded beach. Walk for miles on our beach, or go for an adventure hike to Corcovado National Park, charter a boat for World Class Sport Fishing, or have a dolphin and snorkeling adventure! How about a Horseback Ride, or a Zip Line Canopy Tour? Surfing anyone? Or...you can just kick back and relax around our huge pool with swim up bar! Whatever activities you choose, you will return to a clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned room. Have a spectacular meal in our Restaurant, and then retire to your room where your personal Jacuzzi will be waiting to sooth you to a perfect night sleep one one of our wonderful pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agua Dulce Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Dulce Beach Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing