We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
200
107
39
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
107
39
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsosa peninsulajacuzzi roomcosta ricapot holesrip currentsnice poolpool viewgreat resortrestaurant staffprivate beachtwo queen bedsrooms were very cleanfishair conditioningbreakfast was includeddirt roadrainforest tour
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed a week in Puerto Jimenez. First at the Crocodile Bay Resort which was nice--we were fishing. Because the price to stay at Crocodile when not fishing was so high, we moved out to another location--Agua Dolce. We loved it!!

We stayed at the units right on the beach--the front of the unit faced the water and sunrise--it was brilliant. The rooms were very nice--AC worked well. I agree with other reviewers that the decorations, coffee pots, etc would have been a nice addition. But for the money, I found this to be a wonderful place. The nice thing--breakfast was included in the price. I would go back to stay here.

Room Tip: The view from the front porch of units 1, 2 & 3 makes you think Corona Commercial--palm trees, parrots and sandy beaches leading to the sunrise across the bay. Beautiful!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our vacation at the Agua Dolce Lodge for 9 days was absolutely wonderful!! Chris was very knowledgeable and took care of arranging our stay. The staff was very accomodating and went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. Carlos was a wealth of information and set up all outings we planned. There are numerous activities to satisfy everyone. Take the 5 hour sailboat ride with Kim and Melanie, whom own the boat. It was truly one of the best days of my life! Carlos and Chris are so friendly and are certainly and asset to the resort. Most of the staff speak English. The Lodge itself is beautiful! It sits right on the beach and the sunrises are breathtaking! I watched it very day right from my porch sitting in a rocker. The big pool and hot tub were kept very clean, as well as the grounds (beautiful flowers everywhere). The rooms were also kept spotless. There is A/C in all units. The beach is pristine and secluded - stunning! People from all over the world were staying here and could not have been any nicer. Saw numerous types of birds, flowers and animals right at or around the Lodge. Loved all of the macaws! My husband and I ate most meals at the Agua Dolce Lodge and the food, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, was fabulous. Fresh seafood is caught daily and served for dinner as a special. Can't wait to go back!!! This will be a yearly vacation spot for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Good location but average food and ambience. Not much happening there but a great pool. Friendly staff and good bar next door at The Pearl. For best value rooms book building. 5 6 or 7 overlookingpool. Beds were rock hard and rooms sparsely furnished.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is very good for what it is: a typical resort that you could find anywhere in the world, with a good pool, bar, air-conditioned rooms, on the beach. The beds are very hard and move around, and it seems sort of sterile without much decoration in the rooms, but those are small complaints. This is great if you are fishing and just need somewhere to sleep. What it lacks is the sort of charm easily found elsewhere, where you can be close to the flora and fauna of the Osa and meet all sorts of interesting travellers. If you MUST have air conditioning and a fancy pool, this is fine and a good value. If you are trying to experience costa rica, and like to see lizards and macaws, I might consider another lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room, those have balconies.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzette i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Agua Dulce is a short drive from puerto Jimenez, we found it by accident and we are so happy that we did. We stayed here for 4 days in a beachfront bungalow, they are fantastic. The gulf is just a few steps away, whilst you can sit on your terrace watching the macaws and herons right in front of you. It is honestly like staying within a national park.

The co-owner Mitch is an absolute legend, we had trouble leaving as the hospitality we had been shown was second to none and we didn't want to leave our newly formed family. Mike, an owner of one on he units and long term resident was a delight and added again to the warmth of the surroundings.

Massive thanks to the staff - Wilma, Rozyra, Harry and Minor too for being so fantastic at their jobs. The food and service was spot on.

All in all I would say that if you visit puerto Jimenez without paying them a visit, then you are missing out! Highly recommended....missing them alreAdy.

Colette

P.s one last thing - Minor makes the best cocktails in costa rica ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews