We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY, VERY AVERAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just really average.......Food mediorce, extra charge if you want more for breakfast....Very long ride into town via taxi...$20 RT.....Expensive other food.....Just meh!! Beach is nice.....but other than that, just very ok....Very hot and humid.....

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Timmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaDulceBeachResort, Manager at Agua Dulce Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Traveler,

This reviewer did not stay with us, and we were actually able to have a prior review removed because of the content. Yet still, this reviewer somehow still feels the need to post a poor review that follows Trip Advisor's guidelines.

Because of the lack of activity from this reviewer, 2 reviews, the fact that no other reviews exist for the reviewers visit to the Osa Peninsula, or anywhere during their travels in Costa Rica, the fact that one review was already removed, and the short and vague nature, leads me to only one conclusion. Without proof, I am certain this is an attempt by a competitor to defame our Property. Also, why would so many find such a vague review helpful?

Agua Dulce Beach Resort is located 8 degrees from the equator on the beach in a tropical rainforest. Of course it is hot and humid. However, as the only property of our style on the beach in our area, we have Air Conditioning!

Again, as evidenced in my other reviews we are not a very long ride to town. We are exactly 5km from the center of the Town of Puerto Jimenez.

I hope that you, as a savvy Trip Advisor Traveler, will see through this ruse.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Agua Dulce last year for two weeks and had a fantastic time! We decided to make it three weeks this year! We found it still wasn't long enough! Maybe four weeks next time! What more can I say, great place lovely attentive staff and beautiful surroundings, excellent!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I planned for many years to visit the Osa Peninsula and Puerto Jiminez and Agua Dulce Beach Resort did Not disappoint. The staff was upbeat and friendly; they learned your name and made you feel like family. Carlos and his team were eager to set up tours to the chocolate plantation, zip lining, boat cruises or any of the numerous things there are to do in the area. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, large and comfortable. The pool is warm and refreshing with ample number of lounge chairs and umbrella’s for sitting and visiting with other guests, sunning or reading a book. The restaurant is situated above the reception area with views of the ocean and gives one the feel of being in a tree house overlooking the beauty that surrounds Agua Dulce fabulously well maintained grounds. There are Scarlet Macaws feeding on the Almond Trees and Green Parrots that can be easily seen. Breakfast is free and includes orange juice, a beautifully arranged plate of fresh fruit like mango, papaya, pineapple, banana and melon, café (coffee) and a menu that includes items such as French toast, quiche and traditional American cuisine. Lunch and dinner menus are also available or you can travel the short 3 miles into town for pizza, seafood, spaghetti or visit the local “Soda” for a traditional meal of black beans, rice and plantains. This was my first visit to Agua Dulce but I hope it will not be my last. Thanks to everyone, Carlos, Harry, Minor, Rebecca, Marlon and Ingrid whose beautiful smile peaking out from the kitchen made my day every morning.

Room Tip: There are no bad suites however the ones overlooking the ocean was fantastic for watching the sun ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cottagegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our stay at Agua Dulce was a pleasure from start to finish. All the staff from check in to gardeners were always smiling and extremely helpful if needed. We weren't sure where we were going to stay that night but kept seeing signs saying Agua Dulce resort just 60mins, then 30mins, etc., so we decided to check it out. So glad we did. It's located right on the Golfo Dulce just south of Puerto Jimènez on the Penìnsula de Osa. The pool was tropically warm, the ocean just across the road, breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, coffee and an entree choice, which came free with your room. We had a very nice bedroom with a sitting room and private bath and a wonderful deck on which you could sit and watch gorgeous birds in the spacious trees surrounding the property. We totally enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it to anyone wanting a little piece of paradise. Only thing I would say negative would be about the last 5-6K of the road was gravel and washboarded.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool have a view but you could hear noise from the open air bar/restaurant/pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you want to visit the Osa Peninsula this would be a good, comfortable place to stay.

Pros:
1) Beautiful location. They have parrots flying wild on the property.

2) Property is well maintained (Note the beach is rough and 'raw' - Lots of debris on the beach and rocks in the water - bring water shoes).

3) Staff is pleasant and works hard (except for the receptionist - She probably shouldn’t be working there).

4) Rooms are large and fairly clean.

5) Breakfast was very good.

Cons:
1) Toilet paper cannot be flushed down the toilet - Must be placed in the waste basket - Hot, humid weather…use your imagination.

2) Bugs in the rooms. Every night before bed we had to remove at least 2-3 lizards from the room - not sure where they were coming in from. There were also large ants in the rooms. This is the jungle so I guess this is sort of expected.

3) Didn’t like the 'cool white' florescent lighting in the rooms (not relaxing).

4) Beds are terrible. The mattresses were very hard and the legs were falling off. Other guests had made this comment before and the manager 'Chris' replied by saying "we have recently purchased new pillow top mattresses and installed them in each of our Beachfront and Poolside Suites". This is simply not true. We stayed in one of those rooms a while after the post was made and there was no pillow top mattress our room.

5) No safe in the room or place to lock up your stuff. We had a knife and another small thing taken by the cleaning staff. We assumed this was an honest mistake.

6) No phone in rooms.

7) No TV in rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Some G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stunning beach, wonderful place, warm and friendly staff, great food, excluded location and extremely restful

The only bad things I found were that the beds were too hard for my taste, the sheets were very abrasive and the water pressure for the shower and jacuzzi was not strong enough.

Despite that I will definitely return to this location. The staff goes out of their way to get to know you & make your stay relaxing. They are an awesome group of people. Thanks Ginnette, Rebecca, Minor, Eric and the rest of the staff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our suite was spacious with a separate living room, bedroom, bathroom with huge shower and Jacuzzi room. The rooms were kept cool with ceiling fans and a quiet powerful air conditioner. A delicious breakfast (great coffee) was included each morning. We could sat on the porch rockers and throughout the week we saw many species of birds including parrots and scarlet macaws as well as howler monkeys, lizards, geckos and iguanas. The pool was beautiful but we only went in 2 or three times because the beach and inviting ocean surf were only a little further. The dinners were good but there was another good one just down the beach and a few more in Puerto Jimenez so we didn't get bored with the food. An excellent tour guide took us to Matapalo and to the waterfall. We saw an amazing amount of birds and animals. Other available activities included the zip line tour, kayaking in the mangroves and touring the chocolate "farm". Jeanette and Chris were very helpful arranging the activities for us. Although we went as a couple, I can imagine it being a great family place being both fun and educational. Pura Vida for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holdened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
551 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
184 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
12.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Dulce Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Dulce Beach Resort

Address: 1000 Beach Road | Playa Platanres, Puerto Jimenez 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Dulce Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Dulce Beach Resort is the newest and most exciting property on the Osa Peninsula with all the amenities you would expect in an American Style Hotel and Resort. Located just 10 minutes from Puerto Jimenez on a secluded beach. Walk for miles on our beach, or go for an adventure hike to Corcovado National Park, charter a boat for World Class Sport Fishing, or have a dolphin and snorkeling adventure! How about a Horseback Ride, or a Zip Line Canopy Tour? Surfing anyone? Or...you can just kick back and relax around our huge pool with swim up bar! Whatever activities you choose, you will return to a clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned room. Have a spectacular meal in our Restaurant, and then retire to your room where your personal Jacuzzi will be waiting to sooth you to a perfect night sleep one one of our wonderful pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agua Dulce Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Dulce Beach Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing