We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“papegojja !! one swedish family and a lot of americans...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“papegojja !! one swedish family and a lot of americans...”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place with fantastic rooms, beside the beach, nice pool, lovely restaurant, great service and helpful staff really made our stay on the OSA a highlight of the holidays. We were the only family from north europe, which was fun. with this place as our startpoint we managed to do some seafishing, dolphine watching, surfschool for our kids, visit to Corcovado and all that fixed for good price in town. Puerto J is a nice town with a couple of nice bakeries and costa rican life, the cow and horse ranches towards corcovado were quite nice and birdlife is superb! our kids thought it was great fun driving through the rivers with our 4x4...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spijkermansweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    99
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
99
145
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Agua Dulce Beach Resort. Place is very clean, simple but very nice. Rooms in front of the swimming pool have a great view ! We booked Corcovado trekking and Dolphin tour in the hotel and it was great !
We definitly recommand this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneetsophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I highly recommend Agua Dulce resort. I stayed for two heavenly nights and days, a footsteps to the pristine waters of the Golf of Dulce. Waking up with the sun rising over the Golf, a quick swim in the clear water waves and the off to a scrumptious complimentary breakfast with a variety of local fresh fruit and a diverse offering of eggs. Especially delicious are the Coconut pancakes. The staff is very friendly and always accomodating with a smile. The rooms are very spacious with cathedral like ceilings and the hot tub is luxurious. I had one sushi dinner at the resort that was absolutely delicious. The grounds re groomed immaculately and there is a beautiful large pool. I would recommend this resort for a romantic stay and also for family with kids, as they are very welcoming to and equipped for children. Enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean front is a good choice with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sixtina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Wow! My partner and I had an absolutely fantastic experience at Agua Dulce Beach Resort on the pristine shores of Playa Platanares, outside the engaging and dynamic town of Puerto Jimenez, on the world-famous Osa Peninsula, home of Corcovado National Park. Having lived in Costa Rica for 20 years now, and visited hundreds of lodges and resorts here, I can say with high confidence that THESE lodgings are without question one of the best in this area, and definitely the best in the class of 'modern beach resort' (especially for couples and families). The staff was very professional yet open and friendly, the service was exemplary, and the spacious rooms and amenities made our stay extremely comfortable. And the restaurant . . . . you definitely should try their fantastic sushi! We'll be staying there again soon for sure :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just really average.......Food mediorce, extra charge if you want more for breakfast....Very long ride into town via taxi...$20 RT.....Expensive other food.....Just meh!! Beach is nice.....but other than that, just very ok....Very hot and humid.....

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AguaDulceBeachResort, Manager at Agua Dulce Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Traveler,

This reviewer did not stay with us, and we were actually able to have a prior review removed because of the content. Yet still, this reviewer somehow still feels the need to post a poor review that follows Trip Advisor's guidelines.

Because of the lack of activity from this reviewer, 2 reviews, the fact that no other reviews exist for the reviewers visit to the Osa Peninsula, or anywhere during their travels in Costa Rica, the fact that one review was already removed, and the short and vague nature, leads me to only one conclusion. Without proof, I am certain this is an attempt by a competitor to defame our Property. Also, why would so many find such a vague review helpful?

Agua Dulce Beach Resort is located 8 degrees from the equator on the beach in a tropical rainforest. Of course it is hot and humid. However, as the only property of our style on the beach in our area, we have Air Conditioning!

Again, as evidenced in my other reviews we are not a very long ride to town. We are exactly 5km from the center of the Town of Puerto Jimenez.

I hope that you, as a savvy Trip Advisor Traveler, will see through this ruse.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Agua Dulce last year for two weeks and had a fantastic time! We decided to make it three weeks this year! We found it still wasn't long enough! Maybe four weeks next time! What more can I say, great place lovely attentive staff and beautiful surroundings, excellent!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I planned for many years to visit the Osa Peninsula and Puerto Jiminez and Agua Dulce Beach Resort did Not disappoint. The staff was upbeat and friendly; they learned your name and made you feel like family. Carlos and his team were eager to set up tours to the chocolate plantation, zip lining, boat cruises or any of the numerous things there are to do in the area. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, large and comfortable. The pool is warm and refreshing with ample number of lounge chairs and umbrella’s for sitting and visiting with other guests, sunning or reading a book. The restaurant is situated above the reception area with views of the ocean and gives one the feel of being in a tree house overlooking the beauty that surrounds Agua Dulce fabulously well maintained grounds. There are Scarlet Macaws feeding on the Almond Trees and Green Parrots that can be easily seen. Breakfast is free and includes orange juice, a beautifully arranged plate of fresh fruit like mango, papaya, pineapple, banana and melon, café (coffee) and a menu that includes items such as French toast, quiche and traditional American cuisine. Lunch and dinner menus are also available or you can travel the short 3 miles into town for pizza, seafood, spaghetti or visit the local “Soda” for a traditional meal of black beans, rice and plantains. This was my first visit to Agua Dulce but I hope it will not be my last. Thanks to everyone, Carlos, Harry, Minor, Rebecca, Marlon and Ingrid whose beautiful smile peaking out from the kitchen made my day every morning.

Room Tip: There are no bad suites however the ones overlooking the ocean was fantastic for watching the sun ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cottagegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
12.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Dulce Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Dulce Beach Resort

Property: Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Beach Road | Playa Platanres, Puerto Jimenez 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Dulce Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Dulce Beach Resort is the newest and most exciting property on the Osa Peninsula with all the amenities you would expect in an American Style Hotel and Resort. Located just 10 minutes from Puerto Jimenez on a secluded beach. Walk for miles on our beach, or go for an adventure hike to Corcovado National Park, charter a boat for World Class Sport Fishing, or have a dolphin and snorkeling adventure! How about a Horseback Ride, or a Zip Line Canopy Tour? Surfing anyone? Or...you can just kick back and relax around our huge pool with swim up bar! Whatever activities you choose, you will return to a clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned room. Have a spectacular meal in our Restaurant, and then retire to your room where your personal Jacuzzi will be waiting to sooth you to a perfect night sleep one one of our wonderful pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Agua Dulce Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Dulce Beach Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing