We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gulf beach, pool and macaw watching! Tough road out, but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Aurora, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gulf beach, pool and macaw watching! Tough road out, but worth it!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights and had a beach facing room. The rooms are pretty standard, clean, with refrig, no microwave, the bathroom HUGE with Jacuzzi tub and shower. The wooden porch with rocking chairs facing the gulf with a cup of coffee...fantastico! Relaxing...We saw macaws from out front porch! The gulf waters were warm clear and beautiful. The pool is nice and the open air restaurant is beautiful, albeit a bit expensive. The food was really good. The staff was friendly and helpful. Harry went the extra mile to help us. Thanks Harry! They have bikes to use onsite.
The road out to this place is rough with pot holes THE ENTIRE WAY, so be prepared...but once you get there it is worth it! This place is not as much a "quick stay over" as a destination, so spend a few days. We would go back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach...fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    99
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
98
144
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in Beach front room number one. Very big. Two rooms with double beds and a sitting room in between. After staying in jungle for four days loved the clean air conditioned rooms. Kids loved Iguanas outside, pool and beach across the street. Front desk set up tours and taxis for us. Dolphin and animal sanctuary tour (should not be missed), chocolate, zip line and kayak tour. Great breakfast included. Ten minute taxi ride to town/beach/airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We very much appreciate the staff at Agua Dulce. They went out of their way to salvage a birthday dinner that I inadvertently sabotaged. Breakfasts were great, and the pool was enjoyable. The beach was lovely and solitary.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hoovaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We chose this hotel after there was a big problem with the first place we booked. The Aqua Dulce was a nice place and a great relief after our disaster at Danta Lodge ( do not book that place, it was horrible).

Aqua Dulce is a good location and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. We did a nice excursion, the Matapolo rain forest tour.

I think the rate for the room was very reasonable and I recommend this hotel especially if you would like a beach front property.

Becky

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the beach as possible and on the second floor for nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialplacescr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lots of wildlife around this place.. macaws, monkeys, reptiles, ... is a nice treat. This place is very accessible for wheelchair users, it's flat with spacious rooms, very clean, nice big pool too. The staff are friendly and helpful. When we were there the beautiful beach had calm clear water with gentle waves breaking off shore... perfect for a gimp who wants to go in the ocean. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: ocean or pool front rooms have nicer views and less mosquitos when you walk out the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotwheelsVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Agua Dulce Beach Resort truly exceeded our expectations!
After a long trip from Europe the Agua Dulce was our first stop in Costa Rica - and what a great start. The welcome and service at the front desk was very warm and friendly. Our room was just perfect. Spacious and spotless clean. Great bathroom. AC helped to cool us down.
The pool was more than inviting, clean, just perfect. Our girls (6 and 8) loved it and the 27 hours (!) travel time from Germanywe forgot in a second after being able to enjoy the nice pool. The Restaurant is so nicely situated and with open views, nice and breezy - we could not have wished for anything more.
The beautiful beach is just steps away, and it is just amazing.
Seeing the red macaws flying over us.....it was a personal dream come true!

The booking procedure went smoothly and all questions were answered very quick and professionally. Chris, the Manager, was extremely nice and helpful with all questions we had and he also recommended the perfect tour guide for our 3-day hike into the Corcovado. Chris, we loved the stay at your Hotel and we will always keep it in good Memory. It was the perfect start for our Costa Rica experience. We cannot thank you enough! All the best from Germany.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfito, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Agua Dulce a few weeks ago while visiting Puerto Jimenez on business. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the sound of the beach was very welcoming after a long day on the road. This resort is high on our "visit list" for friends, family and business clients. Get up early and watch the sunrise!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernZoneRealtors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Dulce Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Dulce Beach Resort

Property: Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Address: 1000 Beach Road | Playa Platanres, Puerto Jimenez 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Dulce Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Dulce Beach Resort is the newest and most exciting property on the Osa Peninsula with all the amenities you would expect in an American Style Hotel and Resort. Located just 10 minutes from Puerto Jimenez on a secluded beach. Walk for miles on our beach, or go for an adventure hike to Corcovado National Park, charter a boat for World Class Sport Fishing, or have a dolphin and snorkeling adventure! How about a Horseback Ride, or a Zip Line Canopy Tour? Surfing anyone? Or...you can just kick back and relax around our huge pool with swim up bar! Whatever activities you choose, you will return to a clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned room. Have a spectacular meal in our Restaurant, and then retire to your room where your personal Jacuzzi will be waiting to sooth you to a perfect night sleep one one of our wonderful pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agua Dulce Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Dulce Beach Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing