We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Tropicales
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
156
14
2
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
14
2
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showershared kitchenthe ownermark's placecorcovado national parkhot waterhis soncosta ricasmall courtyardair conother guestshighly recommend staying herewatch birdsrestaurant recommendationswifi worked wellnice guydeluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The owner was very accommodating and friendly. There were some last minute additions to the hotel and he gave up his personal room for them to stay in. We had the room with the outdoor shower and it was awesome. The air worked well and the courtyard area was a cool place to hang up.
The neighborhood is a little rough looking, but everyone is very friendly and it is very safe. It is a short walk to the beach bar, to "downtown" with the collectivos, and right next to the airport. It is also incredibly affordable for what you get.
Puerto Jimenez seems a little rough around the edges at first, but it grows on you and is one of my favorite places in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otis3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I arrived in Puerto Jimenez and after wandering 10 minutes decided to stop at a local store to have a soda. I asked the owner if he could recommend a place to stay and it turns out we were right next to Cabinas Tropicales. We went next door to check it out and when we entered Cabinas Tropicales we were greeted with a beautiful entrance full of tropical flowers and fruit trees. There is a beautiful outdoor kitchen and lounge area which is full of pictures of fishing trips and information about various trips you can do while in the area. We talked with the owner Mark Corn and luckily he had a room. We got the choice spot and had a great room off of a small garden patio with an outdoor shower and bathroom. I can't tell you how cool it is to get to shower under the sun and stars. I even had a hummingbird visit me while I was brushing my teeth...not something you get to see everyday where I am from. The room was basic but nice, clean and had air conditioning and towels; very well priced. The outdoor kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to cook and the hotel is located next to a small grocery store so you can buy all the necessities to make your food. You have use of the refrigerator and there is even a cool set up for grilling if you choose. Mark was super helpful and knowledgeable and it is almost worth a trip just to meet him and hear some of his great fishing stories. I will definitely go back and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice laid back place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My travel companion and I literally stumbled upon this hideaway and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the end of Nov 2012. The room was basic but spacious and clean with plenty of storage for our two packs and still space to move. We had A/C, the beds were comfy and with a terrific outdoor washroom along with open air shower we didn't mind splurging the $40/night. We spent a fair bit of our "down time" just relaxing and playing yahtzee in the covered outdoor communal area by the shared (also outdoor) kitchen. I would love to set up a summer kitchen like Marks! The location is off the beaten path so is quiet and peaceful yet it's less than a 5 minute hop to the beach or the main drag. Plus, there's a small convenience store right next door for emergency items. Besides giving us some local pointers and a cool kayaking destination Mark was helpful in getting us bus schedules, arranging taxi and route sorting for the next leg of our trip. Thanks Mark, let us know how your herb garden is coming along...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritasBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Great little place,....clean rooms , reasonable rates... close to town... owner Mark , nice guy ,very knowledgeable and helpful with arranging things to do... One of the features I really liked under the rancho( open air covered area) is the facilities to hang out and cook your own meals...mark has a refrig you can store some food and then has great outside kitchen at your disposal... really great place to interact w/ other guests. Just a fun place ... Oh! ask mark about some of his fish stories... he's goes fishing for the big ones!!!! I recommend this place whole heartedly...

Room Tip: facing the yard near rancho area
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed a total of 5 nights. Planned on staying just a couple but really enjoyed the atmosphere and amenities that we ended up staying longer. Mark, the owner allowed us to safely store our things for free while we hiked through Corcovado for 3 days. He is very laid back and helpful with planning activities and local attractions and eateries. He is great for sharing a fishing trip story or two! The Cabinas had everything we needed for such a great price. It was very clean, hot showers, even a room with an outdoor shower, which is a nice touch. Having air conditioning was also very helpful, as it gets very hot there. The outdoor kitchen area was perfect. Mark has everything you need to cook with. We were able to cook our meals, watch the colorful birds eating fruit at the feeder, and chat with other people from around the world about our experiences so far. We would absolutely stay at Cabinas Tropicales again! Thanks Mark.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the room we stayed in with the outdoor shower and private garden area was a nice touch.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews