We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean and relaxing place”
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Tropicales
Ranked #3 of 13 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, clean and relaxing place”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Tropical Cabins is a wonderful, clean, with a beautiful garden where they get to eat different types of birds, fully equipped kitchen. Mark the owner serving us excellent way and helped us with valuable information about different places that we could enjoy in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    14
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
27
72
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

In two months preparation for CR trip we exchanged 34 emails with Mark Corn, the owner of Cabinas Tropicales. Mark is a wealth of knowledge, he helped us to arrange the best rout into and out of Corcovado, selected the best guide, was very patient with my questions.
Cabinas Tropicales has really family feel. Mark feeds not just birds (the best toucan shot I made in his backyard), but friends, locals, and hotel guests. He offered us fresh fish, and his papaya served us as two lunches in Corcovado. And it is not just us, Mark was instrumental and arranged a flight and guide to Corcovado, and taxi back from Carate to another guests.
Corcovado animals, birds, jungle and rivers and ocean shore are highlights of Costa Rica trip - but it deserve separate review. On our way back from the park, we spent another night at Cabinas Tropicales. - it was two room suite, comfortable, shower with hot water - civilization!
On this Christmas day (serving dinner for 12 people), Mark called us a taxi for next morning - 4:15 AM. And the taxi was on time!
There is a lot of wild life within few walking minutes from Cabinas Tropicales - we saw cayman, crocodile, lizards, egrets, turkey vultures, and many other birds.

Room Tip: Contact Mark early - his occupancy rate is high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Cabinas Tropicales is a nice and quiet place to stay. We stayed here before and after our three day trip to Corcovado National Park, and were able to leave any extra luggage behind during the hike. The rooms are very clean, there is a large kitchen area with all the necessary utensils to make meals, and a comfortable common area where you can sit on a sofa or hammocks. For those nature lovers, the place attracts many types of birds to the gardens for some great photo opportunities. The place also offers two bikes, which are in great shape, for anyone to use if they feel like riding around town. The owner, Mark, is very hospitable and can help arrange any tours you might be interested in, or even help call for take out! Very relaxing atmosphere and strongly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_B587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place is beautiful with tons of great plants, flowers, and bird feeders to attract birds all day long.It's very clean and the rooms are comfortable. There is a large kitchen area and everything you need for preparing meals. There are tables, a sofa, and hammocks for relaxing, and a number of books and notices with information about the area and the wildlife.

Mark, the owner (US native, speaks English), has been there for many years and is a wealth of information about everything. He can set you up with tours, activities, or directions to anywhere or anything you want to do. The place is very comfortable and the owner does everything he can to be sure everyone has everything they need. There are even bicycles available for the guests if you want to bike around the area.

The town is small, so everything is within an easy walk from the hostel. There are many restaurants, shops, a couple banks, produce markets, and a good supermarket available. It's quiet, and we weren't disturbed with any noise from the neighborhood or other guests. The rooms also have air conditioning and hot water.

We enjoyed meeting the fellow travelers, a very nice an international group of people. We really liked this beautiful, relaxed, and laid back area. and thought the hostel was an excellent value for the money. We will definitely stay there again on return trips.

Room Tip: A couple rooms have outside showers. I thought it was really fun to see the sky or the stars while s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Last week (Dec 2013) I stayed for the second time at Cabinas Tropicales and I was as pleased with my return visit as I was with the first. Whether hanging in Puerto Jimenez or just passing through on your way out of Corcovado National Park (as I was), Cabinas Tropicales is a great place to stay. The owner Mark is a friendly guy and as far as the accommodations: The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the wi-fi worked well, the shower was hot and the AC was cold. And it was in close walking distance to the beach and places to eat. It was exactly what I was looking for after spending several days in Corcovado! I plan on staying there again the next time I'm in the Osa Peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewendling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Cabinas Tropicales is a great place to stay, recommended for its tranquility, proximity to various places of interest in the area.

The atmosphere is very calm, very helpful staff, rooms are very clean.

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D4V1D107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is one of the places were it took us a day to get settled in, but once we did, we really felt at home. The rooms are very simple and could use a little more personal touch. However they were clean and the AC was super quiet - very nice.

The heart of the cabinas is the shared kitchen / common area outside. There you will find Marc, the owner, who can tell you a lot of interesting stories and who is a great source of info about the area. He'll also help you organize any kind of tour you want. You'll also get to know some of the other travellers. And during the day you will find all kinds of birds in the garden, even Tucans snacking on the papaya trees.

For us this place was the one that felt most like home during our four week vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzikshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Property: Cabinas Tropicales
Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Tropicales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing