We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Tropicales
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
156
14
2
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
14
2
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showershared kitchenthe ownermark's placecorcovado national parkhot waterhis soncosta ricasmall courtyardair conother guestshighly recommend staying herewatch birdsrestaurant recommendationswifi worked wellnice guydeluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at Cabinas Tropicales with my family for 5 nights around New Year. We booked three spacious rooms . Mark , the owner is very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. . He takes good care of his guests . He made all the arrangements for several trips ,from renting kayaks to organizing a three day trip to Corcovado. He always knew who could provide the best service for what we wanted to do. One of the things we enjoyed most was meeting the other guests around the outdoor kitchen. Mark really made our first trip to Costa Rica a success.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My hubby and I spent a month in CR, Marks place was near the end of our holiday. During our vacation we experienced several types off accomadations and by far Marks was our favorite( over a 5 star lodge). Mark is a warm and kind person, making you feel right at home. The layout is a cozy tropical garden, with a inviting open kitchen and hangout spot. The rooms are quaint and cozy, best sleeps we had ! Everything is close by to explore. The value does not reflect the quality, for a really costa rician feel and a kind and caring host this place is a 10 star. Thanks mark!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessacorps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Cabinas tropicales is a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Jimenez : nice prices for all the confort you need! Mark was like a friend, helping us for whatever we needed, guiding us for what we wanted to do, at any time (and lending us bikes !). We were feeling like being at home and really enjoyed the place!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank casandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Cabinas Tropicales for 5 nights, with one night away at Sirena Ranger Station in Corcovado. Mark was a great source of information and helped coordinate many of our activities. Thanks to him we were able to go kayaking and see a pod of over 100 dolphins on a boat in the Gulf. While in Puerto Jimenez we did not have a car, and Mark was kind enough to help us organize taxi rides whenever we needed them. Mark let us use the Cabinas phone to get in touch with organizations when necessary, which was extremely convenient.

We spent a lot of time in the open kitchen area and shared outdoor space with fellow guests, talking about our experiences on the Osa Peninsula. The kitchen was very convenient; we often bought food at the local grocery (there was a shop next door!) and prepared breakfast and sometimes dinner in the kitchen. Small songbirds joined us as they munched on papayas on a feeding stand just in front of our table. Having the kitchen gave us the experience of not just visiting, but actual living in Puerto Jimenez.

During our two-day trip to Corcovado National Park, Mark stored our luggage for no added charge and had already moved our things into our new room when we returned. He also invited us to his family's New Years celebration on the beach, where we and some of his other guests watched the fireworks.

The Cabinas are a short walk from the airport, beach area, and "downtown." Mark has two bikes that we borrowed, which were a nice way to get around a bit more quickly. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and most importantly, air-conditioned! The outdoor shower had beautiful plants and was a wonderful way to wash off the sand. The Cabinas are budget-friendly if you're not looking for a fancy resort-like environment, but for a more family-friendly experience. We would definitely recommend Cabinas Tropicales to anyone visiting Puerto Jimenez.

Room Tip: Having a room with an outdoor shower was great, though the room is a bit smaller than the loft room we stayed in after our Corcovado trip.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Tropical Cabins is a wonderful, clean, with a beautiful garden where they get to eat different types of birds, fully equipped kitchen. Mark the owner serving us excellent way and helped us with valuable information about different places that we could enjoy in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews