We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean rooms and great outdoor kitchen area”
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Tropicales
Ranked #3 of 13 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean rooms and great outdoor kitchen area”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked this hostel spontaneously and the owner was really nice helping us to find another location for the second night since he was booked out already and was giving us a lot of other information as well. We really enjoyed the one night we stayed at this place! The rooms are really clean and modern with air conditioner and so was the bathroom which was located half-outside. Best thing about this hostel is the hugh outside kitchen area with hammocks to relax and free wifi. Also bikes are available for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    14
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
26
72
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We returned this year for another dose of fun and chats at the colorful Cabinas-Tropicales. Whether you need permits, food, and guides to hike/fly into the fabulous Osa Corcorvado National Park or do the some of the 'secret' fun things there are to do around Puerto Jiminez, Captain Mark Corn is your man. Many people arrive a bit unprepared for the hot steamy wilds of the OSA, and Captain Mark gives the kind of info that saves lives, connects them with the best guides.. While cooking in Cabinas Tropicales well exquipped Rancho kitchen we enjoy having drinks and hearing traveler reports as people return from their unforgettable experiences in the Corcovado. Now for the 'secret' part. Psst. You don't have to leave Puerto Jiminez to have a great time. Kayak around and soak up the exotic beauty of the Golfo Dulce, up haunting manglar jungle rivers with colorful crabs, birds, and even iguanas peeking out from the shadows..... Take a bike ride or kayak over to the spectacular Playa Precisiosa and picnic or swim. If you arrive early you can watch the sunrise over Vulcan Baru in Panama!! Then when you return hang out in a hammock or take a heavenly nap in your room with AC. There is more. Captain Mark Corn is a bonafide sport fishing guide, with years of experience in the area. Or if fishing is not your sport, Mark can arrange a dolphin watching/snorkeling boat tour for you. Bird watching is simply amazing in Puerto Jiminez, with many species observable on the at Cabinas Tropicales or on nearby manglar trails. At night, walk from Cabinas Tropicales for some delicious food at one of the waterfront cafes. Absolutely beautiful ! NEW! This year Captain Mark had two free bikes for guest to use, with plans for kayaks in the future and maybe even a new budget backpacker place near the playa.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the private outdoor bath and shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Where do I start? Mark is a fantastic and genuine character. Within 15 minutes of arriving at Cabinas Tropicales, Mark had begun giving us our options on ways to do explore Corcovado National Park. He organized everything for us, from our flights in, our guide for the 2 days, our sleeping arrangements, and transport back. If you haven't planned your visit to Corcavado, Mark is the person to speak to. The lodging was the most beautiful of our 3 month trip. The rooms were spotless accompanied by outside showers (in the moonlight). The communal outdoor kitchen is massive, and faces his beautiful garden which attracts all birds from Hummingbirds to Tucans. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops in the main town. He has great wi fi in the communal area and rooms closest to the kitchen. All in all, this was a fantastic stay, and would recommend it to everyone. I have nothing bad to say about Cabinas Tropicales.

Room Tip: The room across the kitchen, tucked in the corner has it's own outside private shower and privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We highly recommend staying here-especially before (and after) doing the hike to corcovado. Mark, the owner , is very helpful with everything - from organising things to storing your luggage while you are on the hike. But even if you dont to the hike it is a great and relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was so enraptured with Cabinas Tropicales that I stayed much longer than I had planned. I loved sitting in the open-air rancho every morning, coffee cup in hand, watching the birds flying in to feed from the special tables set out front in the shade of the lush tropical garden. Hummingbirds flit around the glorious blooms of the lobster claw heliconias. I even had a hummingbird nest just one metre from my door, in the bougainvillea bushes that cover the fence in a tangled profusion of hot pink and coral blossoms. The owner, Mark, was extremely helpful in organising my trip into Corcodova. He suggested that I fly in and walk out, which was a fabulous option, given the gruelling long and humid trek along the hot sands carrying a small pack....for someone my age, and although I am relatively fit and used to hot weather, one way was quite enough!
The rooms are very clean, the mattresses are extremely comfortable, and the air-conditioning works a treat. Upon my return from Corcodova, I even had the room with the outdoor shower, which, in the tropics, is a real treat!
Cabinas Tropicales is just a short walk from the airport, and a short walk from the gulf, where i could indulge in some long distance swims.There are also a couple of bikes available to ride into the town centre...just three minutes away. So, all in all, just a perfect spot for me. I can't say enough about my stay..it was brilliant from start to finish. Thank you Mark for making my stay so wonderful. You really have created a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We can highly recommend the Cabinas Tropicales.
The place is really beautiful, as you can already read in the other comments.
Most valuable to us were the tips Mark gave us. He really knows Puerto Jimenez and
his advice in getting a guide (Nito, best guide you can get) for Corcovado was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felix_hamburg_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at Cabinas Tropicales with my family for 5 nights around New Year. We booked three spacious rooms . Mark , the owner is very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. . He takes good care of his guests . He made all the arrangements for several trips ,from renting kayaks to organizing a three day trip to Corcovado. He always knew who could provide the best service for what we wanted to do. One of the things we enjoyed most was meeting the other guests around the outdoor kitchen. Mark really made our first trip to Costa Rica a success.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Property: Cabinas Tropicales
Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Tropicales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing