We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Tropicales
Ranked #3 of 12 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Mark is a very genial host at the Cabinas. He is welcoming and helps you feel settled in quickly, it seems little is a problem. He was exceptionally knowledgeable about the area, with many recommendations about places to eat or drink. Marcos also has a big network of guides and locals to help organise anything you need for heading in or out of Corcavado (he is also a fine fisherman if his photos are anything to go by!).

The rooms themselves are very comfortable and represent excellent value in my opinion. They are clean and tidy, the beds comfortable and showers flowing with hot water. Of course it is not a luxury hotel but then it would not have the charm that this places does. The communal eating areas are a good way to chat or catch Mark if you have any questions.

Puerto Jim is small enough to walk around in a short time so the Cabinas are well placed. Also despite being very close to the airstrip the little traffic that there is (even in high season) means this is not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    14
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
26
71
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I traveled to Costa Rica in July 2012 with three of my friends. We were originally just going to stay at the Cabinas for one night then hit the road the next day. Mark was so helpful and welcoming that we decided to stay another night with him. He cooked a great meal for us and even called someone to bring us some horses to ride on the beach. Mark's son took us on a mini tour to see some local wildlife which was great too.
Mark's helpfulness lasted even after we left and went to the other side of the country when I realized I had left my passport at the Cabinas. Mark had my passport flown to me without hesitation.
I think this spot would be even better for a long term stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taggrtmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have no doubt that I made the best choice when I decided to stay at Cabinas Tropicales. Mark the owner welcomes you and makes you feel at home right away. The cabins are clean and have silent A/C and the beds are confortable. The property has nice gardens and the outside kitchen and area to stay is great. Is a short walk to the airport in Jimenez, rent a cars and places to eat, also a short walk to the main street in town. Ask Mark for places to eat and things to do, he will provide the best options for sure. I only wish I could stay longer. Thank you Mark!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josevalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great spot to stay before and after Corcovado. Mark is very hospitable and provided great recommendations and directions for activities and restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean and comfortable and each has AC, which is a nice touch in steamy Puerto Jimenez. The shared kitchen is great and he also has a couple of bikes that you can use to poke around town. Mark will also securely store your luggage while you make your trek into the park. My only complaint would be that the walls are thin so bring earplugs in case you have noisy neighbors.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank little_bee_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked this hostel spontaneously and the owner was really nice helping us to find another location for the second night since he was booked out already and was giving us a lot of other information as well. We really enjoyed the one night we stayed at this place! The rooms are really clean and modern with air conditioner and so was the bathroom which was located half-outside. Best thing about this hostel is the hugh outside kitchen area with hammocks to relax and free wifi. Also bikes are available for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We returned this year for another dose of fun and chats at the colorful Cabinas-Tropicales. Whether you need permits, food, and guides to hike/fly into the fabulous Osa Corcorvado National Park or do the some of the 'secret' fun things there are to do around Puerto Jiminez, Captain Mark Corn is your man. Many people arrive a bit unprepared for the hot steamy wilds of the OSA, and Captain Mark gives the kind of info that saves lives, connects them with the best guides.. While cooking in Cabinas Tropicales well exquipped Rancho kitchen we enjoy having drinks and hearing traveler reports as people return from their unforgettable experiences in the Corcovado. Now for the 'secret' part. Psst. You don't have to leave Puerto Jiminez to have a great time. Kayak around and soak up the exotic beauty of the Golfo Dulce, up haunting manglar jungle rivers with colorful crabs, birds, and even iguanas peeking out from the shadows..... Take a bike ride or kayak over to the spectacular Playa Precisiosa and picnic or swim. If you arrive early you can watch the sunrise over Vulcan Baru in Panama!! Then when you return hang out in a hammock or take a heavenly nap in your room with AC. There is more. Captain Mark Corn is a bonafide sport fishing guide, with years of experience in the area. Or if fishing is not your sport, Mark can arrange a dolphin watching/snorkeling boat tour for you. Bird watching is simply amazing in Puerto Jiminez, with many species observable on the at Cabinas Tropicales or on nearby manglar trails. At night, walk from Cabinas Tropicales for some delicious food at one of the waterfront cafes. Absolutely beautiful ! NEW! This year Captain Mark had two free bikes for guest to use, with plans for kayaks in the future and maybe even a new budget backpacker place near the playa.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the private outdoor bath and shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Where do I start? Mark is a fantastic and genuine character. Within 15 minutes of arriving at Cabinas Tropicales, Mark had begun giving us our options on ways to do explore Corcovado National Park. He organized everything for us, from our flights in, our guide for the 2 days, our sleeping arrangements, and transport back. If you haven't planned your visit to Corcavado, Mark is the person to speak to. The lodging was the most beautiful of our 3 month trip. The rooms were spotless accompanied by outside showers (in the moonlight). The communal outdoor kitchen is massive, and faces his beautiful garden which attracts all birds from Hummingbirds to Tucans. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops in the main town. He has great wi fi in the communal area and rooms closest to the kitchen. All in all, this was a fantastic stay, and would recommend it to everyone. I have nothing bad to say about Cabinas Tropicales.

Room Tip: The room across the kitchen, tucked in the corner has it's own outside private shower and privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.2 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corcovado Beach Lodge
Corcovado Beach Lodge
#10 of 26 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Property: Cabinas Tropicales
Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Tropicales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing